We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay & excellent food @ Liberty Lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay & excellent food @ Liberty Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had never stayed at this hotel and it was excellent. Very clean, exceptional service and very quiet. We went for supper at the Liberty lounge - we had Caesar salad & chicken linguini and it was awesome. It was the Sunday special and hope they have it next time we stay. The continental breakfast was very good and we had absolutely no complaints and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and the complimentary hot breakfast. I always enjoy hearing when our guests enjoy their experience and receive "Premier" service. We look forward to seeing your again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    230
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
277
269
36
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After staying in two other hotels during our trip we decided to stay at the Best Western Premier because they were near the airport and the offered breakfast.We were pleasantly surprised when we were booked in at the front desk by a caring clerk and found our room to be large airy and very modern. The setup of the room was very comfortable and inviting. The beds were very comfortable and the staff accommodating. The breakfast was very good and included made to order omelettes and fresh made waffles and a good variety of fruits and cereals.It was well worth the money and I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sharyn, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your positive comments regarding our staff members, cleanliness, and extensive fresh breakfast. Greatly appreciated! It was our genuine pleasure to serve you and we look forward to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

First of all, most of the staff is rude and unhelpful.
When we asked for the complementary shuttle to the airport (supposed to run every half hour) an annoyed clerk told us that it doesn't run regularly and that we needed to book it one day in advance and call if we wanted to be picked up. So basically, if you count on that shuttle to be picked up after a 12 hours fly, well, forget what they say on the hotel website and get a cab!

Breakfast: no labeled food whatsoever, you don't know what you're eating and if you have any kind of allergy or other dietary requests, don't count on anyone to answer any question. You can drop dead for what they care.
They constantly run out of everything (coffee, glasses, hot water..) but don't seem to care.
The room cannot accomodate all the guests, so we end up having our morning coffe standing next to the bar.
NB:
In the reservation we stated our dietary requests: nothing happened. Next couple of days we asked the staff: we received annoyed/sarcastic answers, and still no dietary requests satisfied. In the end we complained with the manager, who only after the words "I could end up in the hospital" showed up, and took great care to apologize. Very nice, but to this day we are still waiting for something to eat at breakfast. We can only suppose that she wanted to be sure we didn't want to sue, and once established that we didn't want to cause problems, she went back to her business without do a thing.

The kitchenette in the room is completely empty - not a spoon, a fork or a dish.

Washer/dryer facility also are listed among the "services" on the hotel website, but in reality you have to pay to use it. Even worse, when we asked the staff to change some money to use it, they gave us a bunch of quarters, that later on we discovered useless (machines operate only with "loonies").

The room is the only nice thing at the hotel, but is not enough to justify the price - there are plenty of other places to choose from, especially if you don't like to have to deal with ill-mannered, impolite staff members and a very poor-quality service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Paola, Thank you for speaking with me when you were at the hotel and letting me know about your concerns. I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit and didn't appreciate the food that I personally went out and purchased for all your vegan and gluten free dietary needs. I can assure you that our staff do care about our guests and I am truly sorry that you didn't receive this feeling during your visit. Clearly we did not meet your expectations and I hope the balance of your trip is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed one night as we were catching a flight early the following morning.
Room was clean and comfortable with all amenities, including a mini fridge and a shuttle service is provided to the airport.
As our flight was early, we had to head out before the breakfast was available, but we were given a small bag lunch (piece of fruit, juice, muffin, pastry) when we checked out.

As I had to return my rental car to the airport the same day I checked in, they even shuttled me back from the airport.
As I said .... No complaints here, they went out of their way for us and it was greatly appreciated.
I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Reading such nice comments coming from a Top contributor such as yourself always make us feel proud of what we do and motivate us to keep giving our 100% for each and every guest. I’m glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your visit while in Calgary. We look forward to see you on your next visit to Calgary and I hope you have time to enjoy our delicious Hot Breakfast Buffet before you head out next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yantai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The close proximity to the airport is a plus. The beds are great. Gabi in the lounge is an outstanding server! Albin at the front desk is also a huge asset to this hotel. Now if they can just get the shuttle service running well, they will be in top form.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Mr. Wood, thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments on Tripadvisor. I have passed on your comments to both Gabi and Albin, and thanked them for delivering superior customer service. I understand that we missed you on the initial shuttle trip and this caused the 10 min. delay from the requested time. I am hopeful too that the shuttle will meet your expectation on your next visit. Thank you for your continued support of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Freeport several times and each time we book a king suite. This time we were disappointed in the attention to detail in our room. The fireplace glass was filthy, mould in the shower and a shelf missing in the bathroom. Admittedly, these are not major issues, but unexpected in a deluxe room. I hope this is not an indication of a slide in quality that some very popular high end hotels succumb to.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your past stay At the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I’m really sorry to hear that our King Suite was not up to the standards as it has been in the past. I will personally follow up with my housekeeping and maintenance staff to prevent this kind of situation from happening in the future. Rest assured that our quality expectations remain the same and your comments won’t be left unheard. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and to provide you with the same quality you have received in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was simply a fantastic hotel. The front desk clerk was so friendly, professional, and helpful. It is in an excellent location, the rooms are nicely done and sparkling clean, and the beds were very comfortable.

The breakfast was amazing! Lots to choose from! And the pool was excellent too - the kids loved the waterside.

This is the only place I will stay at when I visit Calgary from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor at the end of the hallway, and didn't hear much for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for your amazing 5/5 review! Reading at titles such as “Best hotel stay of my life” is the best reward we could receive and always draws a huge smile in our faces at the end of the day. We are honored to know this has been at the very top of your hotel stays and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Grey Eagle Resort
#6 of 103 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 103 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Residence Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites

Address: 86 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#2 Family Hotel in Calgary
#2 Green Hotel in Calgary
#5 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Freeport Hotel Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.