We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great service esp. by Koko the Concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel Calgary to your Saves list
International Hotel Calgary
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 SHOPPING GIFT CARD
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location great service esp. by Koko the Concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

like the hotel, great bar and location. The rooms were spacious and excellent personal service by the koko the hotel concierge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    290
    104
    32
    19
See reviews for
86
198
36
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My friends and I stayed for a girls weekend the front desk clerk Karli was very helpful with choosing restaurants and night life to go to.
the beds very comfy and clean!!

would for sure recommend this hotel.
Great location!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after flying in from the UK and prior to taking the Rocky Mountaineer train to Vancouver.
Arrived at 10pm after delayed flight arrival, having used the airport shuttle for transfer.

A nice welcome at reception and then taken to one of the largest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in - big lounge area with comfortable seating, separate bedroom area with very comfortable queen bed and large wardrobe space and good bathroom. There was a small kitchenette with sink, fridge, microwave, kettle and coffee maker. And a very good sized dining table and chairs. No crockery or cutlery but that didn't matter to us as we were planning to eat out. But the facilitries would be good for re-heating food brought in.

The hotel is linked to the network of walkways and footbridges with connect many of the downtown buildings - conenient for getting about in very cold or wet weather.
Downtown shops and restaurants were only 3 or 4 blocks walk.
There is very good public transport in Calgary - the C-Train covers a wide area including the Stampede Park. Tickets for this can be purchased in books of 10 at a discounted price (ca$24 when we were there) and save fiddling around with exact change for fares each time.
This would be a great location for a longer stay in Calgary.

We researched nearby restaurants and ended up with an excellent meal in The Keg steakhouse in an adjacent hotel (the Westin).

Room Tip: ask for a higher flloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were a group of 12 that included 2 small children and 2 elderly grandmothers, all in town to attend a downtown wedding. Some had a 2-bedroom suite and others a 1-bedroom, all were immaculately clean and really big! We loved having the frig and microwave and were thrilled that room was supplied with Starbuck's coffee. The parking was easy and 'free' on the weekend; the staff were more than accomodating and on Mother's Day we took in the brunch at the 4th Avenue Cafe located within the hotel. The brunch was amazing in it's variety and quality; it far exceeded our expectations! We will definitely return to this hotel during any future visits to Calgary!

Room Tip: All great; they were very soundproof from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

I was part of a rocky mountaineer tour and we arrived with 2.5 hour delay due to aircraft technical difficulties.
When we arrived the bellboy was quick efficient and brought our luggage within 15 mins of our arrival. Konstantin gave a 110% to make sure I had everything and was very pleasant and polite, offered to help us find a great restaurant and places to visit.
Great work! Will be coming again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a great hotel for downtown location. very convenient to everything. The rooms were a great size and the bed was comfortable. What was dissapointing was that the toilet rim under the seat was absolutely disgusting stained. Only discovered this when sitting at the dining table which gave plain sight to the toilet . The bathroom door is right across the dining room and my husband left the door open and the toilet seat up. I was sitting down drinking my coffee and looked up and saw gross brown stains on the toilet. This was not a great sight to see while drinking my morning coffee. It also made me wonder how clean the room was. I did call down to housekeeping and they were well aware of this as they said, oh, it is a stain we can;'t get rid of. I will send someone up with some chemical cleaner to see if this will remove it. My thoughts were, if it was that badly stained and cannot be cleaned, shouldn't it be replaced ? My only other complaint was that our booking did not include parking and found that very expensive. We were staying for a saturday and a sunday night, checking out Monday morning. We were informed that parking on weekend would be, $8.00 /night but rate for Sunday escalated to $36.00 for sunday as this rate allowed you to park into monday which is a weekday. I would not have had an issue paying this amount if we were left our car parked for monday to shop downtown, however there should be some consideration given to people who check out monday morning and do not leave car in the lot.
Other than these two issues, the hotel itself is good for the price we were able to obtain it at.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass along comments regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all thank you for your business and we are happy your overall your stay with us was positive. After receiving your email we asked our housekeeping staff to inspect and replace any seats showing signs of age or stain.

The outside Parking contractor based on current downtown rates unfortunately sets parking costs. Most of our Twitter specials include free parking and Internet so please follow us on Twitter or Facebook to keep abreast of some great deals on stays with us throughout the year.

Once again thanks for the feedback, which we treat very seriously so as to keep improving every aspect of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times, every time i find the staff friendly , the rooms clean and very spacious. The room service is fast, and the quality of food is always very good. Located downtown near the princes island park and close to the calgary tower and other sights i always find it is easy to park my car and i am able to walk most every where. The hotel is connected to the walk way (plus 15 ) i think so on the colder days you can get around most of downtown with out leaving the comfort and warmth of the inside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Calgary

Address: 220 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#17 Business Hotel in Calgary
#30 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your International Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.