We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the POPs series” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra

Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra
205 8 Avenue Southeast, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0K9, Canada (Downtown)
403-571-0270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 139 Activities in Calgary
Type: Symphonies, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Led by internationally renowned Music Director Roberto Minczuk, the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra has been a cornerstone of Calgary’s multi-faceted arts community since 1955 and is one of North America’s finest and most versatile livemusic ensembles. A repertoire that is extensive and broad in scope consistently attracts acclaimed guest artists and conductors. From classical giants to rock and roll hits and family favourites, the CPO offers an average of 65 concerts per Season designed to fit all musical tastes.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“I love the POPs series”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The orchestra is fantastic - the quality of the music is amazing and they play such a wide variety of shows. I love the annual movie at the CPO where they play the sound track live.

The cpossibilities tickets are great they're $12 for under 30s which makes the CPO a great alternative to a movie.

Try sitting behind the orchestra by the organ pipes - it's a really interesting view of the musicians and allows you to see the percusion section which you tend to miss looking from the front.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Always outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Calgarians have every reason to be very proud of their CPO. The orchestra is first-rate and world class. The repertoire is extensive and always very well executed. The CPO go from strength to strength and would be hard to match just about anywhere. Interesting programmes and soloists. We're so lucky to have such an outstanding orchestra in our city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Took my father to night at the opera as a gift. Thought I would be totally bored but.........
what an incredible audio/visual experience. We were quite close up and could see all the instruments . i had no idea what sounds certain instruments were responsible for. Awesome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My son and I attended a musical evening at the Calgary Philharmonic and we both were very pleased with the performances of the orchestra and the other acts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Attended the CPO's night of science fiction music. So well done. One of the most reasonably priced evenings of great entertainment you can find.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.