We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for Downtown Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel Calgary to your Saves list
International Hotel Calgary
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 4th Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Weekend Savings
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Tullibardine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place for Downtown Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was one of the best offers when searching for an overnight stay in Calgary. It's ideally located to the city centre and C Train for exploring and easy walking for restaurants and bars. It's probably worth asking the concierge where is best to go as I spent some time trying to find somewhere. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, service excellent and staff friendly. If offered take one of the higher floors as it gives a great view across the business district. I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    420
    150
    43
    22
See reviews for
117
259
48
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our second year anniversary. I loved Calgary and the great service we received from Parisa and Emily. They went out of their way in my eyes. So far the best service. We were given a nice large room, (3207) free breakfast and free wifi. The parking is a bit too pricey I must say. Taxi was called for us, we were helped with our luggage. Breakfast was delicious. I will most definitely be back. Thank you Parisa and Emily!!

Room Tip: Corner suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here during a recent business trip. The room was an oversized one bedroom suite. The seating/living room area was comfortable and roomy. Bedroom was nice, had French doors to close off from the living room, bed was comfortable and plenty of closet space.

Room service was ok, food was nothing special, but they were very prompt and professional in terms of service. We also had free breakfast which was a plus and a great way to start our morning.

Only complaint I have is the elevators took forever!! One of the elevators was out of service which caused for a stop on literally every floor on the morning I left.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here as it was located in central downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in Calgary for a night following a weekend in Banff. The hotel exceeded my expectations - the rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom could be modernised though and the lifts take a long time to arrive, although one is out of order following last years floods so that is understandable. The hotel staff were very helpful - in particular Jordan, who drove us to the science museum when we asked how to get there and was really friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor, cost was over $300/night CAD. If I could have stayed at a Westin or Hyatt - I would have but they were even more expensive but maybe the $30-$50 difference would have been worth it. The sitting area was nice, the bed was comfortable and the rooms were plenty big... beyond that I can't say anything nice. The hotel is old and outdated and they are renovating but while they are doing so, I think they should lower the prices. There was a balcony door on my room which wouldn't lock (as a single female business traveler this is an issue), the bathroom was very run down and the fitness center is closed due to renovation. Other hotels normally move the gym equipment to a different room, not this hotel. You could take a shuttle to a local YMCA - but I didn't have time so I just did yoga in my room to an App on my iPhone. If you're going to pay this much money, you may as well spend a little more and stay someplace that is clean, quiet and modern. Maybe when this hotel has completed it's renovations, it will be worth the rate - but it isn't worth it today.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor away from the elevators to get the quiet zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
There are no renovations going on at the Hotel rather only in our parkade and basement areas are repairs being completed from the disastrous Alberta 2013 flood.
While our pool and workout area located in the Hotel’s basement is being repaired which we indicate on our Hotel website for prospective guests advance information, we are offering complimentary passes to a large modern YMCA facility several blocks away from our Hotel. We will even drive you over! We anticipate our modernized workout facility will be open in the next few weeks.
All our guest rooms have all been fully updated and offer twice the living space of any downtown Calgary Hotel room. We offer free daily breakfast and free guest room WIFI and coupled with our affordable room rates means the best hotel value in downtown Calgary.
We offer exceptional customer service and if this guest had called down to our front desk to get assistance on the balcony door lock issue we would have sent our terrific maintenance personnel immediately to the room and had the balcony door lock working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

2 nights and almost $800, so not worth it. Wireless internet goes in and out constantly, elevators going at all hours sounds like a train going through your bedroom, and tv cable went out very early on our second evening. We were told they were working on it but my 3 year old was not happy when it still was out at 11 am the next day.

Room Tip: Just don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying with us last weekend. Our cable TV was disrupted one evening during your stay due to our third party in room movie provider's malfunction offsite. Our complimentary guest room WIFI service has been undergoing an enhancement with better coverage, faster speed and bigger capacity. We are completing the work this week and with that we expect to be offering the best internet experience of any Hotel in downtown Calgary. Hopefully you and your family enjoyed our complimentary breakfast during your stay with us. Again, our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My first choice of places to stay when i travel to Calgary is the International Hotel, mainly because of the +15, proximity to my business, the price and most of all the rooms are large and give me a sense of home space. The service is also one of the great assets.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you need to hold meetings there is a table with 6 chairs and you could use apr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Calgary

Address: 220 4th Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#14 Business Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your International Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.