We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, overly dirty, unfriendly management and suprise fees” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Save Saved
You added Ramada Calgary Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Calgary Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #61 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
“Overpriced, overly dirty, unfriendly management and suprise fees”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location was great but walking into the front doors you are greeted with the lovely smell of second hand smoke (first impression). Check in for two days with different prices that were over 50 dollars between two days. Made it to room and was greeted with poor lighting and had to grope around the place in darkness to find a switch of some sort. With lights on one didn't need white gloves to see the dust and dirt. Go the the washroom to clean up and was treated to cracked wall surround, loose and missing calking in the tub. For a room over 200$ a night I would have expected much more including at least a toothbrush and tooth paste. Shameful to say the least. Finally the check out surprise is the extra taxes, both tourist and something else. Asked the manager about this and was rudely told it was just taxes and that it would take too long to explain as he walked into his office and quickly shut the door. Both trainees of course had no clue and could not help. No I am not staying here anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Brian B:

Thank you for your comments and this opportunity to address them. It is curious that there was any tobacco smell detected in our facility as our property has been smoke-free for several years. In terms of guest room rates, our property is pleased to offer discounted weekend rates which are typically very well received and can offer a savings of as much as $50.00 per evening for those needing to stay over a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night. We apologize you were not afforded a proper explanation of the 12% taxes and fees administered by the Hotel and have since shared your observations with our front office staff. The property collects 5% GST, 4% Provincial Tourism Levy and 3% Destination Marketing Fee (DMF). The 2 taxes are mandated by the government. The DMF was established by the Calgary Hotel Association 4 years ago and participating hotels, under contract, agree to submit 3% for the marketing of Calgary as a destination. Taxes and fees are normally addressed at the time of reservation, at time of written confirmation, at registration and our outlined online. They are non negotiable however, and definitely, an employee at every level should have been able to reiterate the charges that appeared on your invoice. We have also passed on your housekeeping and maintenance comments and apologize for shortcomings experienced. We would have much preferred that you left us completely happy but sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    99
    45
    36
See reviews for
27
63
42
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here last week. I checked in on Thanksgiving Monday and left on Wednesday. the location was convenient and my room was "ok". I was disappointed to find the pub closed due to the holiday and found the customer service to be lacking. The best people working there were the guys in the parking garage who were friendly and helpful. I doubt I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear oc64Edmonton:
Thank you for choosing the Ramada on your visit to Calgary during Thanksgiving. During some holidays the Red Fox is indeed closed but our licensed Cheers Restaurant and Room Service remain operational regular hours. While we regret the inconvenience of the beverage room not being open, we do hope we were able to assist on another level and/or that you were able to locate a nearby establishment to your liking. Our customer care is normally a strong suit and we are happy the garage attendants were attentive. We sincerely apologize that all staff you encountered did not leave you feeling the same, good way. Your comments will be passed on and we appreciate your feedback which dedicates us to more attention paid to service delivery. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and it seems like it keeps going downhill. While some effort has been made to makeover the rooms, the common areas are awful. The room with the ice machine, even on the "Executive floor" is creepy and dirty. The bathrooms in the rooms are so small it is hard to get the door shut. The location is nice though and the staff are always pleasant, but for the price there are much nicer options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear C130:
Thank you for your valued comments. There are many stay options in Calgary and are especially grateful to returning guests who help us to achieve our usual high occupancy. The Ramada Hotel has refurbished guest rooms with new beds, carpeting and case goods and we will next be addressing guest corridors and public areas. Like you, we look forward to the positive changes ahead and we hope we will be able to share them with you at a future time you may need a Calgary room again. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't know what other reviewers are smoking, but if this hotel is ranked better than 3, these people have minimal expectations of a hotel in a major city and probably use AAA to get a $5 discount off the continental breakfast.

The only thing going for it, is location and that's exactly why they can charge what they do. Stick this hotel out at the airport or south MacLeod trail, and it's going for $99/ngt at best.

It's old, tired and dirty. Staff are junior. Most are ESL. Restaurant closed in the afternoon and I couldn't get room service if I held up a $20 bill. The front desk kid actually took my order. Got a call in my room 20 minutes later by someone who asked if I wanted fries or a salad with my burger.

The only reason why I stay here is because it's literally a 5 minute walk to my companys office.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Blake E:
We are sorry to learn you guest experience at our hotel was not to your satisfaction. Our property has had a lengthy and strong history in downtown Calgary delivering a clean and comfortable stay, competitive pricing and friendly, professional service. We take great pride in our normally efficient staff and regret you were shown anything less than our very best during your stay. Client feedback is always shared with our staff and we are grateful for your input. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived from Sheraton hotel in Vancouver and stayed in Ramada, for 4 nights.The Hotel is centrally located in main downtown area.Room's size is good and is provided with all basic amenities (free and fast WiFi). Hygiene conditions are also good. The valet parking is very convenient .The staff is very polite. When a small problem in the room occurred, they immediately fix it.This gave me an excellent impression about their attitude to the client. It was not Sheraton but I fully recommend it, because it is absolutely a value for money, proposition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Erato K:
A delightful review to read, thank you for your endorsement. We hope we can accommodate you again and thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been staying at the Ramada Calgary Downtown for a number of years now, while attending the annual Calgary International Blues Festival. The hotel is in a perfect location, about 15 minutes by foot from the festival grounds, yet close to shopping and sightseeing in the core of the city. Staff have been exemplary, the services top-notch and the accommodations always clean and comfortable. Quite frankly, I have never even considered looking into any other hotels in Calgary - the Ramada Downtown is my Calgary home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Brant Z:
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Ramada whenever your travels bring you to Calgary. We have a longstanding relationship with the Calgary International Blue's Festival and are pleased for the many who make the Ramada their home away from home, year after year. Your comments have been shared with our staff with our sincere thanks. We will look forward to your return next summer.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed recently in Sep13 at Ramada in Calgary. Hotel is conveniently located at the eighth street. Calgary train station at 6th and 7th street is nearby walkable distance from the hotel. Hotel is conveniently located from most of business office in downtown. Quality of breakfast as provided (not complimentary)in morning was good. However Hotel room is not so well maintained. The bathroom tiles were rough cheap quality tiles, black colour carpet in the room floor puts you off immediately when arrive in the hotel room. I have to change the hotel room as, no power adapter was found around the working desk. Also room facing on 7th avenue will have some noise from the Calgary train. There is good indian restaurant raj palace located at 6th avenue is walking distance from hotel

Room Tip: choose room facing 8th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Calgary Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Calgary Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.