We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, luxurious, downtown - expensive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Palliser to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Convenient, luxurious, downtown - expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

OK you are going to pay for convenient, luxurious and downtown - plus it's a Fairmont - need I say more? But even so, it is a cut above most other luxury hotels - the rooms are sooooo large and luxurious, the lobby itself is huge and well-appointed, makes Toronto's Royal York look shabby by comparison! The staff are very gracious, solicitous without being pushy. And you really have to try out the health club and swimming pool - feels like you are transported back to a private Roman or Greek villa - the spa and health club are very luxurious, just like the rest of the hotel. Food and drinks of course are expensive, but again very gracious and well-prepared. If you are celebrating an occasion, this would be the one to choose!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to be away from the downtown street sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete such an extensive and detailed review of your recent visit to The Fairmont Palliser. We truly appreciate your wonderful feedback and are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable and rest-filled stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    275
    129
    64
    33
See reviews for
110
264
54
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful lobby, but my room and my friends room was large but hot and damp. Really not what I expect from a Fairmont. Location is excellent as most of downtown as super convenient. Had breakfast in the Oak Room and it was pretty good. Wait staff was not super, but they go me my coffee in a fairly timely fashion.........oh....BTW.....the coffee is really good!
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, our "staycation" at The Fairmont Palliser Hotel couldn't have been better! The level of service was simply outstanding from Sarah at the front desk at check-in time, to Adina and Tina in the Oak Room and finally to Leah in the Rimrock Restaurant. The service was excellent. It was consistent, friendly, personable, and professional.
As a resident of Calgary I look forward to taking advantage of all the Palliser has to offer, including afternoon tea and live jazz in the Oak Room.
If you're looking for a place with the perfect location, and fantastic, consistent Fairmont service, the Palliser is the place for you!

Lisa and Michael

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have been able to welcome you for your recent staycation and for Afternoon Tea and Live Jazz in the Oak Room in the past. We sincerely appreciate your kind accolades and will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The building is magnificent, but some of the rooms are small and dated. Coworkers have stayed here and raved about the elegance of the rooms, but mine was quite small and a bit dated, though everything was in good working order. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food in the Oak Room was underwhelming, but the surroundings were fantastic. The location in downtown Calgary is excellent.

I'll try staying there again, but I'll make sure I request one of the nicer rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found our colleagues to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the surroundings and location of our property. We do however regret to learn that you found the food in the Oak Room to be underwhelming and your guest room to be less than sensational. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, in hopes of restoring your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A fine historic looking building right next to the Calgary Tower. A large hotel, with very stately and impressive interior, rooms fitted with everything you need. We were booked into this hotel as part of the Rocky Mountain Gold package. Standards of service were very high: we were met on arrival, baggage dealt with efficiently. We were advised to join the President's Club, which does not cost anything, and gives you free wifi and various other benefits. The only thing to remember about this hotel is that it is very large, with weddings and other functions going on, but in our case that did not affect our enjoyment and the hotel is very central to the city centre.

There is a swimming pool and spa in the building, with large hot tub and steam room. A great facility: my only criticism was the changing rooms, which had no seating and I could not find out how to lock things away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We appreciate your kind feedback and for choosing to stay at Calgary’s landmark hotel during your recent visit to the city. We are delighted that you found our historic property to be stately and are proud to welcome you as a Fairmont President’s Club Member. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Boulevard-level swimming pool and spa area. We thank you for your comments on our guest locker rooms and apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the Stampede and it was chosen for us by a tour company. The hotel did try to help us find out what we needed to do for the Scenic company's "Calgary Stampede tour", which we had booked. Scenic did not leave any information with the hotel regarding our tour, and we werent told that the tour was "self guided".

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Buffet breakfast was okay, and most hot meals were made fresh.

Location of the hotel was good, as it was only a 20min walk to the Stampede grounds and a block away the cafe/shop strip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Stampede visit on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that our colleagues were able to assist you with your tour details and that you enjoyed our city-centre location. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser again soon.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palliser, in room 547, on Aug. 3rd 2012, for $169. We couldn't be happier with the quality of the room, the fantastic staff, and the hotel amenities. We left relaxed and rejuvenated after being pampered at the Palliser. The hotel is classy, beautiful and full of history. The room was spacious, very clean, beautifully decorated, and most importantly - extremely comfortable. The bed was the best hotel bed I've ever slept in. The room came stocked with specialty coffees & teas, real milk (for the coffee & tea) in the fridge, and a full mini-bar (at a price, of course. There were bathrobes for our use, and an ipod docking station in the room.
Our room was an adjoining room but we never heard our neighbor through the door. Though we saw people in the hallways we never heard any when we were in our room. It was well sound-proofed, unlike some hotels.
We were impressed with that staff's service as well. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and competent. The woman who checked us in asked what brought us to the hotel. We told her it was our anniversary & she wished us well. Later, when we arrived back to our room after dinner we found that she had sent very yummy chocolate and chocolate covered strawberries to our room for us.
We loved the pool and hot tub as well. It was very relaxing, unlike a lot of hotels. It is deemed a "quiet, relaxing area". So although kids are welcome to use the pool, running around, screaming, and splashing are frowned upon. Relaxing music is piped into the pool room and the lights & decor promote relaxation.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Palliser during your recent visit to Calgary. We are delighted to hear that you left our hotel feeling refreshed and rejuvenated, and that you so thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable anniversary and we thank you for choosing to spend it at Calgary’s landmark hotel. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#19 Business Hotel in Calgary
#20 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Palliser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.