We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pet-friendly stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Royal Hotel Calgary to your Saves list
Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2828 23rd St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Tripadvisor Rate
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pet-friendly stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is top-notch for pet-friendly! We brought our puppy there overnight this past weekend and everyone welcomed us and staff were extra friendly to our pup, even giving him a welcome bag of treats and a toy among other things! We were impressed and will stay there again! We found the room comfy, clean, and the Keurig was a nice touch! Room service and food was good... I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Our corner room was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalInnCalgary, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear TinaStephBosco,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that both the two legged and four legged guests in your group enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you back again.

Danny Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    46
    14
    10
See reviews for
33
67
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Executive Royal Inn for a night prior to departing on our flight and then the night that we got back from our vacation. The rooms that we were given were newly renovated with very comfortable beds and bedding. The shuttle was very convenient taking us to the airport and return from the airport - we were also allowed to leave our vehicle in their parking lot for the 10 nights that we were gone. We ate at the restaurant that is on site for breakfast. They offered a breakfast buffet with enough options to satisfy anyone (I think).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I figured I would fork over the extra money for this hotel because the reviews I read seemed okay and when I looked at cheaper places in the area they had mixed reviews. BIG MISTAKE! I could not believe the level of disrepair I found at this place. Don't trust the pictures, the furniture is new but the room and bathroom are so beat up I couldn't believe it! Peeling paint, stains in the sink, watermarks on the ceiling, the bathroom door looked like it had swelled due to a flood at some point. Lack of maintenance aside I also found the ABSENCE OF BASIC CLEANLINESS STANDARDS appalling. I had a late check in and when I got to my room I stepped inside and immediately walked on a pile of grit, looking down there was what appeared to be mud from someone's boots and a rolled up bit of toilet paper of concerning origin. It was late so I thought maybe this was the only issue and proceeded to check out the beds. Very old linens, pulled back sheets in BOTH beds and found MULTIPLE STRANDS OF HAIR under the pillows and in the sheets! Went to front desk, staff nice as pie, new room and a complimentary breakfast pass. Next room SAME FILTH, only 2 hairs in one bed so I called it a night. NOT WHAT I EXPECT FOR $150+/NIGHT!!! NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalInnCalgary, General Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear StraightGoodsCdn ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We strive to make all our guests stays as exceptional one. It is clear that we have missed the mark on your most recent stay.

I was very disappointed reading your review as I have not been witness to one of our rooms in such poor condition. We do have some rooms that are slated to be painted in the next few months. I would very much appreciate if you could advise when you stayed and which rooms you were in so that I can work with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure that this room is brought up to a proper standard. My personal email is dmarshall@royalinn.com

Our rates are set based on market demand. We do regularly check our rates against our competitors and find that our rates fall in line with the market.

Once again thank you very much for your review. It is very disappointing to hear that your stay with us was well below what we consider acceptable. Your review will be used as training tool to ensure that future incidents such as this do not occur.

Yours in hospitality,

Danny Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious and beautifully decorated room. Staff were friendly, place was clean. It was a very nice stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Only downside was no pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip. I wanted something close to the main highways and not in the downtown core. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Check-in and check-out was smooth and seamless. Loads of parking and restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and facing the back parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had X-Mas banquet there. I've had a lot worse.

I was pleasantly surprised. Tables were tasteful, service was right there, drinks were decent size. Lots of food and the desert selection was quite extensive. Well Done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My stay @ this hotel was very comfortable. Upon check-in the front desk staff were very friendly and really helpful. The rooms are a fair size and very clean.Free coffee is available in the room and you can request more from housekeeping or the front desk; complimentary shampoo,conditioner,lotion as well. Rooms are cleaned every day.
You can set the temperature in the room to your comfort.
The price was really quite reasonable; 120- 140 dollars, canadian.
Steels, the restaurant was really excellant; food was good and the price was right.
I will be staying here again; I liked it.:)

Room Tip: Upper floors are always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Address: 2828 23rd St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#37 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 201-room Executive Royal Inn Hotel & Conference Centre near Calgary’s international airport offers an assortment of hotel accommodation choices to fulfill the needs of the most discerning traveler to Calgary. This Calgary airport hotel is distinctly furnished with non-smoking guest rooms featuring useful hotel amenities that cater to business travelers to Calgary Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn North Calgary Hotel Calgary
Executive Royal Hotel North Calgary
Calgary Executive Royal Hotel
Calgary Executive Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.