We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Palliser to your Saves list
The Fairmont Palliser
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Its as rustic as it gets. We were in a room that were not yet renovated but it has its charm in its own ways. Service at Palliser was great, right from check in ( Anel was great help ) to check out. We had a chance to try the Sunday brunch and the spread was great. But to make it worth while, you will have to like crabs and oysters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and Sunday Brunch at the Rimrock Restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind accolades to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser on your next trip to Calgary.

Best Regards,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    339
    153
    71
    40
See reviews for
144
354
64
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

if you are going to calgary, DO NOT go to Fairmont Palliser,

i was there with my family experiencing Calgary and Fairmont especially. the way that they treat me is like some one who is taking a room for free??
i paid a good amount of money and i was expecting them to serve me, but i didn't even get half of what i was expecting. i was having many bags and my son. i was carrying my stuff by myself without help.
the way that they treat their guest is different and it is obvious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to learn of your unsatisfactory stay and are very sorry that your visit to The Fairmont Palliser did not exceed your expectations. We are very disappointed to learn of your unacceptable arrival experience and can assure you that this is not our standard. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back, in hopes of restoring your confidence in us. We apologize again and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are in Calgary for business, there is no better choice than the Fairmont Palliser for ease of use and enjoying old world charm and style. Built in the early 20th C. It exudes charm and a quiet sophistication. Great restaurant, great bar, great pool and hot tub in which to relax. One block away is Stephen St with many upscale restaurants and shops. You cannot go wrong at the Palliser for business travel

Room Tip: Joining the President's Club is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We are so pleased that you had such a memorable visit and that you were able to take advantage of our city centre location. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Staff are great. Rooms very comfortable. Main resteraunt has exceptional food but pricey. Would like to see the gym area expanded. Can get quite busy. Very central to Calgary business, shopping and eating. Make sure to reserve well in advance because this place is busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful, detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary and thank you again for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love Fairmont Hotels across Canada. They were all built in the early 1900's and have a lot of charm. The lobbies are spacious, beautiful, classy. The service is always elegant, the rooms are absolutely charming.
I stayed at the Palliser for five nights. The hotel is well located, right by shops and great restaurants. My room was nice, painted in grey with a very tall window. My bed was very comfy, and the room was very clean. I had free internet being a club member, and the room came with a coffee maker, a kettle and a mini bar.
The bathroom, however, was in need of renovation. It looked old. Some tiles were cracked, the paint was peeling off a bit, I was surprised by the lack of care.
The service was wonderful, and the spa divine. It is a wonderful place to stay, even if it is starting to show age spots.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our historic property. We have completed an extensive renovation project that included five floors of guest rooms and a new Fairmont Gold Lounge on our Penthouse Level. We look forward to the opportunity of having a fully-renovated guest room product soon. We appreciate your wonderful feedback on our employee’s guest service and of RnR Wellness Spa. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Charming & historical, The Palliser is a Calgary landmark and the stately hotel is enduring. Typically rooms are beautiful, staff exceptional and the state of rooms are beyond excellent. Our patronage of this hotel goes back decades and generally the grand hotel has been a fond and favorite place to stay for social or business travel. Yet, things change - our latest visit was somewhat disappointing, We stayed in a junior sutie that is need of renovation - a quick walk-through suggested all was well but on closer inspecition we noticed rust marks in the tub and sink, the tub drain metal-ring slides off during use and may pose a risk, the sink becomes clogged, bathroom plaster is discoloured. However, we and our guests enjoyed a lovely breakfast and dinner at The Rimrock and our waiter was wonderful. However, one hostess seemed impatient when our young grandchild tried to open locked doors just minutes before the opening time. Also out-of-sorts was the state of the restaurant restroom. Not what we have come to expect of a Fairmont. Also when making reservations under the senior`s rate, it is best to mention whether or not a room designed for handicap use is indicated.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We regret to learn that your experience did not far exceed your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience that these issues may have caused you. We take your comments very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to publish a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience at The Rimrock Restaurant and we thank you for your thoughtful recommendations. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, in hopes of restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Such a beautiful hotel right next to the Calgary Tower. The lobby was decked out in Christmas trees and decorations and the room was great (including a huge cushy bed). When we ordered room service it arrived promptly and the other hotel staff were very friendly. It's also close to Stephen Avenue and Fashion Central which are both trendy parts of town. It really is a great experience except for one thing. The hotel does back onto the rail road tracks (not public transit which is close but the other kind) and this does cause a little bit of noise however I didn't find it too bad.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one that doesn't back onto the rail road tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to The Fairmont Palliser. We are delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our 24-Hour In-Room Dining service and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We are also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our property’s central, downtown location. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Palliser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.