We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reader Rock Garden

Reader Rock Garden
325 25 Ave. S.E., Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 339 things to do in Calgary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reader's Garden Cafe is located inside the gardens: http://www.calgaryplus.ca/calgary/venues/readers-garden-cafe
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I love this garden. We visit it multiple times a year. It's a small garden but very nice. Caution, steep rock stairs. There is a cafe at the top, sometimes closed for private functions.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice walk, but the restaurant has never had good food! staff rarely knows anything about the wine, dishes, etc.........Always out of most of the main dishes shortly before lunch get under way.
Too bad they never get a manager who know how to run it properly or get staff educated or motivated

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely heritage plantings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a gem of a garden tucked away past a train track. This heritage garden has as many original types of plants as existed when Reader planted. A historic site. Must see.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Unexpected and gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Reader Rock garden is nestled at a corner of Union Cemetery, which is wedged between the Stampede Grounds, Macleod Trail and an industrial park. It was all the more surprising, one May evening, to find something full of lush trees,mini streams, flowers, pretty benches and gorgeous stonework. My thought was "this is in CALGARY?" While we have some very lovely places, we're not exactly known as a garden city.

It is accessible by car and kind of kitty corner to the south exit of the Erlton Stampede platform. If you have mobility issues, exploring the actual gardens might be tricky, but you could still easily go to the cafe and enjoy the surroundings from the pathway.

While I haven't eaten at the cafe, the menu full of locally souced food, looked delicious.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a beautiful and peaceful spot in the middle of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The first time we walked through the garden was on our way to Family day at Stampede. It was a rushed trip but we were so awestruck that we agreed to take our time on the way back. It is an oasis of calm in the middle of the chaos that is downtown and Stampede. Even with tired feet, my son wanted to take the time to explore. Now, every chance we get, we stop in for a walk around and are planning a lunch date at the cafe. A walk through is now the way we always end our day at Stampede, a great way to decompress from the overstimulation!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reader Rock Garden also viewed

 

Been to Reader Rock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reader Rock Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.