We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome & delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OEB Breakfast Co.

OEB Breakfast Co.
824 Edmonton Tr. NE, Calgary, Alberta AB T2E 3J6, Canada
403 278 3447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,772 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome & delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Heard about this restaurant from friends so decided one day to go there - there was 3 of us and were there at 12 noon on a Friday so you can imagine it was busy. We had to wait for 30 minutes and thank goodness it was a warm day. They do not take reservations. There is paid parking on the side but it was full so be prepared to find park far and elsewhere. This place is located right on Edmonton Trail.

Quaint, small place with unique decorations, warm and welcoming. Our server provided excellent service, friendly and helpful. Don't ask me the names of our dishes so attached photos in my review. So many choices in the menu that cater to people with allergies, gluten free, dairy, etc. Have to come back and try the others. Food was fresh, healthy and well prepared. Check this place out but be prepared to wait....it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Food sensitivities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great menu selections for breakfast, too many to list and it would take several visits to try them all, but what is the bonus to the restaurant besides the service and the food, is the variety or options when you have certain food sensitivities or dietary restrictions. Gluten free, free range, organic, and the non traditional choice of cooking hash browns in duck fat. Their menu presents you with a variety that might satisfy you but doesn't necessarily mean great taste. Food was good but not great. Restaurant is crowded and cold on a winters day, but it's well worth stopping in (early) to try the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favourite Breakfast Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

OEB has been my favourite breakfast place for a long time now! The food is always fresh and very favourful. The consistency of the food has never faultered. My favourites are the Gold Digga Box, Healthy Primavera and Soul in a Bowl Box. I think these are absolute "must-try" if you are into breafast food. They also have these amazing potatoes that are fried in duck fat and seasoned to perfection.

I also receive great service whenever I go. While waiting, they offer coffee and banana bread.

BUT be prepared to wait! the longest I've waited is 90 mins (I know this is crazy, but I really wanted it). There are always lines Saturday and Sundays. But on the week days, they do take out! So I usually go get one of the boxes to go, it's usually the highlight of my day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“It was Good but not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Always like to find good breakfast places. This place open at 7am so don't come any earlier or you will have to wait outside.

The place is very bright and the servers are all very friendly and seem very happy to be there.

Im a basic eggs, bacon, hash brown, toast kind of guy. So that's what I ordered. the eggs were great, they have the dark yoke and a big yoke at that. My meal came with pea meal bacon which was very tasty. The hash browns are not real hash browns but are really potato wedges much like Mccains would supply. They were very hot and that's the way they need to be or they are just soggy. The eggs were prepared properly. My only issue is that you only get one piece of toast where most places provide 2 pieces. I guess if that's the only complaint then the place must be pretty good. Next time back I want to try the eggs benny which come in many different varieties. Only parking is a pay lot next door as this place is right on Edmonton Trail

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“So So Breaky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Always wanted to go here but it was always too busy. Got smart and showed up an half hour early. Hung around outside and the staff let me in. Served up some fresh coffee and waited until officially open. Great coffee-yes! Breakfast was okay. nothing special but clearly Calgarians love their brunch/breakfast places and loyalty seems to go with the neighborhood. Nice staff. I was just expecting something more than ordinary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OEB Breakfast Co. also viewed

 

Been to OEB Breakfast Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OEB Breakfast Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.