We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good, what happened?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Social Restolunge - CLOSED

Social Restolunge
2136-10 Aspenstone Blvd SW, Calgary, Alberta T3H 5Z2, Canada (Southwest Calgary)
403 686 6692
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Cross street: 85th Street SW & 17th Avenue SW
Transit: Social Restolounge is located in the Aspen Woods area which is served by the Calgary transit system. The closest bus stop, only a few steps away for the restaurant is stop 6760 which is connected to the West LRT station.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Was good, what happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ate here with friends last night after a year since our last visit and we were disappointed to say the least. Service was great but the kitchen was a letdown. Appetizers and drinks were okay but the entrees were all poor to average. Seafood dishes were fishy and when we sent them back it took almost an hour to get a new entree but even that was a problem because they were "sold out" of various dishes. Hard to believe when the restaurant was less than half full all evening. Not sure what is going on with this restaurant and where its headed but it isn't good. Too bad because this was a pretty good place for dinner in SW Calgary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant At Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It is a very small restaurant and the decor is very nice. This is the second time in the past few years we have dined at the Social Restolounge (previously Concorde Lounge). Service was okay. A premium Martini was $13.00... the worst I have ever tasted. They did not have mussels but it was on the menu. The seared scallops were disgusting, the chili prawns were "so-so" and the pork tenderloin ($29.00) left something to be desired. Limited chardonnay bottle choices. Only real choice was a $70.00 bottle of Kettle Valley Chardonnay, from B.C. Was very good, but pricey.

We would not return to Social Restolounge as there are many better restaurants in SW Calgary to spend a lot of money at a very average restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a secret we discovered...secret no more...we have told many about it ourselves already, but thought, why not let it out!! My husband had the beef tenderloin which was cooked to perfection!! I enjoyed the gnocchi W/ lobster!! Amazing as well - at first thought it wouldn't fill us up, but were pleasantly surprised!! Waitress is wife of owner, and clearly takes pride in their establishment!! Mon is half off appies...so hope to be back soon!! Groovy, & sophisticated place - loved the ambiance, music, decor! Nicely done guys!! We were impressed!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for dinner with a GROUPON for the first time; we figured it was a great excuse to try a new restaurant in our neighbourhood. Turned out to be a fantastic meal. Both had the steak, shared the scallop appetizer, and had drinks. Everything was very tasty and the portions were a great size. Will def be back...very much want to try the pastas and have more martinis (they were seriously delicious!). This is a gem for the Aspen Woods area for sure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Super, worth a visit, regular visits is my motto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very much worth it. Big city look, with a neighborhood vibe with chic (don't need another pub)... Definitely booking Xmas and new years here

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Restolunge also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social Restolunge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.