We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Kensington Riverside Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Memorial Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada (Hillurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“True boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel takes the 'boutique' concept beyond a simple marketing ploy. It is an elegant small building within (longish) walking distance of downtown. Slight disappointment with our alley-facing room, but I guess hotels have backs as well as fronts. Staff most friendly and competent once we had overcome their expectation that a single room booking for three adults would only require one bed! Maybe the restaurant takes itself a little too seriously ... had to smile at the breakfast menu that proclaimed the name of the chef making one's omelette!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    35
    14
    16
    1
See reviews for
7
97
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel! Our weekend looked like it was going to be a dud as we arrived in the rain, had traffic issues and were shown to a room that we were really disappointed with. It was right off the lobby and very close to the sidewalk. We complained and were told that they were full and could not offer us another room. As we were standing in the room wondering what we could do, Mandy phoned us in the room and said that she had heard that we were not happy and offered to get a newly renovated room ready for us. We went out for dinner and came back to the most lovely room and lovely staff who made us feel so at home. We really appreciate all the effort she put into making us happy. We had room 214 and everything was perfect from that moment on. The rooms are in the process of renovation and they are amazing. Great beds, great shower, soaker tub and fireplace. They bring coffee, tea or juice to your door in the morning and they also gave us both $20.00 breakfast vouchers for each morning that we were there.Breakfast was virtually free,nice bonus. Great breakfast too wth a wonderful server named Phil who treated us great. This is a very service oriented hotel. We will definately return. Lots of fun!

Room Tip: We loved Room 214, since it has a lovely balcony that faces the river and the hustle and bustle of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernaMaurer, General Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
I just wanted to take a moment to express my gratitude to you for writing such a wonderful review and taking the time to mention some individual staff members. So often we hear the bad and not the good, and I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to take a potentially disappointing experience and really turn it around! They all take great pride in the Inn and the service and amenities we provide, and being recognized for their efforts is a great way to encourage them to continue to pursue excellence! Thanks again and I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Werna Maurer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We live in Calgary, but everynow and then we like to book a hotel within the city and have a little night away from home. I think that the Riverside Inn is probably my favourite property here in Calgary. It's small, so it feels very intimate and home-like. We had the best room in the place. Balcony that faced the river. It was wonderful. We also ate in the restaurant for dinner and brunch. Both meals were beyond fantastic. And brunch was practically free because of the vouchers we had waiting in our room for us. Croque monsieur. Yes please! I absolutely loved everything about this place.

We never had any issues with parking. We were there for 2 nights! Just gave the front desk our keys and they moved our car if needed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff at the Inn helped make our 4 year anniversary so much more memorable than I could have ever hoped. Check-in was a breeze and the front desk could not have been friendlier. The attention to detail was outstanding throughout our one-night stay, from the (complimentary) rose petals in the room, to the coffee and tea delivered to our door in the morning, the well-appointed Luxury Suite, and to our spectacular anniversary dinner at the Chef's Table. The view from our suite was lovely, particularly at night, and the "noise" that other reviews have mentioned is well within what I would expect considering the location of the Inn - if anything, our room facing Memorial Drive did an exceptional job of cancelling out most of the traffic noise.

Guillaume and Jason made us feel very relaxed and welcome during our tasting menu experience at the Chef's Table. The patio, on a lovely summer evening, was truly an ideal setting to enjoy Chef Boje's cuisine, with plating that resembles art more than anything, and clean, concise flavours. Walking ten metres to our suite and collapsing on the gloriously comfortable bed, after being pampered and fed for 3 hours, was simply icing on the cake. A lovely added bonus was the $20 brunch credit per person for the next morning - the portions are not shy and the flavours were on point.

We certainly will not hesitate to return for our next staycation/special occasion, and will extol the virtues of this lovely Inn to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Luxury suite is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington de
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding small hotel where everyone knows your name. Near several excellent restaurants. Outstanding service.
Beautifully appointed rooms. Heated towel rack a plus, even in the summer
The only negative for me is Rosemary scented shampoo but others love it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The internal fitting and decor of the hotel is nice enough. However, our room - an executive king room- had two windows, offering the choice of a view of a skip, or a small enclosed patio, with enclosing walls painted in a dark grey. With no tea or coffee facilities in the room or in any guest lounge, you had to go out to get a hot drink, or rely on room service. I suspect that other rooms at the front may well have suffered from noise of the busy road. The publicity material does give you the impression of a pleasant riverside location, ignoring the large main road between it and the hotel.

Let me say that staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We did explain early on that we were not happy, but the hotel was full anyway, so no change of room was possible.

We normally prefer to book smaller, boutique type hotels, rather than the larger chains and on this occasion went against the advice of our travel agent to be closer to downtown. The Kensington area is quite interesting, with lots of specialist shops and a wide choice of restaurants. You are only a short walk across the river to the centre, which has a free and frequent tram service in the middle. (By the way, some of the pavements in Calgary are hazardous: you need to watch where you are walking). I think I still stand by the decision to be out of the centre, but this particular hotel did not give us the sort of experience we would have expected for the cost. For a special occasion, it would have been disastrous.

A few other niggles. We were given a $20 breakfast voucher. The menu listed some cooked breakfast options: we each tried one of the Eggs Benedict: there is a choice of the traditional one with ham, and alternative with smoked salmon. Both were absolutely delicious, particularly the salmon. However, the menu did not show, and we were not told, that you are paying for every other item you order - even coffee- so you ended with a breakfast bill anyway. This was very misleading and you only find out when you get the bill. How easy would it have been to make things clear on the menu in the first place. We stayed three nights and found the breakfast menu quite limiting, with no apparent alternative of cereal or pastry.

Wifi was excellent, but plugging in a charger was a challenge in our particular room: there were no obvious plugs, so it was get on your knees and get under the desk! However, another positive: the very good bathroom had an excellent good sized tub and separate shower.

Let me say that I understand that you normally get what you pay for. However, this hotel was, in my opinion, expensive, and we did not get the value, comfort or facilities that we would expect from a hotel in this category. Some of the complaints could be easily rectified. Even a coat of cream paint over the wall outside would improve the claustrophobic feeling in the room. Checking out was not the fastest experience, with the hard working lady at front desk trying to do several jobs, it seemed.

As part of the Rocky Mountaineer package, we moved for our fourth night in Calgary to the Fairmont Palliser. Very large and grandiose, but apparently cheaper.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with a noisy road or a lousy view, make sure your room will suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernaMaurer, General Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your very candid review of our Inn. As a small property amongst many other, well-known chains, we take such feedback very seriously and will do our best in every case to adjust our amenities and services to meet the needs of our guests.

To address some of your concerns, part of our Vision of Service is to provide attentive and personalized service at every opportunity, hence we deliver the morning coffee/tea tray to your door rather than expecting you to make your own. On weekends, fresh pastries are provided as well, to enjoy prior to brunch.

As for the breakfast/brunch menu, we have recently included some lighter options such as the smoothie and granola parfait, nice alternative options to a full hot breakfast. As for the vouchers, our website and confirmation emails do explain the limit of $20, however, I have added this explanation to our breakfast menu to avoid any further confusion.

To touch on the room decor and accessibility of outlets, we are currently undergoing guest room renovations, to be completed by early December 2012, and one of the items we have addressed is the accessibility of outlets, so you will find plenty of plugs above the desk in all of our new rooms. The suggestion to paint the patio wall is a great one which we will definitely explore! Our windows in all of the front South facing rooms are sound proof and noise from the road is minimal.

Again, I appreciate your feedback and hope that if your travels ever find you back in Calgary, you give us the opportunity to fulfill our vision towards the pursuit of excellence!

Yours in Hospitality,

Werna Maurer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We made two requests from the Inn: a parking space and a quiet room. They failed on both accounts. After reading the tripadvisor review from One-Canadian, we specified in our booking that we wanted a parking space reserved and would be arriving quite late. But when we turned up and were directed into the garage- it was full as staff had parked in it. We waited with our suitcases whilst a chef moved his car. Secondly, as we were coming off an overnight flight from London, we requested a quieter room. We were placed in the room in the middle of the hotel, just at the top of the stairs that all guests come up after their quite noisy Saturday night dinner. When we pointed this out, we were moved (to one facing the main road, but that was still quieter). On the plus side, the rooms were very pleasant, the bathroom great, and the coffee thermos a nice touch (but tepid and too little for two people). Breakfast was a bit too fussy on Sunday- you are given a 'token' we realised afterwards, towards brunch. It would be better to have some simpler choice eg cereal and toast would have sufficed! Overall, this place is clearly trying very hard to attract 'foodies', but seems to fail on the basics.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernaMaurer, General Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your review of our Boutique Inn. I realize that word-of-mouth is still the driving force that convinces guests to return and new guests to stay!

I apologize for the parking situation you encountered upon your arrival, clearly not a very good first impression and something which, due to our limited availability, we are working on correcting so our in-house guests will always have parking.

As for the Brunch menu, we do communicate the $20 limit per person for our in-house guests through our website and confirmation emails, however, I have gone ahead and posted this text on our menus as well, to avoid any future confusion. We have recently added a fruit smoothie and granola parfait for those guests who prefer a simpler breakfast, and we are also happy to accommodate any special requests, when possible, that are not listed on our menu.

I do hope that should your travels bring you back to Calgary, you give us another opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience!

Yours in Hospitality,

Werna Maurer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Address: 1126 Memorial Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary’s premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as the renowned Chef's Table restaurant. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, full a la carte breakfast up to $20/person/day, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.