We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tango/Smugglers Brunch New and Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Bistro

Tango Bistro
6920 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L3, Canada (Southeast Calgary)
403-252-4365
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tango Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Southeast Calgary
Cross street: 69 th Avenue
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tango/Smugglers Brunch New and Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Started inSeptember, the Tango/Smugglers Brunch is a great alternativel in a city where Brunch is a popular family activity. Sunday Brunch goes from 9:30 till 2. We booked on Open Table the night before on line and had our choice of times. We booked 12:30 and it was a good choice. We were seated in Tango which was our choice. Smugglers is an old established restaurant and is good for an evening of wine and steak but we prefer Brunch to be in a bright, new place with lots of natural light and Tango is just that, Modern with a gorgeous fireplace in the middle of the room. Booths for four and lots of tables. The brunch is set out in Tango and if your table is in Smugglers, you have a bit of a walk. The usual brunch selections were here with smoked salmon benedict, roast beef, roasted potatoes, bacon, scrambled eggs, chicken and a couple of other hot dishes I did not check out. I am a breakfast person so I don't mix the meals. I went for the eggs, bacon and a waffle. There is also bread pudding, salads and a lot of deserts.

Price was reasonable at $20 for adults $17 for seniors $1/year for children. This info was not available on their wesite which was weird.

I would recommend it for a pleasant brunch and we will definitely go agaiin.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    16
    19
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good addition to the Calgary dining scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Went to Tango on the weekend with a large group celebrating a birthday. As someone who isn't a huge fan of the tapas craze I was a bit sceptical but walked away happy. Being tapas it is best to order lots and share among the group or if you are feeling greedy order a couple plates for yourself. The bacon wrapped tenderloin was awesome and so too was the poutine (real cheese curd). Serving size, for tapas, is very good especially for the price charged. I would say you get a little more for you money than some other small plate restaurants in the city. The cheese plate was also really good and something I would suggest. Desserts are done in shot glasses and allow you to try more variety which I kind of liked.

Service was pretty good, especially considering our group size, only becoming a bit slow towards the end of our stay.

All in all, very satisfied and I will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great small plates to share.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our timing was perfect... hot summer day for lunch on the patio. They were just introducing some new features to their menu, which we tried and they were outstanding! We had been there before and enjoyed it, however the lunch was exceptional... will make a note to return more often!
Traffic noise on Macleod Trail must be tuned out... it is a streetside patio.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“New Addition to complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We thought we would try a new spot for a casual dinner and were delighted. We decided we would try the Tango Bistro for a casual dinner with friends. We were rather surprised when we arrived at 6:45 p.m. to find there were only two others seated. We were concerned needless to say but we thought we would have a drink and if need be we would leave if that didn't work out. We had a great waitress who explained how the restaurant worked, what her favorite items were on the menu. As we had our drinks and the appetizer we saw more and more people coming so we thought we would be safe. Our "trio appetizer" which included an olive tapanade, goat cheese and hummus were delicious. As we continued through the menu with shrimp, tuna, beef tenderloin, salmon and cottage pie each one of us commented how everything was prepared well. The prawns usually only come with three but the waitress added one more because there were four, in our party, nice touch. We had decided not to have dessert as we were comfortable with our servings but then we saw the desserts coming out and that decision changed.
Awesome food and the prices were very reasonable. Would I go back most definitely a great place for Seniors to go you are not overwhelmed with all the food. Perfect servings.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

We shared a number of plates at Tango and weren't disappointed by any. The wild boar bacon wrapped Alberta beef was a stand-out, while the pulled pork poutine was tasty, but somewhat lacking in toppings. Service was very quick (perhaps a bit too quick) and friendly. Great atmosphere for catching up with friend's.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tango Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.