We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was expecting a lot from this hotel. Room itself was okay. Cleanliness was average. What bothered me was there was no information about the facilities in the room. I called about this and next day I was left a room service menu (on top of the one already in the room). I spoke to front desk. Nothing happened. I left a note in my room. Nothing happened. The other thing that bothered me was that when I called to find out when the pool was open (since I didn't have any information about the facilities) I was told it was open. When I went down there was a sign saying it was closed for the week for maintenance! I would not recommend this hotel considering the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for making me aware of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with not receiving a guest directory and the unexpected pool closure. It would appear that we did not better explain to you that the Room Service menu that you were supplied, also has the guest directory on the other side. Ensuring our guest safety is a priority for the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau and as a result pool closures may occur from time to time. I do apologize for both of these opportunities not being appropriately communicated to you. I hope that we may be of assistance with your accommodations in the future should you so choose to provide us another opportunity.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    163
    44
    23
    9
See reviews for
122
114
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Hubert, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Not only the comfort of an hotel makes it the best...The staff counts for a bigger part of it.
The Sheraton Suites Eau Claire in Calgary has the best staff I ran across in a long time. Smiles is the norm and they always go beyond the limits to help you out and make you feel good.
Great job to the gang...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your accolades with us. We really appreciate the compliments that towards our team here at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire.

We look forward to welcoming you back, with smiles being the norm of course.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Sheraton is my preferred hotel for business in Calgary. In my opinion most Calgary hotels are over priced compared to other cities. The Sheraton is comparatively priced, but every room is a 2 room suite, which is not common downtown. This is also one of the newest downtown hotels. The service has always been great and the staff friendly. On my last trip, the doorman had taken my bag out of the taxi, and the front desk was checking me in by the time I had paid for the cab and gotten into the lobby. The rooms are large, nicely furnished, and very quiet. The hotel is close to downtown, and also close to the river parkland. A great area for walks. Even considering the price, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I truly appreciate you taking the time to review your “preferred” hotel in Calgary. We take great pride in providing exceptional service to our loyal guests such as yourself. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Calgary.

Warm Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great room (with microwave, kitchenette), full length mirror, minutes walk from one of the best shopping destinations in Calgary, fantastic club lounge. Their club lounge patio probably rivals one of the best places to relax and have a drink on a summer night in Calgary.

Fresh baked pastries daily. Lovely. Property feels a bit dated and they do not offer free calls in North America (like the nearby Westin) but if you want to be made to truly feel like a guest, this is the spot in downtown Calgary. They will remember your name, spg amenities and recognition are exceptional and they make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: Make sure you meet Song and Sam in the club lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
The atmosphere on the 15th floor Club Lounge patio is second to none and definitely is the place to relax and have a beverage during a summer day. Thank you for such a great review. We truly appreciate your feedback and accolades. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pleasant experience with great room. Very clean and quiet. Would recommend. Nice place to stay. Central to downtown with access to all the business centers. Would recommend to dog owners as this is a dog friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We definitely are a dog friendly hotel, in fact we do have our very own Canine Ambassador, Ben our Chocolate Lab that has his very own house located next to our bell desk. We hope you get a chance to visit with Ben on your next stay in Calgary.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I live in Calgary and have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Christmas parties, girls night out, it's so close to all the downtown action. There's nice theatre's if you want to catch a movie, nice restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
There is a lot to be said about having a "Staycation" in your own city and we take it as a wonderful compliment to have one of Calgary's own residents choose to stay with us regularly.
We truly appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and share your thoughts on the hotel and surrounding area.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Relatively new, and after staying in this hotel on two occasions I am left with the impression that the building was originally intended to be something other than a hotel. Perhaps a hospital? The accommodation is all suites, but once the bedroom is filled with two queen size beds there is not a lot of room left. The suites have a kitchenette, but it is not stocked with tableware, etc.; so is of limited use. The desk has good lighting, with convenient plugs. The sitting area is quite small. This is a Sheraton, but within the suites and in the halls the decor and quality of furnishings is more like a Comfort Inn. If you like large hallways, this is the place for you; the halls are as big as those in hospitals, with enough width to park gurneys on both sides and still leave lots of space for passage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmthegm, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your observations and descriptions of the guest suites and corridors. In the future, perhaps one of our king bedded rooms may afford you more space in the bedroom area and should you require any additional flatware or silverware, to be used with the wet bar area, our team would be happy to provide. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards

Gord Minor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Address: 255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#16 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting our Calgary Hotel for business or pleasure, you'll never feel more at home than at the all-suite four-diamond Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel Calgary
Sheraton Calgary
Sheraton Hotel Calgary Eau Claire
Calgary Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.