We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Pets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Royal Hotel Calgary to your Saves list
Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2828 23rd St NE | Corner of Barlow Trail and 27th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Tripadvisor Rate
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
calgary ab
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for Pets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with our 2 cats... The hotel was clean, bed was okay. Every room is pet-friendly, so if you have allergies, I would pick a different hotel. The brunch buffet is SO GOOD!! There was a wedding there on the weekend, so the staff were super busy, but still managed to stay friendly and courteous. I wish that they had a continental breakfast, but they don't. There is limited vending machines onsite, so be prepared if you need a drink or something to eat while there, it will have to be within the restaurant hours, or you will have to go off-site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    88
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
36
71
19
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shuttle from airport easy (the female driver is a hoot!), but it is about 15 minutes (more at rush hour) so would cost a bit by taxi. Easy, friendly check-in. Room is quite basic but has what you need and then some: enough chairs and a desk, working wifi. Noticeably soft sheets. Fluffy pillows (hubby wanted a flatter one but too late to ask). I slept well and that is all I really needed for a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The front desk staff were highly unattending, we requested early check in because we had travelled all night, were told that it wouldn't be possible, which is fair enough but the girl was rude at best, also requested a cot which I was told earlier was a possibility, when checked later if we could get it, the girl was very rude once again. We booked our rooom online through hotline and as a travelling business pair, we were Under the Impression there would be two beds. we were put in a room with one bed and told thats all there was. The room was nice, the cleaning staff very friendly and accommodating, it's a shame though when your initial greeting and experience are so negative. Not all requests can be taken care of but a little caring and understanding goes a long way. We won't be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had to overnight here as we were catching early morning flight. Very impressed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate. I was very impressed with the beds as they were very comfortable! They also had a great lounge and restaurant, the food was very good. Free breakfast, but we had to leave too early for this. The best thing was free parking whether your there a week or three weeks. That is unheard of in Calgary. Great Job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel only because my choices were limited at the last minute. It was not what I expected from something that has both Executive and Royal in the name. It was neither.
The staff at the front desk was great and very helpful but that's where my compliments end. The carpets in the hall were dirty and unvacuumed and the room was clean but extremely basic and outdated and the internet is awful. There was also pieces of unused furniture left at the end of the hallway which really didn't add to my impression of this property. Again, good at the last minute but if you have time to look for something else....do it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel.

I apologize for the condition of the floors upon your arrival and have addressed this with the housekeeping department to ensure that we are taking more care in how the hotel is represented to our guests

As you pointed out there was some unused furniture in the hallways as we have recently been updating furniture in the guest rooms, the excess furniture has been removed from the hallways

We have been addressing some concerns to the internet as there are some soft spots for the wireless throughout the building; we are currently in the process of upgrading our internet speed as well as the accessibility.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepless in Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times over the last few years and the rooms are always clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The staff are friendly and willing to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean. Good value for the price but if you need an Internet connection go elsewhere. They claim high speed Internet but it is terrible. A speed test showed 0.34mbps. The most basic packages from providers have 10mbps.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. Our current internet package provides our guests with a 50mbps download speed and a 5mbps upload speed, we are also looking into having this increased to 100mbps download and 10 mbps upload. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the internet during your stay, unfortunately our IT department was unable to find any area with such a drastic drop in service

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Address: 2828 23rd St NE | Corner of Barlow Trail and 27th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 201-room Executive Royal Inn Hotel & Conference Centre near Calgary’s international airport offers an assortment of hotel accommodation choices to fulfill the needs of the most discerning traveler to Calgary. This Calgary airport hotel is distinctly furnished with non-smoking guest rooms featuring useful hotel amenities that cater to business travelers to Calgary Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn North Calgary Hotel Calgary
Executive Royal Hotel North Calgary
Calgary Executive Royal Hotel
Calgary Executive Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.