We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Calgary to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Calgary
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Centre Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here four nights on a business trip. Everyone on the staff, from concierges to housekeepers, were graciously helpful. Concierges had great restaurant suggestions (all an easy walk from the hotel) and called ahead--and most of the time we got a complementary drink thanks to the concierge's relations with the restaurant. Sweet! Large, clean rooms. Only detail lacking was a magnify mirror in the bathroom. Clean, very well equipped exercise room. Nice bar. Breakfast was a simple buffet, enhanced by attentive coffee-and-juice service. Definitely a strong recommendation for any visit to Calgary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    257
    88
    28
    12
See reviews for
118
193
36
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really enjoyed my one night stay at the HR Calgary. However, my room was located on the northwest corner of the 17th floor, and I could hear the rumbling CTrains below on 7th Ave. throughout the day, late into the evening, and again from shortly after 5 AM. Make sure your room is not on the northwest or northeast corners of the hotel. Otherwise, a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Rocky Mountaineer rocked into town very,very late. So, it was with some relief that the hotel was a short wheel away (just behind the Marriott which is directly across the road from Central Station). I was pleasantly surprised to find that the room was very spacious: the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. It was quiet here and hence conducive to quality sleep.
To my great joy, WIFI was free (as it should be in this day and age).
Plenty of restaurants were located directly outside the hotel.
The decor was contemporary with a large foyer. Yes, if I were to go to Calgary again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed downtown in Calgary for the Stampede. Due to changed plans, I stayed at the Palliser, Hyatt and Marriott. I liked the Hyatt. The staff were friendly and helpful. I actually has a problem with the room-safe. It was quickly repaired without a fuss. The breakfast was excellent. I think for downtown Calgary there is not a lot between the Hyatt or Marriott, however the breakfast at the Hyatt was best I had in Calgary so the Hyatt gets my vote as the best downtown hotel during my back to back stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt last Friday while in town for business. The hotel's staff cared about me, the room was clean and the housekeeping person assigned to our room (Sara) seemed to really go the extra mile. Turn down service had Bernard Callebaut chocolates and bottle of water.

While the property had a restaurant undergoing renovations we opted not to try the breakfast hosted by another on-site restaurant (though we checked it out and it looked like good value for 15 bucks).

On site parking is clean and efficient; could do without the extra cost but hey, it's Calgary and parking is nuts there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so you avoid hearing any noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Stalwar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Calgary. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Sara took great care of you. I will be sure to share your comments with her and the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed @ this property several times. In general, love the location & ambience. Quite busy over the stampede week-end (July 13 & 14/13). Have always been happy with rooms, cleanliness, staff etc. The reoccuring problem is the sheets on the king sized beds do not stay tucked in and you wake up on the mattress. Also, the service & food quality on July 14 for breakfast @ Thomson's was appalling. We realize the renovation was happening the next day but no excuse for cold food, being ignored by wait staff and the breakfast not as advertised in menu. Also, having to pay $15.00 a day for wifi is not a good thing. Such services free in hotel chains that are not considered 4 star. The gym is nice. Will stay again but likely not in a king room and definitely not for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

For a very friendly town I was slightly surprised by the rather glum and un-smiling reception and lobby staff. Other slight frustration was the poor wifi availability in bits of the room (basically you had to be close to the table and not perched on bed). Location next to Chinatown, nice cityscape views. Standard breakfast options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: 700 Centre Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#15 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. *355 modern guestrooms including 13 suites, all with high speed internet access. *Over 31,000 square feet of flexible meeting space,including a 13,500 - square foot ballroom. *Stillwater Spa. A 6,000-square-foot, European-inspired, full-service spa, offering a variety of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.