We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Palliser to your Saves list
The Fairmont Palliser
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was our 25 year Anniversary this past weekend, so we decided to stay at The Palliser in downtown Calgary.
We got a very good rate on the room which was very well decorated and spacious.
The staff were all very nice and quickly took care of a mistake made on our bill when checking out....
I would recommend this hotel to any visitors to Calgary-without a doubt...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Geoff!

So glad to hear this! We're hoping for a lasting memory for your 25th anniversary!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    362
    158
    75
    41
See reviews for
158
395
69
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for a night. The lobby area is very beautiful and so is the structure in general. The food is excellent.
Be it the salmon or the pasta for dinner or the breakfast with scrambled eggs and chicken sausage. I would love
to just come here again for dinner in the Rimrock restaurant if I am in Calgary again! The room itself was disappointing.
It was in a corner(less sunlight), the bathroom was small and the room itself had an old feeling to it. I know that the hotel
is old, but they should renovate the rooms. I stayed in a Fairmont room. The staff was smiling and courteous. The location is of course, great - right in downtown which was the main reason I stayed here. Like all other Calgary downtown hotels, this too is an expensive one, but then that's what the deal is if you want to stay in the downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Pritam,

We’re happy to hear you thought our lobby and hotel was beautiful. We also like that you enjoyed your dinning experiences with us and invite you to come for dinner anytime! We’re a destination restaurant for locals just as much. We’re nearly 100-years-old, and have rooms unique one-of-a-kind rooms– we have however recently completed a guestroom restoration project and upgrades to our Fairmont Gold level where we look forward to be a completely renovated property within the next year. We look forward to the chance to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Congratulations to Calgary on pulling off the Stampede so soon after the floods! I was fortunate enough to have a business trip there during the festivities and managed to have a great time during a short trip. The Palliser definitely contributed to the experience. The doorman, reception and bar staff were all very friendly. The room was comfortable (but don't expect much of a view). The lobby is impressive and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. You can easily walk to the bars/restaurants. The hotel did feel a little dated but that adds to its charm and fits with the character of the city. All in all a good (but too short) stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
You’re invited to stay as long as you’d like, anytime!
Thank you for your message and thank you for your kind review of your stay with us soon after the city’s state of emergency due to the flooding of the Elbow and Bow rivers. It means a lot to us that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable especially under the unique circumstances – we’re a timeless historic castle where our staff and charm hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was grateful for the room at the Fairmont when I was discharged from hospital and had nowhere to go. After a Canadian hospital bed, anything would be an improvement. Nonetheless I have to say that the Palliser doesn't quite reach the standard of the other Fairmont Hotels at which I've stayed.
Yes, it's probably one of the original CN hotels, and as such is situated directly above the main railway line. It seemed that, whenever I was dozing off a locomotive would park beneath my window; therefore sleep was not so easy. The view to the Rockies was fine, but didn't make up for the lack of sleep.
Staff were very friendly and attentive and I couldn't complain about the amenity of the rooms. Breakfast was fine.
Still, I could have done without the (false) fire alarm in the middle of the night when, dressed in our complimentary bathrobes, we all traipsed downstairs.
In essence, then, I think I struck a bad time for the Palliser, but I would try again if I were visiting Calgary. However, I would ask for a room away from the railway line.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, away from the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello there,

We appreciate your honest review of your recent experience and choosing to stay with us following you being discharged from the hospital. You have it right in that we’re a unique 99-year-old formerly owned CP Railway hotel, and that we offer timeliess luxury with upgraded amaneties for your pleasure.

We regret to hear that you were unable to sleep due to the train noise – this does vary day to day and room to room- we hope there would be a next time to possibly relocate you and/or offer you ear plugs to eliminate the noise for your comfort.

Thank you again and hope all is safe, well and healthy.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very friendly but it is not what I expected after having stayed at other Fairmonts. Probably an amazing hotel in its day but now a bit faded and dated.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and spacious but ours was on level 2 and had a view of the podium roof and littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello,

We’re in the select handful of historic properties of the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts brand that’s included in a group of some character-filled destinations. We’re pleased to share that we have recently completed an extensive guest room renovation project and look forward to the opportunity of having a fully refurbished property soon! We will always keep true to our heritage, but hope you’ll be our guest again to experience the integration of new product. Thank you.

Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very Classy Hotel. The lobby is beautiful. So relaxing and cozy.The service is excellent. The staff are very friendly. The food is great!! Love the swimming pool area. They have a fab spa. A time to relax. Very nice atmosphere. Very clean.

Room Tip: Read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Nic,

We’re blushing. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our lobby, and that you found yourself feeling relaxed and cozy and experiencing excellent friendly service. We look forward to continue to delight you upon your next stay with us.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a weekend stay in the Fairmont at banff springs this hotel is nice but the staff is not on the same level as banff springs. They seem short handed here, and the attention to detail is not quiet the same.
Location in town is good, close to shopping, nine blocks from the river where there is a nice running trail.
Ironically as we checked in in banff the desk manager mentioned we would love the room he put us in and we told him as long as it had a great view, and no air conditioners to look at, we would be happy.
Guess what the view is of at the Fairmont Calgary?
My husband usually stays at the Hyatt and says he would prefer to stay there next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello there,

This irony is so unfortunate! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and letdown with the view of the air-conditioner. We have many other rooms that are luxuriously decorated and elegantly appointed, we hope our service and location could welcome you back again soon. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Palliser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.