We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Class Orchestra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra

Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra
205 8 Avenue Southeast, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0K9, Canada (Downtown)
403-571-0270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 262 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Led by internationally renowned Music Director Roberto Minczuk, the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra has been a cornerstone of Calgary’s multi-faceted arts community since 1955 and is one of North America’s finest and most versatile livemusic ensembles. A repertoire that is extensive and broad in scope consistently attracts acclaimed guest artists and conductors. From classical giants to rock and roll hits and family favourites, the CPO offers an average of 65 concerts per Season designed to fit all musical tastes.
Cochrane, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A World Class Orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have been attending CPO performances for 35 years and they just get better and better. They are extremely versatile and professional

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Classical Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

For more than three years now I have attended various classical presentations of Calgary's CPO. Their concerts are always very entertaining and help me to relax. I invariably feel very "uplifted" after attending a performance. I would recommend their concerts or shows to anyone who either lives in or is just visiting Calgary.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I brought my husband here for date night, what a great way to spend a Friday evening! Last night we heard Rush Hour The Music from 2001: A Space Odyssey, which was just simply amazing. We will be going back for sure. Suitable for all ages, great date night, family or group gathering. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2001 Space Odyssey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic evening at the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra. Their innovative "rush hour" concerts provide the audience with informative insights from the conductor and guest speakers, making the evening highly entertaining. There's even a special "tweet" section for those who want to share the experience on Twitter. Don't worry, if you are more traditional in your approach to concerts, the tweeting doesn't spoil the atmosphere of live classical music. The orchestra was extraordinary... a first class experience!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“World Class Performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Having traveled, I have found my home town band one of the best. The conductors that this city attracts speaks volume of the talent that lives and plays here. I have never been disappointed in any performance, be it a full orchestra or be it some special performance with a guest group, like the Led Zeppelin performance. If only the businesses that use the fact we have this type of culture here to attract high level CEOs would only step forward and help sponsor the building to help with the desperate need of repairs.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.