We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, Payment method is ridiculous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Calgary Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Super 8 Calgary Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3030 Barlow Trail Northeast, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 1A2, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff, Payment method is ridiculous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was large but the shower wasn't very clean (the shower curtain had toothpaste marks on it). The staff were very rude (particular the Manager) both over the phone and in person. I wrote an email in advance to ask about airport shuttle and got back limited response which didn't answer the original question. Staff are all very vague. The payment method is ridiculous as I was asked to supply my card on three occasions, which I believe is unnessary. For value for money try somewhere else, its worth the extra C$10. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryairport, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We take each and every comment seriously; let me assure you that we are in the process of making changes to improve Hotel’s appearance and service level.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 403-291-9888.
Sincerely,
S. Khan
General Manager
Super 8 Calgary Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    79
    70
    58
    35
See reviews for
63
69
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jaffray B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Not impressed. Front desk staff more interested in his newspaper than checking me out. Hotel had obvious signs of several small renovations going on at the same time. No effort to minimize the impact or poor appearance to guests. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryairport, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We take each and every comment seriously; let me assure you that we are in the process of making changes to improve Hotel’s appearance and service level.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 403-291-9888.
Sincerely,
S. Khan
General Manager
Super 8 Calgary Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The building is in poor condition: while the common area flooring is being renovated the elevator stinks. The toilet in our room required an ice-bucket full of water to "assist" in the flushing procedure and the overflow on the sink seemed to be piped out to run directly onto the floor under the bathroom counter. TV remote was eventually found half-hidden under one of the beds. The beverage vending machine is so dirty that the dispenser sticks and you need "secret knowledge" on how to pry it open and get your drink. Parking is shared with the hotel next door and is very limited. Access is difficult and not well marked. The "complimentary" breakfast service doesn't start until 6:30 am which isn't very useful when your airport bus leaves at 6:30. Grossly over-priced (as are most Calgary hotels in proximity to the airport) for the quality of room and service.

Room Tip: Not much good to say except it's one of the lowest priced ones near the airport. Will stay else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryairport, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. Currently we are in the process of upgrading our Hotel lobby, I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at super8calgaryairport@gmail.com, if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.Warm regards,

S.Khan
403-305-8586
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Airport

Address: 3030 Barlow Trail Northeast, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super Eight
Calgary Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.