We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halo. Far From Angelic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar

Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar
13226 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7E5, Canada
403.271.4111
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #891 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Halo. Far From Angelic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Basically a pub with an expensive menu. Went on a Friday night and while it was difficult to get a reservation there was tons of room. All the servers were very young and very polite but that was overcome by the super incompetence. The atmosphere is pub like and very noisy to the point you cannot have a conversation. The food was average to bland with simple presentation and supremely overpriced for the offering. And even though I was asked if it was a special occasion and told them it was a birthday, nothing was done about it. I had to ask for a sparkler. If you end up upstairs beware of the stairs. They are dark, steep and poorly lit. Really an insurance claim waiting to happen. And it almost did when our 80+year old fell and tumbled on them. He was OK but not one staff member came to our aid. Reading the other reviews, they must have gone a long time ago or have no idea of prices. They are very inaccurate. Take a pass on this one if looking for fine dining or fair pricing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    10
    14
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“BEST steak place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Steak was cooked to perfection , sides seemed a bit bland though. It is a little higher priced than other places, but saying that its hard to get a good steak ;) So ladies if you want to impress a man go there ..hehe

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Prime Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We go to Halo quite often. Food is always good. Their side dish of Lemon Roasted Potato are my favorite. I find that their price is pretty good (nowadays eating out in Calgary do cost you a fortune). Halo's price is slightly lower than Keg, Milestones, Red Water, Moxie's. If you go there on Monday, they have a 6 oz prime rib night for $15. Nice atmosphere and great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally a good steakhouse at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were very pleased with Halo. We used a groupon we had bought on line, otherwise it is a bit pricey. The steak was cooked to perfection, and the sides were also very good. Although the wedged potatoes were very dull, so I sent them back and asked for the stuff baked potatoe which was great. Our waiter was excellent, professional and knowledgeable.
The ambiance was very classy, low lighting. Great for a couple, or gathering with friends. Not ideal for families with young children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere, great service and great steaks!
We always have a good meal and on Wednesday nights, bottles of wine are half price.
It has a cozy atmosphere with friendly and efficient staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo Steak Seafood & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.