We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Stay in NE Calgary and/or by the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Place to Stay in NE Calgary and/or by the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Recently stayed here. Great room. Wonderful front desk service especially by Lisa who couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was great. Closest to the Airport but couldn't hear the planes fly by. Excellent breakfast hosted by Helen. The next time I'm in Calgary will definitely stay here again. Only one concern...where to eat dinner. We found ourselves going north (approx. 2 exits) to Cross Irons Outlet Mall or driving south into Calgary (eg MacLeod Drive). Loved the clean room with the fridge, microwave, free Wi-Fi, excellent channels, etc.

Room Tip: From our room on the back of the hotel we could see the Rocky Mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Donna, Thank you for posting such a great review and comments about the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I will be sure to comment the staff that you have singled out, it's great to hear about the excellent service they are giving to our guests. I hope that you will be able to join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    173
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
201
176
27
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've chosen this hotel because we based on the reviews on this website and here is our breakdown:

Staffs : 4/5 Most of them are nice and friendly!

Bed : 2/5 too soft!!!

Location : If someone chose to be near the airport so this is your hotel, otherwise, for us, we think it is too far from everything else ... so we would give it a 2.5/5

Breakfast : ok but we've seen better in comparable type of hotel so I would give it 2/5

Quality vs Price : 3.5/5

Recommended : Yes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for breaking down your review so that we have a more detailed understanding of why we were just OK for you. I appreciate hearing your feedback and will work to improve the areas that we have control over. Thank you for recommending us and we will continue to strive for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was a little hesitant at first to book this hotel as it is a bit on the pricey side, but I am very glad I did! I got into Calgary around 10pm, and was picked up at the airport terminal by the shuttle. I was in town for a job interview, and my super awesome shuttle driver got me there right on time (despite the traffic and that the shuttle technically only goes to the airport terminal, not other airport locations)! Very, very friendly staff! I had good sleep, though I think it would have been better if I hadn't been keyed up about the interview the next day. The airport is close by, so you do get a bit of noise from that, but it's very minimal. Very nice self serve breakfast in the morning!

What stood out the most to me was my shuttle driver. We had a great chat as he was driving me around. After dropping me off for my interview, he offered to pick me up when it was done. About 4 hours later when my interview was done, he picked me up and dropped me off at the airport for my flight home. At no point did he have to do any of this, but he was very happy to help! That's what I call customer service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the "Awesome" review and comments about your stay and experience with our staff. I'm always pleased to hear about the extra special things our staff are able to to for our guests that set us aside from other locations. I have to say that we can't offer this kind of special service all the time as our shuttle has a priority to deliver and pick up guests from the airport. I hope your interview went well and you will be visiting on a more permanent basis in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Best Western due to our late arrival in Calgary. Aside of the industrial location you expect when staying close to Calgary airport, this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are large with 2 double beds, fridge, microwave, free wifi, and a large tv with a good choice of channels. The bar is fine to grab a beer and a meal, the food was nice and the price was acceptable. The complementary hot breakfast was a bonus and set us up nicely for our drive into the Rockies. Definitely would visit again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm so glad that you chose to start your adventure to the Canadian Rockies at our property. After a long flight we are one of the closed hotels to the airport at just 8 minutes door to door and as you know you can start enjoying your vacation almost immediately after you plane lands. Thank you for posting such a great review of our hotel and I hope you are staying with us prior to your departure back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here in 2012 for the Stampede.
Everything was superb from the check in to check out.
The rooms are spacious, definitely has the home away from home feeling.
My favourite part of the hotel was the breakfast. The breakfast is to die for, it has a hot breakfast with also made to order station that you can order omelettes. Best part is that this is all complimentary.

The only thing that was disappointing was the lack of service when my partner and I experienced in the lounge when we checked in. The girl did not seem to interested in being there and took forever for someone to approach our table to order.

I would recommend getting down to breakfast quite early as there is limited seating especially since we there during a busy time for the city.

I would definitely be back when I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and comments from the your visit with us during the100th Anniversary of the Calgary Stampede. I believe that you would experience excellent service in our restaurant now and we also have an overflow area for breakfast during busy times. We still strive to be a home away from home and hope that you will join us again for the 2013 Calgary Stampede.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived late at night. I had a reservation but upon arrival I was advised that there were only 2 rooms left and they both had plumbing problems. They made arrangements to move us to a Comfort Inn Hotel and picked up the cost.
The hotel was fine but we received a room with double beds. We discovered the next morning that they had moved us further away from Calgary instead of closer. It cost us over $65 to get a cab into the city. This was $30 more than it would have cost from B/W. If we had know that we would have called the B/W shuttle to come and pick us up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm sorry that we had to move you from our hotel due to maintenance issues. We never like to do this as we know what an inconvenience it is. I'm sorry that you didn't take us up on the offer to shuttle you back to the hotel. I would invite you to contact me directly for your next visit so that I can make it up to you! Again, my sincere apologies for the added time and cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kids loved the pool and slide. Restaurant fantastic for free breakfast, pricey for dinner. Beds very comfortable. Location in far north west of Calgary. Lots of parking, shopping not near, but mall a short drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim R, General Manager at Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments about your families visit to the Best Western Premier Freeport Inn and Suites. I'm glad to hear your kids enjoyed the pool and waterslide plus the complimentary breakfast. I appreciate your comment about the dinner menu and will keep it under advisement for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites

Address: 86 Freeport Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 5J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calgary
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#2 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn And Suites
Best Western Premier Freeport Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.