We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I'd stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8001 - 11th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

To begin with, there aren't many hotels to choose from in south Calgary. Sandman is quite new and is located near the highway and shopping. There is a Moxie's on site which is great. It was a bit noisy at night (we stayed over a weekend and were treated to kids running up and down the halls for 3-4 hours each evening until midnight). Also, the rooms weren't well lit... it was a bit odd really. I think they used 40 watt bulbs everywhere. Overall, Sandman was an average experience so we probably will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calsouth, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. we value each and every guest comment, positive or negative. With our diverse clientele, we try to make sure all guests are comfortable. Weekends are a time that we have numerous sporting teams in the hotel various times of the year. Sometimes some guests are a bit more noisy than others and causing a disturbance to others. For any concerns of this nature brought to our attention, our security on staff make it a priority that any guest disturbance calls are dealt with immediately, and our quiet times are strictly monitored. Any extreme violators are removed from the hotel if warranted. We believe ensuring all guest comfort is our main focus, without the inconvenience to our other guests. Ie, making sure any guest who is looking for a quiet weekend getaway, we try to make sure their rooms are as far away from the teams, and the potential for noise challenges. Thank you once again, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    54
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
20
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a brand new Sandman Signature located at the far south of Calgary. It is a $50 cab ride from the airport to the Hotel, but the Hotel itself is worht the extra dollars needed to get there. This Hotel has a Shark Club, a Moxie's and a Denny's on location. Some travellers have commented that since the Shark club has been added to the amenities, there is a shortage of parking for Hotel guests and I did notice that the parking lot was congested. I stay at Sandman's all through Western Canada for business, and this Hotel and the new one in South Edmonton are the two best properties Sandman operates in the West. Check outht eLucky 13 program, free rooms when you hit certain levels.

Room Tip: Try the 4th floor, quiet and key needed for elevator to access this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My room was two stories, with living area on the lower and sleeping area upstairs. When traveling so often that one cant remember which city I am in let alone which hotel, the Sandman certainly stood out.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and got two floors of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for work to be close to the industrial park. There are a few closer that are older and not quite as nice. This hotel is brand new and well maintained. I booked a king room, checked in late and ended up upgraded to a king loft style suite. Very nice to have a kitchenette having to be there a full week. The beds were nice and comfortable. The room was cleaned daily. In the morning you can grab some fruit and a granola bar, coffee or tea for the road. Our group ate at moxies which was excellent as always and the service was great. The shark club was good also but our service was not as good. All in all, the location was good, the hotel was nice and clean and the food was great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hotel. Rooms are clean and have a pleasant atmosphere. Hvac systems operated well in the room. Denny,s restaraunt was okay for breakfast. Good overall experience. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A trip to Calgary for Christmas shopping took us to this new Sandman for the night. The hotel lobby design is simple and very cozy. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. Slept like a baby! Enjoyed the location because it was close to great shopping and didn't have to fight the crowds or busy downtown area. Celebrated my b'day dinner in Moxie's which was very nice. Staff were friendly and food was excellent. My only complaint was the sneezing fit I had as a result of the "newness" of the hotel. Something gave me an allergic reaction which didn't last long. I just laughed and continued to enjoy the stay. Thanks Sandman! I'll be back. :)

Room Tip: There was a pool yet we didn't use it. Room had a little cupboard with a coffee machine, fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on business for five nights. My room was upgraded to an executive suite. There was a small kitchenette with fridge, microwave and toaster plus tea and coffee making facilities. The location was ideal for my work but don't expect to be able to sitesee anywhere near the hotel. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a Denies one side and a Moxies the other plus a Shark bar our front. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Address: 8001 - 11th Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel Calgary South is not only a short distance from downtown Calgary, but also located in the heart of beautiful Deerfoot Meadows. Steps away from shopping, dining, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Calgary South makes your travels easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.