We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub standard for Downtown Calgary hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Calgary Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Calgary Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sub standard for Downtown Calgary hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't know what other reviewers are smoking, but if this hotel is ranked better than 3, these people have minimal expectations of a hotel in a major city and probably use AAA to get a $5 discount off the continental breakfast.

The only thing going for it, is location and that's exactly why they can charge what they do. Stick this hotel out at the airport or south MacLeod trail, and it's going for $99/ngt at best.

It's old, tired and dirty. Staff are junior. Most are ESL. Restaurant closed in the afternoon and I couldn't get room service if I held up a $20 bill. The front desk kid actually took my order. Got a call in my room 20 minutes later by someone who asked if I wanted fries or a salad with my burger.

The only reason why I stay here is because it's literally a 5 minute walk to my companys office.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Blake E:
We are sorry to learn you guest experience at our hotel was not to your satisfaction. Our property has had a lengthy and strong history in downtown Calgary delivering a clean and comfortable stay, competitive pricing and friendly, professional service. We take great pride in our normally efficient staff and regret you were shown anything less than our very best during your stay. Client feedback is always shared with our staff and we are grateful for your input. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    106
    115
    54
    42
See reviews for
31
77
44
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived from Sheraton hotel in Vancouver and stayed in Ramada, for 4 nights.The Hotel is centrally located in main downtown area.Room's size is good and is provided with all basic amenities (free and fast WiFi). Hygiene conditions are also good. The valet parking is very convenient .The staff is very polite. When a small problem in the room occurred, they immediately fix it.This gave me an excellent impression about their attitude to the client. It was not Sheraton but I fully recommend it, because it is absolutely a value for money, proposition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Erato K:
A delightful review to read, thank you for your endorsement. We hope we can accommodate you again and thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been staying at the Ramada Calgary Downtown for a number of years now, while attending the annual Calgary International Blues Festival. The hotel is in a perfect location, about 15 minutes by foot from the festival grounds, yet close to shopping and sightseeing in the core of the city. Staff have been exemplary, the services top-notch and the accommodations always clean and comfortable. Quite frankly, I have never even considered looking into any other hotels in Calgary - the Ramada Downtown is my Calgary home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Brant Z:
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Ramada whenever your travels bring you to Calgary. We have a longstanding relationship with the Calgary International Blue's Festival and are pleased for the many who make the Ramada their home away from home, year after year. Your comments have been shared with our staff with our sincere thanks. We will look forward to your return next summer.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed recently in Sep13 at Ramada in Calgary. Hotel is conveniently located at the eighth street. Calgary train station at 6th and 7th street is nearby walkable distance from the hotel. Hotel is conveniently located from most of business office in downtown. Quality of breakfast as provided (not complimentary)in morning was good. However Hotel room is not so well maintained. The bathroom tiles were rough cheap quality tiles, black colour carpet in the room floor puts you off immediately when arrive in the hotel room. I have to change the hotel room as, no power adapter was found around the working desk. Also room facing on 7th avenue will have some noise from the Calgary train. There is good indian restaurant raj palace located at 6th avenue is walking distance from hotel

Room Tip: choose room facing 8th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It may not be the newest property around and may not have some of the frills but boy do these folks have hospitality nailed. I have been coming here about every 3 months for the past number of years and it keeps getting better. The staff are attentive and polite. Something is very right here because the turnover seems to be non existent. The same staff are there to welcome you every time you come back. I was particularly impressed with the Valet staff. They stole a page out of the Ritz Carleton training. Somehow they know your name and they use it- "welcome back Mr. so and so. How was your day Mr. so and so. Being recognized goes a long way to feeling welcome.The rooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. As a downtown Calgary property, I would highly recommend it and shout out its value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Doug S:
Thank you for the excellent review which was a pleasure to read and has been shared with our employees. You describe the type of guest experience we would like all hotel guests to have and we will do our utmost to continue the standard. Thank you for choosing the Ramada and we look forward to your return stays.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The Ramada is a decent hotel near Stephen Ave Walk & the Calgary Tower. We had the executive king bed room. The bed & room was fine but I found the bathroom a bit small. There was no tub & little things like a towel rack were missing. Also not much counter space beside the sink. The decor of the hotel is a dark green blue carpet & tiles near the elevator. This hotel needs an update but other than that our stay was great. The staff at the hotel are very polite, friendly, & helpful. When I tried to print our boarding passes at the business center & the toner was low the manager printed it in his office for us. Now that's service!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Calgary Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.