We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9206 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada (Haysboro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Abbotsford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My young daughter and I stayed in a double room that was clean and convenient. I loved that I could put her to bed and still be able to stay up in the next room with the door open in between us. The location of the hotel was great as well, easy to find. The staff were very accomodating and pleasant. It was a pleasant and affordable experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff. It is always nice to hear the positive things the staff do to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    24
    42
    92
See reviews for
49
25
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

The experience checking into this hotel was beyond terrible. We were told by the front desk staff that we did not have a reservation at the hotel and that our reservation must have been for another Travelodge in Calgary. We provided them with a confirmation number about 5 times that we had printed off online and they said we did not have a reservation. They told us WE needed to call the other hotels to find where our reservation was for. After doing this the staff at another Travellodge told us our reservation was at the hotel we were staying at..... after arguing and providing the same info over numerous times they finally checked us in. If it wasn't Grey Cup weekend we definitely would have just gone somewhere else. It's frustrating just thinking about it again.

The beds were too short - mind you I am 6'6
Only positive was that the room seemed clean

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear of the problems at check in and appreciate you bringing them forward. We will be sure to include this in our next front desk staff meeting/training session. Thank you for the positive comments on housekeeping. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms here. I may also mention that since your stay, we have added a continental breakfast that is available to all guests, 7 days a week. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

For less than $100.00 a night, you can't really fault this place. I've never stayed in a Travelodge before and I won't rush to return. It suited the purpose we needed it to. There is nothing special about anything. The room was clean. It was serviced daily. Wireless worked. This is the type of place you'll forget ever staying at in a year. If you're looking to 'experience' a hotel, this place is not for you. If you're looking for room and hotel amenities that make a difference, this place is not for you. If you need a cheap place to stay, are low maintenance and the location suits you, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed-back. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests, both the positive and any short-comings that may have happened. This allows us the opportunity to grow as a company and further train our staff. I do hope to be able to welcome you again on your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Travelodge used to have a good reputation, not anymore! We made our reservation based on location and the fitness room. We arrived and there was only one desk clerk working with four people waiting. The manager was somewhere in the back, not helping the poor young lady at all. She was about the only positive for the place.
The window in our room only opened two inches thank goodness the A/C worked in the beginning. The beds where so soft that you folded in the middle and had a hard time getting out. My back was and still is sore from that experience. The A/C started making loud enough noises about 130 am that I shut it off and went from there.
The Comedy Club, was something else. The cliental was questionable at best, this doubled as a restaurant in the morning.
Went to the fitness room first thing in the morning only to find three machines there. A treadmill that had a sign "out of order", taped on it, a bike that had no power to it and an eliptical that worked. One out of three, not bad! No weights at all, no phone in the event that one hurt oneself and it smelt old and musty.
We were charged four dollars for a bottle of water.
For what we had to pay for this painful experience was outrageous.
I have worked in the hotel industry and can honestly say this was the most disgusting stay I have ever had anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate hearing both compliments and short-comings so we are able to better serve our guests.
We strive to make every stay comfortable and enjoyable. I am sorry to hear this was not the case during your visit. If any part of your stay falls short, please do let the front desk staff right away so we can rectify the issue and make you more comfortable. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This was a rare case for me- staying in a hotel that is not related to business. The family and I went to Calgary for the usual Zoo and IKEA. Found this hotel on Trip Advisor, and decided to try it. Upon arrival at 10:40 pm, check in was very complicated and we were required to pre-pay for the room, which the employee at the desk did not even understand himself, but he said he had to follow procedure. I can respect that. We were given room keys (for room 416) and proceeded upstairs only to find room keys did not work. I came back down and got a new set of key cards. We got into the room and found it to be clean and well maintained until we tried the air conditioner. The unit started up and then there was a squeal and a loud rattle soon developed The A/C was inop and heat came out instead. Called front desk and the person there was more than happy to switch us rooms. Got switched to room 426, and went up with new key cards to switch rooms. Key cards did not work for the new room 426. Returned to front desk and found 2 other guests with same problem in the lobby. Got new key cards again and returned to 426. Again, key cards failed to work- however one card did work for room 416. Return to front desk. 1 other guest with same problem as me in lobby again. This time the front desk agent changed the cards with new ones. Return to room, Key cards failed again and did not work for either room. Return to front desk and found the agent attempting to use an alternate machine for the key cards. He himself was very frustrated. After 2 more attempts, key cards worked and we switched rooms to 426. Air Conditioner worked well and room was clean. Room was a little small if you have a playpen for small child. TV worked properly, internet functioned well. Room was properly lit and bed was comfortable. Hotel was quiet at night and noise was minimal. Bathroom was older and outdated, but was clean and sanitary. Water pressure was good and housekeeping was happy to provide extra towels. Hallways were clean and well lit. Front elevator worked excellent, elevator in the middle of the building was kind of noisy and scary. Pool area was excellent- I was impressed! Family had lots of fun, area was clean and well maintained. Lots of towels and emergency equipment was present. Ample parking around hotel, although lights in the parking lot were not functioning. Lobby area was clean and welcoming. Housekeeping staff was easy to approach, however some members did not speak English. The attached restaurant, "The Comedy Cave" Should be more properly deemed "The Comedy Hole". Very dirty establishment. Service was horrible. This reflects very poorly on the hotel, in my opinion. All in all- our stay was pleasant, with the exception of the complicated check in process. Rooms were clean and staff were very approachable and friendly. I feel the staff were concerned with our comfort and I was happy there was no questions asked about changing rooms. The only things I would like to see improved are the lights in the parking lot and either a new room key programmer or better training for staff on its operation. Value for the room was average for Calgary. I would stay here again for work, but I would not go to the attached restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I am not an overly picky person, but I was really not impressed with this hotel. The staff we saw were not cheerful, and seemed to neither like their job nor care much about the customers. We stayed with a large group of adults and they insisted on inspecting each room individually for damage and vandalism before allowing us to check out (this has not been a policy we encountered at any other hotel we stayed at on our trip or on previous ones). They had also misplaced the purchase order that had been arranged weeks previously and were insisting that our group leader pay for 10 rooms with her credit card.
One room had a dirty footprint on the sheet and the guest was told no one could help her but she could come down and get a new sheet and change the bed herself. Others in our group noticed things such as holes in the bathroom walls, a broken showerhead, the smell of smoke in non-smoking rooms and various stains. My room (1 queen) was fairly clean and adequate in size for one person but would feel very cramped even for a couple. When you sat on the bed the headboard banged into the wall so I had to cram a towel behind it. The hotel had arranged a breakfast for us which was a good start to the day, but we had to pay $2 for beverages such as poor-quality coffee.
I didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. The hotel is well-situated if you need to be in the south of Calgary and it is close to shopping and restaurants.
There are many hotels in the same price range that offer a much more pleasant experience. I won't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feed-back, both positive and negative. They are utilized in our staff training programs to ensure we continue to grow and learn. As with most businesses, any type of credit for us to invoice back the company must be set up and approved ahead of time. This process does take time and can not be done at the last minute. Thank you again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Heard about this hotel by searching on line. Found they dealt with the zoo, which was one of the things we wanted to do while in town. Very happy we found it. We had also heard about how bad service was in Calgary but were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted right away, and felt welcome as soon as we came in. A nice lady cleaning the lobby area welcomed us and got a treat for our puppy while we were checking in. The staff were great throughout our entire stay of 2 days. The room was a little small, but very clean and comfortable. Looked updated and pleasant with dark wood furniture and pretty blue bed spreads. Once we said we were going to teh azoo, they told us about a package they offered which gave us our room and our zoo tickets. What a great service! Very enjoyable time and we will stay again on our next trip to Calgary.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryManagement, Management at Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate hearing from our guests. Check back to our website to find more great packages for the spring and summer. The zoo one you experienced will be on-going, and we will be adding Calaway Park and Heritage Park. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Address: 9206 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.