We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Suites Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added International Hotel Suites Calgary to your Saves list
International Hotel Suites Calgary
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend freebies!
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I was told I had a quiet room - found out that I am facing fourth avenue, can't hear yourself think over the sound of traffic. Totally incompetent staff when trying to get my room changed. Basically, so sad, too bad. You can pay over $200 per night, and can't get a good nights sleep.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    231
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
73
175
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was impressed with our room at the International Hotel in Calgary on Fourth St. I like the space throughout the suite. Plenty of room. The room was up to date and very nice. Good location to get around as well. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel is well situated for shopping and restaurants.Also well situated for Heritage Park, Calgary Zoo and the airport.Staff where very friendly.The rooms are very spacious and well furnished, with lovely views from the higher floors. We had an excellent meal at the Sky 360 restaurant in the Calgary tower, with beautiful views of the city as the sun went down and the lights came on.
On the down side the pool area looks a little shabby with no changing area

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors for spectacular views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June. One night after the flight in and three weeks later for one night when we flew out.
Arrived first night. Could check in right away, and received the room we had requested. Clean room and large. 1 double bed and a room with two singles. Why there is a balcony on the top floors I don't know.
Nice view to the right of the river.
The lift sound coming thru the walls is loud in the room. Could hear it the whole night.
The bathroom is tiny for such a big suite, more like a closet.
Morning breakfast were the service personal half asleep. Took forever to get served.
Downtown location is good, restaurants and bars nearby.
On the 2nd night we stayed there on the way back our reservation was misplaced or booked on the wrong day. Not sure what the problem was. Our paper work was correct, her computer was wrong. Finally give a room after 1/2hr wait. Everything good in the end.
We enjoyed the size of the rooms and the location, negatives are the loud lift in the night. We would book again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we first entered the lobby of this hotel in downtown Calgary, we weren't too impressed. However, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the room turned out to be fantastic. We were only here for two nights, but the hotel was a fine, and warm, place to return to. Conveniently located just a couple of blocks from the C train (LRT) and accessible via the enclosed pedestrian walkway that Calgary has around much of the downtown area. We'll stay here again on our next trip to Calgary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was quite large, equipped with microwave and refrigerator, kitchen appliances, the furniture was ok and, and with a fair price. The location is very good, with walking distance to most attractions, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has an all woman's floor for those of you travelling alone. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very nice room after Thinking it was an older hotel. Very clean, salon quality products, women's room had all the amenities you could need including a tassimo coffee machine in the room. Quite expensive but most of downtown is.
Room service was slow to answer the phone but the meals were great!
My only complaint is you have to pay for wifi!?! For 250-300+ a night wifi really should be included!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel Suites Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Suites Calgary

Address: 220 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel Suites Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your International Hotel Suites Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Suites Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.