We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NOtaBLE - The Restaurant

NOtaBLE - The Restaurant
4611 Bowness Rd NW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (Northwest Calgary)
403-288-4372
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary, AB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OMG!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have had dinner at this restaurant a couple of times, but this was the first time we came for lunch. After being unable to get into the underground parking, being temporarily ignored by the young lady at the counter, shown to a cramped table in the corner when the restaurant was barely half full, and then sitting on a broken chair, everything got better. We had an excellent waitress, and the food was unbelievable. My wife chose the meatloaf burger with a side of bouillabaise, while I had the baked garganelli pasta. Both of us enjoyed our meals immensly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    174
    77
    32
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple and pricey menu but fantastic dessert and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was kind of surprised to see how little the lunch menu offered; as well as the prices of some dishes! $18 for a tasty yet (simple) burger is a little much. I had the chicken sandwich which was pretty good but not anything that i couldn't whip up at home. The Thai soup that came with the sandwich was however quite tasty. I would expect a little more pizazz for an upscale and well known restaurant - the dishes seemed really simple with burgers and sandwiches on the menu. The stilton cheesecake however was creative and delicious. Never had a blue cheese in cheese cake before - the flavors commented each other nicely. I highly recommend just going for the dessert! The service was very attentive and friendly! The atmosphere is great, relaxing with very nice decor! I would go back to try other dishes; however, maybe at dinner time which will (hopefully) have a few more options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have been to this restaurant three times, the food is always great and the service is excellent. They are always busy, so making a reservation is a good idea.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great restaurant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have eaten here several times and have always loved it. The menu is interesting, lots to choose from, and the food is always very flavourful and well presented. The servers are very knowledgable and helpful . It is hard to get a reservation unless you plan well ahead. The atmosphere is very upbeat and fun.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love it - Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Superb fresh food, lovely upbeat ambiance and excellent service. You can't go wrong at Michael Noble's newest restaurant on the Calgary upscale restaurant circuit. The prices are not inexpensive, but not over the top either -- and actually could be considered low considering the quality. One thing I like so much about Notable is the warm atmosphere -- many of the newer Calgary restaurants with modern decore are cold and vacuous -- making it impossible to be heard by your dining partner without shouting -- not so with Notable. It's lively and cozy at the same time. Lots of action, but some of the tables are quite private as well. We have eaten most of the regular items on the menu, as well as many of the specials, and have never been dissappointed. Service is second to none, and you will always see chef/owner Michael poking about in the kitchen -- it's refreshing to see the owner taking an active interest in his business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOtaBLE - The Restaurant also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to NOtaBLE - The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOtaBLE - The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.