We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M4L2, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If I had business to do in the University area, this would be the ideal place to stay. Close to the LRT and the campus makes it a great location. The facility is very clean and the staff are generally friendly and knowledgeable. The Wifi is also very peppy and I had no issues remotely connecting to the office while I was there.

There is a pool advertised, but it is more a splash pool for the water slide than anything to do laps in. Great for the kids, not so much for working out.

Their meeting facilities were nice, but without an "in house" restaurant, the catering is provided externally. This wasn't really an issue with my session, but it may be for others, though I would expect with the level of professionalism the staff generally showed it would be minor. The bigger issue is parking. It is available, but not obvious to those who might be arriving for a meeting at the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    112
    49
    7
    13
See reviews for
106
44
20
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The manager needs to remember customers come 1st. Our hockey team was there are totally horrible service. Rooms were filthy. Manager rude and awful to deal with. We wanted to have a room to host a pizza party for our boys after a game and was told NO but for $175 we could have a room. We think it should have been free. Was told the boys left too much water on the pool floor after swimming....really, its a pool and its only water. Had to book 2 weeks in advance with no cancellation....no refund, what kind of customer service is that. Their mission statement of being completely satisfied or our room is free is a complete joke. Sorry Hampton we won't be staying at your chain of hotels and will be spreading this story wide and far to our friends. We are doing you a favour by staying in your hotel AS A GUEST!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserved on your recent hockey trip. We have shared your comments on our meeting room usage and cancellation policies with our team and will use your feedback to provide the best experience possible for our current and future guests. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we welcome you to contact us directly. The manager you refer to in your comment was not the General Manager, but the Manager on Duty, who has been informed about your comments. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel looks old, inside and out. Ugly carpeting, bad decoration, everything in the room looks and feels old with an exception of flat screen t.v and it's way over priced. Breakfast is average at best with canned juice, canned fruits and variety of tasteless breads. The pillows are awful, I urge you to get yourself some hard pillows or you will wake up with bad neck pain.
The only positive thing about this place is the parking that is underground so you don't have to clean the snow from your car.
Other than nothing worthy or memorable about this place.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing back of the hotel. Lights in front of the hotel are very bright an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Hotel rooms are being renovated early 2013 - the public areas in the hotel were done early this year. The breakfast we serve you in the hotel is the same, as per the brand, served in any Hampton property and we will most certainly pass on your comments. We hope, should you return to the property after the renovations, you will be pleased, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second stay at this property and still a good place to be. Attended football game across street at McMahon Stadium (10 minute walk) on a cold fall evening at it was so nice to have a warm comfortable bed to stay in after the game.
The heated underground parking was appreciated on the snowy night and made to order breakfast the next morning was also excellent.
Some construction in the area of a different hotel, but I think this will still be the best choice in the area.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because of location - there are several hotels JAMMED into a small area, which really gives them all a cramped and close feeling, and since I live in the country, it is something I personally don't enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
The Staff & Management appreciate you taking the time for your great comments - Thank you! We hope to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed here for a week. the best part about this hotel is that it is close to the c train station on banff trail. but then again, there are many other hotels along this stretch. others like econo lodge etc. might be worse in terms of quality, but perhaps better value.

i expected much better service from this hotel but it turns out that the service standards vary depending on who is no duty. they basically had about 4-5 people rotating the concierge duties throughout the day. half of them are decent (not go-out-of-their-way nice, just fine). the other half look unmotivated, lazy, even rude sometimes. almost missed my flight becos one male employee was taking calls (admittedly it could be a busy time as people call to make reservations or whatever) but i did say i have a flight to catch and he still took 3 more calls (15 mins) before calling a cab for me. the cab ended up arriving in 10 mins so i waited 25 mins in total for the cab. mostly because of the concierge guy.

hotel is fine in terms of decor, cleanliness, room size etc. furniture is definitely dated. housekeeping staff are competent and pleasant. the breakfast is good. bacon, eggs, juice, apples, bananas, yogurt, and of course cereal. coffee/tea/hot choc is 24 hours self-service next to the concierge. there is the standard packed breakfast if you are in a hurry to go out in the morning (loved it).

incredibly, i paid a really lousy rate for this hotel. basically paid a 4-star hotel rate for a motel. wasn't that pleased really but maybe calgary hotels are just pricey. alternatives were to stay closer to city centre and pay well over 200 bucks a night. would i come back again? probably not. not that its a terrible hotel, just that i wasn't impressed at all.

Room Tip: get a high floor room, facing south. ground floor rooms get a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We appreciate your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the incident with the Front Desk Agents and would appreciate you contacting the Manager ppersonally,so as to investigate the incident further. We look forward to you getting in touch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel was spotless, staff helpful and beds very comfortable. Underground parking included. We were just off a long flight and overnighting before a sun rise start to a long drive. This establishment completely fitted the bill and we will definitely use it again. Can't comment on breakfast as we were gone too early and were grateful for the 24 hour McDonalds around the corner. Feel that the hotel should either start breakfast earlier or have the grab and go breakfast bags available 7 days a week not just 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The hot deluxe Continental breakfast is available between 6am - 10am and am sorry you missed it. The Grab-n-go bags are available every morning during the same time as Breakfast. We hope you will return to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm a bit of a hotel-snob and usually stay at full service high end hotels. I chose this as I needed to be close to the University of Calgary and I'm very happy with my experience.

The location is great for the University and even for other destinations within the city. Lots of restaurants within minutes drive.

I chose to call in and make my reservation and was very impressed with the agent. She was helpful and tried to work with me to accommodate my requests.

From the time we checked in to the end of our stay the staff were very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed but respectful and friendly. Coffe runs all day and night and hey have warm lounge where i spent a lot of time making calls or working on my laptop.

Breakfast was very good with a slight change in entre each morning. Very friendly hosts in the breakfast area.

We have a one bedroom suite and really enjoyed the added space. The sofa bed was comfortable for an adult and all amenities worked well and were well planned out.

The pool was a lot of fun. We used the slide and had a blast. The fitness room is small but adequate and very clean.

I don't know if I can think of anything i did not like or any need that was not thought off. Very happy and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and proximity to all amenities was very nice and convenient. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
The Management and Staff thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated and appointed rooms and suites. Large lobby with gas fireplace. Continental breakfast with hot items in Breakfast area. Swimming pool with waterslide, hot tub and fitness area. Free WiFi, business centre Underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest Hotel Calgary
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Hampton Inn Calgary
Calgary Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.