We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a place to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9206 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada (Haysboro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's a place to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Last week we had to stay there on 3 different nights as there was a sporting event in town and there was no other cheep places to stay... first each night when we checked in there was only 1 person on duty at the front desk and the line was very slow. and it was at different times 9pm
7 pm and then at 6 pm... All three different rooms were plain the first one the AC did not work but they did change our room. The AC worked there but it was very noisy, all three rooms the carpets and bed spreads were very dirty. I felt the beds to be too hard also. There free breakfast can be good if you get down to it early.. there is boiled eggs toast muffins cereal milk juice coffee fruit etc. but if you do not get down there early the Kitchen lady does not refill or replace things very fast even when there a lots of people there. on tow mornings we went down and there was only crusts of bread, no muffins on yogurt, no bagels and she just stood there watching people come in and look around. I finally asked her for some bread that she went and got some but it was not until other people complained also that she replace and filled up most of the rest of the items.. As I said its a place to sleep but the service is poor and the place needs a major cleaning and new carpets..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    26
    42
    93
See reviews for
49
27
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a disgusting hotel. How it is allowed to call itself a Travelodge I can't imagine. The carpets are filthy. One of the beds in our room had crumbs in it and been used and not remade with clean linens. Ugh! I cannot find one good thing to say about this place. Bathroom is so small you can hardly turn around in it. The towels are incredibly thin. Room was dusty. Everything about this hotel is disgusting. Surely the owners could renovate this place? It is situated on the main road into Calgary from the south so it is ideally placed. Don't stay there unless there is absolutely no other choice. As other people said the hotel smells and it is just really unpleasant.

Room Tip: There is no good room. Impossible to see out of the windows because there is some sort of condensat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you want to stay in Calgary but you don't want to spend a lot of money then Travelodge Calgary Macleod Trail is the place to go. It is not super fancy but they have all the basics and are clean. They had a computer in the lobby for internet. They had TV, a swimming pool and a hot pool, an exercise room, a snack room, a complementary breakfast which exceeded my expectations, coffee in the room and also an iron and ironing board should you need to press some clothes. There was a wedding party there while we stayed there. They are really close to major shopping centre and fast food outlets not to mention they are not far to access the major highway. All in all they are not the fanciest place I've been to (the place is several years old and could use some updating) but for the price they were alright. If you want good, basic and inexpensive; this is it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago with a friend. We couldn't stop laughing from the time we walked into the room. Haven't seen a room so small ever. It is about 13ft wide about 10ft long. The room looked very tired and the bathroom looked the same. The bed was the hardest thing I have ever slept on. The pillows were hard as a rock also. The staff checking people in was really nice but that's about it. The hotel is very old and smells. We didn't end up spending too much time in the room since our purpose there was only to sleep. I am not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This tired old building has been neglected and could desperately use updating. The lobby may have been somewhat updated but overall it is lacking in many ways. Except for some new carpeting in the hallways on some floors, the rest was old and smelly!! The dining room carpet was disgusting - yuck!. There is a washroom inside the very small dining room, which was dirty. If I hadn't booked on-line, Booking.com, with no refund possible (no wonder why) I would have walked out. Everything in the place seemed smelly, including the small elevators . I fully expected to find bugs in my room, but thank goodness there were none.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had little choice in Calgary due to the Stampede in town. We were in Cowtown for a soccer tournament. Found out big time why this place still had room. I will say however that the staff I dealt with were very good and tried to make the best of a bad situation. We needed a non-smoking room but our room had a definate smoke smell. Their solution was to spray the room with Febrezze. The beds (mattress) were soft and lumpy and stains on the walls. The A/C unit had no cover but still worked. Could not find a place to park, so ended up parking at a bar beside the hotel. The owners of this hotel should be embarrassed. The state of disrepair and lack of cleanliness is unbelieveable. Paid over $200/night for this culvert of a hotel. At check-out the linup was 30 minutes long. Just dropped our keys off and left. I did have hot water for my shower but some other people I spoke with did not. Make this place your last choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want or need a non-smoking room. The hotel stinks of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting stampede. Breakfast was great, lots of choices offered but didn't make up for the fact the room was shabby, took over 45 minutes to check in- another staff had to help when the first fellow could not understand English.
The elevator was filthy at all times, rooms not restocked with glasses, coffee etc. It did look like some staff were trying hard, and maybe their days were long because of stampede crowds perhaps more staff were needed, but it didn't make our family's stay better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Address: 9206 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.