We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Calgary Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Calgary Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the valets to the front desk every single person we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. Great room on the pool deck and lots of towels. Close to everything downtown and the staff were very helpful pointing us in the right direction. Will definitely make this our only Calgary stop!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    106
    115
    54
    42
See reviews for
31
77
44
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Really clean modern comfortable rooms. Staff are incredibly attentive and professional. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looks great. Outdoor pool was clean and a perfect way to end the day. Valet parking underground - great service. Would definately stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Ramada recently for a conference. The Ramada's a little on the older side--exterior and lobby are not very flashy, and my bathroom was starting to show its age. But: my room was clean, quiet, and comfortable; I had free wifi, which was awesome (many fancier places don't have free wifi, and it's stupid--it's an easy way to make travellers happy); the service at the conference and throughout the hotel was courteous and helpful; the location was ideal (just a few blocks from shops, restaurants, sights). I had a very good stay! Tips: the hotel is just a few blocks from Prince's Island Park, on the river--a very nice walk on a nice day. If you need groceries, there's a Safeway within a few blocks as well. One reliably good restaurant to try that's also nearby: Earl's (it's a chain, but they have a nice variety of dishes on the menu).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I fly back and forth from Edmonton to Calgary on a weekly basis now for the past 4-5 months and i have stayed in the Ramada Downtown Calgary. i must say that the service i have received has been above and beyond what i have ever experienced before. The managers and staff are extremely friendly and very nice to deal with as they always have a smile on their faces. Any issues that i have had, i recommend you go and talk directly to Sharon and she will be always willing to help out anyone.
The food and service at the Hotel restaurant (Red Fox) is really good with a wide selection to choose from.

Room Tip: i find that all rooms are very close to the same, but do agree that the elevator is sometimes louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hubby and I decided we'd get away for the night and book a Jacuzzi suite. We called in and booked the reservation over the phone. We let them know that we had two small dogs we wanted to bring. The dogs were approved so we packed up and shipped out. Upon arrival we were told that the Jacuzzi suite was not a pet approved suite and that they would need to change our room. The husband argued with them and they gave us the room anyway - a plus for customer service, they were pretty good. When we got into the room we thought that it was somewhat ironic this room was not pet approved as it had clearly been a "smoking" room once upon a time - it smelled of stale cigarettes (did not like!)
The suite was on the 3rd floor, right next to the elevator. We filled up the Jacuzzi, but it clearly hadn't been used for a while as the water turned yellow from rust - whatever, we just emptied it and re-filled it with clear water. The Jacuzzi was nice, but also dated. The jets were working but the pressure turned off and on seemingly for no reason. One of the jets was not working at all.
I wouldn't be writing this review if it weren't for the utterly cr@p sleep we endured. There were drunks on our floor yelling throughout the night. The staff came up twice and tried to shut them down. They were eventually successful, but ultimately because we were so close to the elevators it didn't matter that there were loud drunks on our floor because we literally heard everyone get on and off the elevators throughout the night. The sound proofing in this hotel is utter cr@p. I would not stay in this room again - particularly at the price point of $275.

Room Tip: Do not stay close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Spent 5 nights here while on a recent business trip to Calgary. On check-in I found that they had allocated me a Jacuzzi room on the 9th floor (which I'm not sure is what I actually booked). The room was however next to the elevator and within half an hour I was sure that I would not be able to survive 5 nights of listening to the elevator whizzing up and down continuously. I requested that they give me another room away from the elevator. This was accomplished smoothly and with no problems. However upon checkout I found that they had charged me for the cost of the original room and they refused to revise the bill despite an extended discussion at the front desk. Since it was 5:30 am and I had a flight to catch I didnt have much option however I have to say that the whole episode left me feeling that I had been 'fleeced; by the hotel.

Rooms are reasonable for what you pay although the hotel is overall, a little tired.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Calgary Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.