We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Save Saved
You added Ramada Calgary Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Calgary Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #63 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room size is ok. Hygiene conditions are fine. Room is provided with all basic amenities. Staff is polite. Food quality is good. Hotel is centrally located in main business area. Connectivity with public transport is good. It is a value for money proposition.

Room Tip: One may select room at higher floor & facing main road in order to have quiet & good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    100
    109
    49
    37
See reviews for
30
70
43
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a good hotel to stay for business trip. It is a good value proposition for business travellers. Hotel is centrally located in main business area of Calgary. It has all amenities, which business traveller needs. Food quality is reasonably good. Hygiene conditions & safety standards are pretty well maintained.

Room Tip: One may prefer a room at higher floors, facing main road for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and staff advised that our room would be ready in half an hour. The room was well appointed with two double beds, comfortable pillows and mattresses. Decor was okay and the room was very clean. Staff kindly organised a shuttle for our trip to the airport early the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, attractions, the free "downtown" transit. Room was clean, fair size with a balcony but small closet and limited storage space, 2-double beds, flatscreen TV, coffee maker (hidden inside the dresser), free Wi-Fi but no in-room safe or mini-fridge - we got a fridge by requesting one, great for keeping drinks and snacks. Breakfast was not included with our room but lots of cheap eateries around.

One thing, our room was cold, you can dial up the temp but it took like forever for the controls to respond, thank goodness for the blankets! Bed was firm, pillows too soft, but still got a good night's sleep.

Rates were reasonable for what you get, overall a good choice for downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Ramada Calgary Downtown many times. I am always treated well by the staff and I appreciate the prompt attention to my needs. Special shout out to Mylene the Reservations Manager who listened to my wish list and addressed everything. I will return continuously while I receive this service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was in Calgary for business and stayed for 4 week nights here. The rooms were spacious and all of the amenities were good. Balcony overlooking the pool was nice. Hallways and elevators are dated but the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Located close to restaurants and shopping were a definite convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croc country
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I think it's time for the Ramada to have a face lift. On the upside, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. The location was ok, walking distance to the mall etc and just up the road from the BACC. The restaurant was ok for brekky. On the downside, the place was quite drab, in general and the bathroom was just old. Also I needed to utilse their internet room as the website
i wanted to access required Adobe flash player, which my ipad didnt have, so couldn't read it. I sat infront of their old dinosaur box pc , tried to do what I needed and had the same problem. After spending 10mins (cos it was slow) trying to upload a free version onto their pc, I realise that their OS was just too antiquated to deal with it...Unbelievable. I then had to plead my case to the Marketing manager, who promptly jumped from her desk and allowed me to use her pc. thankfully. Job done it two minutes..arrrgh So, would I stay there again, probably not, unless I was penny pinching AND it was only for a night.

Room Tip: Don't open your curtains when naked, without looking. Our room was directly across the alley way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Calgary Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.