We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, well located, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 9th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, well located, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very good location downtown, close to shops and restaurants. Rooms are comfortable, restaurant is pleasant, breakfast very good. Meeting rooms are great except for noisy air conditioning. Hotel staff a very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Erkimi,

Thank you for choosing the Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and I will certainly share them with the team. I am sorry to hear about the noise concern and I will address this with our engineering leader.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Marriott.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    194
    81
    30
    13
See reviews for
55
128
43
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment you step in the downtown Calgary Marriott lobby, the overriding impression is functional, and clean. This mid-level property has a friendly staff and is centrally located in the downtown core with a Starbucks in the lobby and the usual sundries shop. Restaurant and bar are definitely geared to the business traveler. No cozy or cutting edge design or food items here. But with so many excellent food & drink choices less than a 5 minute walk, you have much better options to explore. By far the best features of this hotel (other than the comfy Marriott standard bed) are the meeting room level and the concierge lounge (if you can afford the additional $75 per day for the breakfast and lite early dinner snacks provided). Concierge lounge is only accessible to the two concierge room floors. If you can self park off the premises, you will still get your car much faster than the 30 min valet service and at a better rate as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are quieter with the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear RushRelax,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I will certainly share your feedback with our team to help them get a better understanding of our guests.

Again we appreciate your feedback and l trust that we will be the hotel of choice on your next visit to Calgary.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stay one night at the marriot Calgary hotel. first of all, this is the best location in Calgary, right in the middle of downtown. Very convenient hotel for business meeting, or if you are in a beginning of a trip to the Rockies mountain. Room are big, valet parking very useful, although the payment for the parking is too expansive. Very bussy hotel, but the room are quiet. The rate is fair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Rony H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel. I am pleased that you had a positive experience and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

Thank you again for choosing the Marriott and I trust that we will be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Calgary.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was my second time staying at the Marriott in Calgary.

Great service right from the start, our bags were taken inside from our taxi and we were greeted at the front desk by name. The front desk staff was very helpful throughout our stay, providing us with restaurant options that provided booster seats for our small child. FYI, child friendly restaurants (those that provided booster seats or high chairs) are scarce in downtown Calgary. Every staff member we saw was friendly, and this really enhanced our stay.

Our room could have used a little updating, but overall no real issues. The décor, along with the bathroom (towels, bathtub, toilet) were a little old looking. Bedding and pillows also looked old. Size of the room was great, we had a king bed with plenty of room. Our room had a fridge in it, along with a coffee maker. Crib was provided upon request, which was great.

Pool area was nice, nothing spectacular, but served its purpose. Temperature in the pool area was a little cool, but the water was warm.

The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby, along with a Milestone’s and Traders Lounge. We ate at Milestone’s twice and got coffee each morning from Starbucks. Very convenient having them attached to the hotel. As noted, we were traveling with a child and it was nice to not have to grab jackets and go out.

Check out was very smooth, someone was sent to our room to assist with our bags and they were taken directly downstairs to a taxi.

Other aspects we enjoyed:
-Business centre had computers to use, which saved us from paying for internet access.
-Fruit was provided in the gym area, along with at the front desk. This was a nice touch.
-Location to my work commitments was excellent, short walk each morning.
-Shoe shine service (pick up from your room at night and drop off in the morning) was a great feature.
-Lots of elevators, we didn’t wait more than a few seconds each time we needed one.

In closing, the staff really makes this hotel. Although there are some great features, our room was below average for the quality and price of the hotel. Despite this, we had a great stay and would certainly consider the Marriott again if we return to Calgary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Habscouple,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at the Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel. I will certainly share the wonderful comments to the team. Thank you for recognizing our staff, your comments will certainly motivate them to continue delivering exceptional customer service.

I will work with the team to address areas of concerns as we strive to improve our product and service. Thank you again for taking the time to inform us about your experience.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been in Canada working for almost 3 years and have stayed at the Marriott downtown numerous times. I love it. I have never been disappointed. Staff is outstanding. Service is always top notch. Room service excellent. I come to relax and unwind. I leave refreshed and smiling. Thank you Marriott! Looking forward to my trip next week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear deb g,

Thank you for been a loyal Marriott guest. We appreciate your loyalty and the time taken to tell us and others about your experience at the Calgary Marriott Downtown hotel.

Your feedback is important to us as we strive to enhance our service and product delivery. I will share your positive comments with the team.

Thank you again for your loyalty and I trust that your future stays will continue to be exceptional.

Sincerely,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights for work at the TELUS convention Center. Connected to the convention center - could not have been a better location.

Staff was super helpful. I kept forgetting things in the car, and the guys would keep running to get them for me. Front desk was efficient. Concierge very helpful.

Stayed in a King room - it was massive. Sitting area with couch, business desk. The bathroom was also very big. Lots of counter space. Lighting was as bright as you needed

Located close to all kinds of different places to eat: from a long list of Pubs, to Ruth's Chris, and everything in between.

You can see from my other reviews that I stay everywhere from Fairmonts to Super 8, so I have a good idea what to expect for the money I spend. Highly recommend - great value even if I paid twice the price. The room quality and staff were well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Leavethesn0wbehind,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at the Calgary Marriott Downtown hotel. I am pleased to read that your experience was very positive with our staff leading the way to ensure that you were satisfied.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the the team. We appreciate your feedback and I trust that you will choose us again for future stays in downtown Calgary.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott for a conference this past weekend. The hotel's location is great, right across from the Calgary Tower and perfect for a conference hotel. We were on the 7th floor and the room was spacious and bright and the bathroom was great (good water pressure and temperature too). However.. parking is a bit problematic as you have to park at the Telus convention centre. It's $10/day which is reasonable for downtown, or $25 if you use the valets.

My main beef is charging for wifi. At a nice hotel like this, you should really have that included in the price, but $15.95/day for wifi is ridiculous... ESPECIALLY when you have to pay that for every device. These days people have laptops and phones and iPads. Needless to say, we did not pay for wifi. They do have free wifi in the lobby but who wants to sit there and surf?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjclo365, General Manager at Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Stevetraingeek,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it on to the team.

I do understand your concern regarding charging for internet and we are currently working on a pricing strategy to provide our guests with more options. I can be reached at mhrs.yycdt.gm.ops@marriott.com for additional information.

Thank you again for staying at the Calagry Marriott Downtown hotel.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel

Address: 110 9th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Calgary
#35 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel features the city's largest guestrooms and offers an indoor pool, whirlpool, and outdoor patio areas in downtown Calgary. Our casual restaurants include Traders Grill, a breakfast buffet; Exchange Lounge, a lively cocktail lounge; and Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Calgary
Calgary Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.