We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handicap Room Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 39th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8V8, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Handicap Room Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked this hotel again on Hotwire as was a year ago.\
Had a surprise when I arrived this time, my room was the handicap room.
At first I chuckled thinking I must be appearing old and frail to the staff but realized I've never stayed in a handicap/wheelchair room before. I don't know what the construction guidelines are, but it certainly seems to be very roomy allowing easy wheelchair movement within the room.

My room was on ground floor, closest room to the front desk.
The bed was a regular king, not a special bed.
The room was a bit larger and the bathroom was huge.
Certainly big enough for two wheelchairs to be in at the same time still allowing some maneuverability.
I've attached pix so that those who need/understand these rooms better can see what's there.
Sink has a cut out to allow wheelchair access. Lots of hand bars to assist moving in the bathroom. An alarm pull chain to alert hotel assistance is needed. With them being so close that would be very fast.
The shower has two sit down positions with a protruding portion in the middle either for grip or shampoos, etc. This shower is actually kind of awkward to stand in as an able bodied person as the protrusion leaves your footing on the edge and making you wonder if you slip. If you use either of the sitting positions, it works just fine. (took me a minute to figure that out first thing in the a.m. with no coffee).

Hot breakfast still top notch and the two well maintained waffle making machines are a treat.
Will definitely stay here again.
This airport area is great if you dont mind the slight industrial ambiance, as it's pretty quick to get to Deerfoot to scoot downtown or anywhere in Calgary. Lots of restuarants nearby including a new one I tried on this trip.
Great bang for your buck spent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us in Calgary.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again this year and would like to thank you for posting the details about our wheelchair accessible room so that others who may require such a room can hear fist hand more about how the room is equipped.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
73
59
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a GREAT find. Inexpensive and worthwhile. Service was totally beyond what was expected for a modest hotel; i.e., shortly after checking in, the duty manager called to ensure the room was suitable and inquired if there was anything we needed. The complimentary breakfast offers lots of variety: fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereal, waffles, eggs, hash browns, ham/bacon, breads, muffins, English muffins, etc. The busy attendant always found time to be helpful. She even explained the options thoroughly to someone's child who was overwhelmed by it all. Later, she warmed a bottle for another mom. Pool and exercise rooms are clean. The kingside mattress was very comfortable. The only downside is being so near the airport flightpath (aircraft take-off sounds were not that bad and were easily ignored after a bit). STAY HERE if you don't need to be downtown (10-15 min drive) or near the U of C (10 min drive). Easy to get on and off of the Deerfoot Trail.

Room Tip: Restaurant indicated above refers to the Breakfast Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel.

We pride ourselves on the service we provide our guests and I am very pleased to read that we lived up to this for you. I will be very happy to share your review with our entire team.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

More and more we prefer to stay at suite hotels.
For one the price is better, 2 breakfast is usually included from 0600 until 1000hrs.
The breakfast is excellent hot and cold items.
This suite hotel is approx 15 minutes from the airport.
Make sure you let the front desk know when you wish to depart for the airport as they use outside service.
Staff is excellent and accomodating

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us in August.

I am glad to hear that you found both our breakfast and our staff to be excellent and that you were able to take advantage of our airport shuttle service.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Calgary,

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very clean, quiet, and close to the airport. Chose this hotel bc we were flying out at 6am the next morning. Shuttle was convenient. Missed the breakfast bc of the early flight, so can't comment on that. Hotel staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: chose a room at the back of the hotel, that was a suite. nice pull out couch, and nice linens on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in posting a review on your recent stay with us in Calgary.

We are pleased to hear that you found us to be clean quite and most importantly convenient to the airport for your early flight. I am sorry that you didn't have the opportunity to experience our breakfast however I hope that you did take advantage of our grab and go offerings so that you were not starting your day on an empty stomach!

Again thank you for your time and feedback and we do hope to see you again should you be back this way.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the the Country Inn & Suites in Calgary on the first and last nights of our Canadian Rocky vacation.
Upon arrival at midnight (our flight was late) we were given a room that had a strong cigarette smoke smell. When we went to the front desk we were immediately given a different, better room. Prompt service. Our room on our last night was fine.
We found the rooms large and clean. Breakfast was ample and better than most places. They had a free airport shuttle.Prices were reasonable. What more can you ask for?
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent trip to Calgary and the Canadian Rockies.

I am sorry to read that your first room on the first night had a strong cigarette smell however I am pleased to know that this problem was quickly rectified for you.

Again thank you for your time and feedback and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Very comfortable stay. Beds were awesome and provided a sound sleep after a long day of driving. Our room was cleaned by Connie and it was spotless. Would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it. I liked the fact that Dining area is away and separate from the lobby/reception. Didnt get a chance to use the pool and hot tub area, however there were quite a few guests who were using it.

Room Tip: use eStandby upgrades via email once you reserve the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you found the beds to be very comfortable.

Connie will be so pleased to hear that you found the room spotless and I am happy that you have given me an opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!

We look forward to having you as our guests again next time your travels bring you to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got booked into this property as other favorites in the area were booked up. Was pleasantly surprised by by how clean the property was and how comfortable the room was. The freebie breakfast was even surprisingly rich with choices. I would certainly book again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us in Calgary.

We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast selection.

Thank you again for your time and feedback and we hope to see you again next time you are in Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport

Address: 2481 39th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Calgary
#22 Business Hotel in Calgary
#23 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Country Inn Calgary Airport
Calgary Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.