We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at other Comfort Inn and Suites, and found them to be a great, basic hotel, so I assumed (mistakenly) that this hotel would be likewise. The lobby and hallways immediately impressed me with how old and dirty this place was, but I was hoping the rooms were better. Indeed, on first glance, it seemed to be adequate. Until I went to turn on a lamp and noticed the embedded grime where the switch was. Then my daughter noted that there were hairs on the pillow, and that there was a cigarette burn on the bedding. The floors had not been vacuumed (perhaps in the center of the room?), and there was foam sticking out of the hide-a-bed. Everywhere we looked, there was hidden, long-term filth, and we both utilized hand sanitizer when we left the room. The front desk attendant refused to refund the $175 I had paid, and when I offered to pay a half day rate, he also refused. Upon complaint to the manager, I was offered a complimentary upgrade to the Jacuzzi suite. Given the lack of cleanliness in the other areas of the hotel, I can only imagine what I would pick up in a Jacuzzi. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We are undergoing renovations and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Our breakfast is a full hot buffet breakfast which includes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, muffins, waffles, cereals, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. Our breakfast in fact is quite popular as it is not just coffee and toast as offered by other hotels. In addition to the above, we have a 2 story high water slide with an indoor heated water park and a Jacuzzi.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    29
    30
    58
See reviews for
42
19
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visiting in Calgary in August, was concerned by some comments of others but booked as so handy. My friend and I were welcomed warmly, found a lovely entrance way, our room very clean and very quiet! A great breakfast and many seemed to enjoy large swimming pool.

Room Tip: We asked for a south facing room which allowed a lovely sunset and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When i first started to stay there in 2009 nice but it has moved down to bad as of Oct 27 2013.
Room not so clean, shower tap knob fell off I had to replace, ice machine very dirty, lots of garbage in lobby, can overflowing. Wiil not ever go back to this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We are undergoing renovations and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Our breakfast is a full hot buffet breakfast which includes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, muffins, waffles, cereals, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. Our breakfast in fact is quite popular as it is not just coffee and toast as offered by other hotels. In addition to the above, we have a 2 story high water slide with an indoor heated water park and a Jacuzzi.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this motel two years ago. It was of very good quality and value then, but has since dropped in both categories.
On the positive side, the location of this motel is great - easy access to the University, Sports Stadium, restaurants and the city's light rail service.
Management was very courteous and friendly throughout our stay - noting our Level within the Choice Club Program and providing a very nice upgrade to a suite.
Our King bed was very comfortable with lots of bedding and pillows.
The breakfast area at this motel is very, very good. It is constantly monitored with items being kept replenished. The lady supervisor is very friendly and will go out of her way to ensure that you are able to get the breakfast items you desire. Well done !
The indoor pool area was kept well organized and stocked with a good supply of towels.
This motel is in need of a major upgrade ! It enjoys a high traffic flow of guests, and now it is time to reinvest throughout.
Furniture in the room was old with several chip marks. The washroom was clean, but definitely showing its age.
The air conditioner in our room worked - but only if you left it on HIGH at all times, and only in the bedroom itself. The air exchange vent that was designed to share cooler air with the second room was very ineffective. As a result, we could at the same time almost be cold in the bedroom but be swelteringly hot in the living room area.
Another disappointing aspect at this hotel was the television system in the Suite. Full cable service was only available on one television at a time. If you wanted to watch different programs in the two rooms, one television could shut down the other - really weird set up. Management was of no help when asked - simply telling me that was they way the motel connections were arranged. Never had this occur at any other motel !
Having pointed out a few areas in need of repair, nonetheless we could recommend this motel and look forward to staying there again in a couple of years when we return to Calgary.

Room Tip: 1. If you want a cooler room, try to get one on the North side of the motel; 2. Check your room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We are undergoing renovations and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Our breakfast is a full hot buffet breakfast which includes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, muffins, waffles, cereals, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. Our breakfast in fact is quite popular as it is not just coffee and toast as offered by other hotels. In addition to the above, we have a 2 story high water slide with an indoor heated water park and a Jacuzzi.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days on business. Horrible hotel. Air conditioner did not work and room temperature was 86 F and curtain hung down from rod. Could not get anyone to repair in two days. Tried to get another room but was told all were booked. Left for dinner and returned to being told I could look at 4 other rooms to see if the AC worked in these rooms. They did work and asked for the first one they suggested at which point I was told I could not have it as it was a Jacuzzi room. So I took the other one. Thank goodness AC worked. Another negative aspect of hotel was the food and the lack of exercise facilities. The "breakfast" was exactly the same thing every day. Rubber eggs and sausage patties. There was only two machines to exercise on and no weight machines or free weights. Pool was tiny. Only good thing was location. Right next to C Train. Also close to football stadium which may be the reason the motel was in such rough shape, dirty, smelly and broken down. Also, looked to be short staffed. The Comfort Inn in Brockville is completely the opposite.

Room Tip: AVoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
First of all I must apologize for the issue with the Air Conditioner. I can assure you it has been addressed. This is not at all the standard that we do provide at the hotel. All our rooms are equipped with automatic temp regulators which kick in automatically whenever the temp is either too hot or too cold.

I am sorry for the frustration this guest felt but can assure you this is not at all the kind of standard our hotel provides. The issues at hand were addressed to maintenance and were resolved and we installed a brand new PTAC unit in that room.

Our breakfast is a full hot buffet breakfast which includes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, muffins, waffles, cereals, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. Our breakfast in fact is quite popular as it is not just coffee and toast as offered by other hotels. In addition to the above, we have a 2 story high water slide with an indoor heated water park and a Jacuzzi.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

In September 2013, I booked a group of federal employees attending a conference into this property. I had stayed there a couple of years previous, and was happy with the value, cleanliness and service. This experience was entirely the opposite. The floors in both the common areas and my room were soiled; corners were caked in dust. The temperature mixing valve on the shower was broken, so a cool shower was the only option. The multiple setting shower head would only pulse a heavy stream. Face cloths and hand towels appeared to have newsprint stains. Bath towels which I hung for reuse disappeared but were not replaced. One morning I had to go to the front desk for towels. Consumables in the room such as the coffee pack were not replaced, but it didn't much matter as the coffee maker did not work, as I discovered after my first attempt. Trash was not removed from the room.
I can usually rely on Comfort Inns for an enjoyable, good value experience, but this visit certainly didn't meet expectations. It's a shame, because the property is conveniently located to the University, rapid transit, and some shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel. We take pride in welcoming each and every customer at our hotel and strive our level best to give the best possible service and the highest possible standards available in order to make their stay enjoyable and comfortable.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc. Had you mentioned your displeasure with your room we would have gladly moved to a room which would have been more appealing to you.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your patronage and apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel had terrible reviews and my expectations were low. I am usually a Westin, et al, quality hotel user. However, my room here was fine, and clean and completely acceptable. The staff tried hard and were polite and professional. The downsides were that the common areas were very untidy and worn, and the breakfast wasn't really very good.

If ownership/management invested a little money and put in some more effort, the results would be positive. I wouldn't necessarily stay here again, but this hotel could be an acceptable option.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc. Our hallways and lobby will shortly be renovated too and I do hope you will enjoy our new updated look.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness centre and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Choice Canada, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.