We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada (Southwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #72 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this property for three nights. It was a good location for us. The bed was comfortable; however, the furniture was not in great shape. Also, used glasses and the coffee maker were not cleaned by housekeeping. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Parking is tight. The inclusive breakfast was good; we enjoyed the large breakfast room with lots of windows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    13
    15
    8
See reviews for
20
18
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My daughter 15 had a bowling tournament in Calgary at Chinook center mall, and the Econo lodge was really close to it ,and it was close to other restaurant in the area. The cheese cake cafe was right across the street from our hotel. Was very good.. The hotel was very quite . The beds were very comfortable , and the swimming pool was very nice to swim in . My son 10 enjoyed it a lot. the only problem i had with the hotel was the we were on the bottom floor and the window did not lock. i told the manager and he went solve the problem for us right away . the continental breakfast was soso. not hing to special about it . but it did save us morning for breakfast. i would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Friendly staff and great location!
Laundry services on site is most welcomed. Near all major amenities! Chinook shopping centre just down the road. Excellent assortment of eateries just across the street. Ballpark with trail is only a couple minute walk south on Macleod. Great if your into running!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stay of 9 nites end of February 2013. Payed in advanced at home. Correct stay, just essentials. Ok location. Minimum service. A week after return home, rebilled with 200$ extra with no comment what so ever. Recalled extra payment through VISA. Nothing yet. No explanation from Eco Lodge South Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is an older hotel/motel but clean and pleasant. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms we stayed in were very comfortable, clean and bright. They have a continental breakfast, I enyoyed the waffles. The location is just a few minutes from the Chinook Mall and our favorite restaurant - Red Lobster.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at the Econo Lodge South Calgary with a friend for a concert at the Saddledome. For starters this hotel still has smoking rooms, which was very apparent as you could smell cigarette smoke in the building. The lobby was poorly lit and outdated, and we had to use the stairs to haul our luggage up to our room on the second floor. Good thing I was travelling light! I did not use the pool area, but it looked to be very outdated and under used. The room was pretty filthy, the ceiling was dirty. the washroom appeared to be clean but the toilet seat moved around every time someone sat on it and it was also very outdated. The room overall was not very clean and I was a little leary about actually staying there. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was quiet while we were there and that the location was convenient to shopping and getting to the light train. Would not stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.