We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 9th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Kansas City
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've stayed at this particular hotel many times in the last 10 years and never had a bad experience, though some are better than others. There's a bit of construction going on at this moment, but they go to great pains to keep it separated from the guests.

Things that stood out on this visit: friendly staff, how popular the Starbucks in the lobby is, the updated furnishings in the room (got a VGA cable? You can view your laptop on the big screen), spectacular views from high floors. There is a twice-hourly bus you can ride to the airport that stops right across the street.

I ate dinner at Milestones in the hotel--normally I avoid hotel restaurants. This was a pleasant surprise: the food and service and ambience were all excellent. Not cheap, but definitely would go there again.

Room Tip: High floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    209
    87
    34
    13
See reviews for
58
141
45
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Overall very good stay at the Calgary Marriott. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean and felt cozy coming in from the cold. Only complaint would be that it would be nice if they had humidifiers in the rooms. The winter air in Calgary is very dry so it would have been nice (and make it easier to sleep) had there been a humidifier. I didn't ask for one so not sure if the humidifiers are availbale or not.

Other than that I recommend this property although I prefer the location of downtown Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My friend and I chose the Marriott hotel for a girls weekend out in Calgary. We were very pleased with our decision!
We paid the extra $25 for valet parking which was a good choice considering how expensive it is to park in Calgary!
The hotel itself is very lavish looking. The lobby is huge with tons of couches to sit on. Our room with two double beds was SO SPACIOUS! We could have had our dance party in there :P
Bathroom was super clean and nice.
Staff is super friendly and prompt in answering questions.
Our only qualm was that when we were leaving and called ahead to get our car out of valet- no one came and told us it was ready! It had been parked ahead of the view from the lobby, so we couldn't see it from where we stood/sat. We actually found out it was parked there by nonchalantly walking outside.
Other than that- totally worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I just got back after a 1 night work conference that took place at the attached Telus Convention Centre. Check-in was fast, the room was clean, and is located in the heart of Downtown. Although the decor is outdated, the room was clean, and the bathroom had lots of fluffy towels and Bath and Body Works toiletries. The bed was soft, and linen plush..... I would recommend earplugs, because you can hear people talking in the hallway.

I didn't check out any of the hotel's amenities... but wireless is free in the lobby or available in-room, for a steep fee (~$15). Check-in kiosk is available in lobby... Transportation via taxi to the airport costs about $36 CAN Service was friendly and helpful, and courteous.

This is a good hotel; there isn't anything that makes it outstanding, but is certainly more than adequate for the average traveller

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Calgary Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Büttelborn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed four nights at the Marriott Clagary Downtown Hotel. This hotel is pretty much like all other Marriotts over the world. Rooms are clean, front staff helpful (with the exception of some "agents" patrolling the reception area for people sitting on armrests or side tables and consequently chasing them off in a rude way) recreation nice and convenient. The best is of course the location right in the centre of the city. Just avoid the starbucks in the morning hours: people from outside flock to the coffee house forming endless blabbering lines. Pure stress and most annoying. Better invest in 25CAD for a buffet bfast- worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Marriott hotel in downtown Calgary this past weekend. The price was $99 for the night, plus $25 for valet parking. Although the hotel seemed busy enough we were never bothered by noise. In fact, just the opposite - it was peacefully quiet. The front end staff were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The hotel is extremely well located if you are interested in taking in some live theatre in Calgary with most of the major theatres within 1 block.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Pro:
Friendly service (helpful with directions).
Airline check-in kiosk in hotel lobby.
Quick check-in.

Con:
Rooms are smaller (agree with other reviews).
Room service expensive (18% service charge + $4.00 transportation fee).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel

Address: 110 9th Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Calgary
#35 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel features the city's largest guestrooms and offers an indoor pool, whirlpool, and outdoor patio areas in downtown Calgary. Our casual restaurants include Traders Grill, a breakfast buffet; Exchange Lounge, a lively cocktail lounge; and Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Calgary
Calgary Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;