We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the heart of Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Palliser to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Terrebonne, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the heart of Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was ok. Room size was a bit on the small side but decent nonetheless. We had a room with the busy railroad tracks right in our window so we got woken up every night once or twice. Didn't like that you had to pay for Wifi and local calls. Overall hotel is quite nice. Would consider staying there again but in a different room farther from the tracks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    277
    129
    64
    33
See reviews for
110
265
54
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a decent hotel to stay in Calgary. Beautiful building and classic decor. The rooms themselves were good size and very comfortable bed. Main let down was housekeeping. We left a tip which was responded to by a nice thank you note, but the room was not properly cleaned. Aside from that let down nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A lovely hotel, well appointed and with very comfortable bedding (and with a sumptuous lobby!). We were upgraded to a suite with a good sized sitting room. Dont make a mistake and drink the EXPENSIVE bottled water.

Room Tip: The rear rooms do back onto the railway but we didnt have any problems and did not notice any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello there,

We're so pleased to hear that you found our bedding comfortable and made for a restful sleep. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay and have noted your thoughts about the bottle of water. We look forward to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful lobby! We stayed two nights in a junior suite, a good sized sitting room and bedroom and a tiny bathroom. You had to sit sideways on the loo as there wasn't enough legroom, or knee room to sit properly. Overpriced drinks and snacks in minibar. $8 CDN for a bottle of Evian!!!! The decor was Fairmonts dull and un interesting 50 shades of brown, oh for some bright coloured cushions at least!!! The Fairmont bed quality was again the high point. The view from our window was interesting, if you are a goods train spotter! Hideous brick wall covered in graffiti and train tracks.

We ate twice in the Gentleman's Club styled bar. Food was un interesting but ok. We had room service one night and that was equally un exciting! It is an ok stay for business in a business city but would definitely give it a miss in future. Calgary itself has little to recommend a tourist except at Stampede time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Janey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings on your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom set-up may have caused you. We have recently completed an extensive guest room renovation project and look forward to the opportunity of having a fully refurbished property soon. We also are proud of our hotel’s heritage with ties to Canadian Pacific Railway where location, sound and view can be a challenge or an advantage to us. You’re feedback has been passed on to each respective department and we look forward to the chance to have you visit again and would be happy to connect you with Tourism Calgary in advance to help plan activities for your full enjoyment of the city. Thank you again.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Palliser in May on business. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of a lot of entertainment/restaurants/shopping.

The lobby is gorgeous and very grand but the room itself felt a bit dated. The fitness area/gym was lovely.

The staff at check-in were great. My only complaint is that there was no business centre and we had to use a computer in the lobby of the hotel. I'm not sure if it's under renovation or if they just don't have one but that was a bit strange and inconvenient.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

We sincerely appreciate your comments towards our hotel’s lobby, décor and location. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and encourage you to consider the benefits of Fairmont Gold next time where there are two computers for use on the penthouse level lounge. Thank you again and we look forward to have you back again soon.


Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sask.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a 3 day weekend for a wedding May 25th,2013. centrally located downtown to pretty much everything. It's a older hotel, but reno's are proceedi ng on various floors, and the weekend rate was cheapest in town for a downtown hotel. As other reviews have stated the lobby is nicely appointed, standard rooms are a little small but functional enogh for 2. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: You can self park right in the back of the hotel, quite convenient for less money than the valet, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam, british columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Personally, I love the older more ornate hotels that have so much history within the walls. My bed was super comfortable and extremely clean which is my top priority. The food in the RImrock was absolutely delectable and the buffet or brunch was amazing. Our stay was for two nights. The older room which we were given had a buzzy thermostat so they upgraded us the next night without any question. This was excellent customer service. Only complaint was that the place is a bit too pricy. I've stayed across the street at the Marriott and at the Hyatt, which are stiff competition in value if u can get a deal for your stay. Pool was just ok. Also if you drive a truck you need valet which is an added $30/day since you can BARELY make it into the parkade. ( the Hyatt gave us free parking. We just had to ask. See my review.) Final thought- hat's off to the head chef in the restaurant for the food and presentation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#19 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Palliser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.