We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great stopover hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before getting coach to Banff to pick up Rocky Mountaineer, Hotel offers free shuttle to and from airport. Room was good size and bar food very good and well priced. Decent sized swimming pool was very refreshing plus small gym and we had an excellent breakfast before getting our lift to airport. Did not actually venture from hotel but would certainly stay again if visiting Calgary

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear BADGEREssex_UK,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Clarion Hotel with us.
I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and hopefully we have you again as our guest when you are back in Calgary!

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    103
    74
    39
    52
See reviews for
72
86
34
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room was decent, kind of what you would expect out of every hotel. Service was average as well, they smiled and stuff like that. Everything was pretty much what you would expect out of a hotel. Simple and nothing complex. The fitness center was small but cool. Its surrounded by glass and inside there is a cooler with towels inside it. The pool is small like every hotel as well as the hot tub. But one thing that I really liked about this hotel was the air conditioner. It was extremely quite for a hotel A/C. I slept like a baby every night I stayed here. The lobby is very large with a nice sky roof. Problem is that there weren't any stars. The only complaint I have is the location, it is right next to a road. But if you get a room facing away from the road it will be fine.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear CYWongX,

Thank you for taking your time to write a great review about your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had a good time at our hotel during your stay.

Hope to see you again as our guest shortly!


Sincerely,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just returned from a trip to the Calgary area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms (2) were clean and quiet. I would not hesitate to bring our little princess (Cleo) again. I would recommend it to anyone that needs to stay in Calgary. big thumbs up to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel in a pet friendly room.

We try to accommodate our guests with our superior services as we are their home away from home and it looks like you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The week of August 12th seemed to be extremely busy in Calgary and the good hotels were full! We ended up reserving at the Clarion for 1 night. When we arrived it was obvious from the outside that it was an older hotel but that did not bother us as we have had enjoyable stays in old hotels.
We were assigned a room on the 4th floor on the 16Ave side. There both the ice machine and the pop machine were out of service. The room was clean. We left immediately to meet up with friends and family and did not return till quite late. That is when we found that the mattresses were the sleep number kind with remotes to control individual comfort levels. HOWEVER the remotes did not work. The first bed was as hard as a rock. The second one seemed to adjust ok, but when we laid down the set levels could not be maintained. The street noise was so loud that we thought maybe the patio door was open, but it wasn’t. So we did not have a restful night which was important as we had quite a bit of driving to do the next day. When we got to our next stop we found that we had forgotten the charger for the cell phones plugged into the wall at the Clarion. We called them about it and were told to call back in an hour. We called back and was then told that housekeeping was gone for the day and we needed to call back the following day. When we called again this time the clerk took our phone number and promised to call us back within the hour. After waiting for 3 hours we called again and they had retrieved the charger. They could not send it to us by regular mail and so we agreed to them expressing it at our cost. The clerk promised again to call back with the tracking number. Guess what…it has been two days and they have not called.
We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The owners need to invest in some major improvements in both the building and the staff if they want to stay in business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear 798larrym,

Thank you for taking your time to share your unsatisfied experience at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I will investigate further and see what exactly happened.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way home from the okanagan. We didn't have a reservation but there were rooms available even though it was a busy summer day. The price was right as well.. Calgary hotel rooms are traditionally overpriced especially in the summer months...this one didn't break the bank. We found the room to be quite clean, air conditioning worked Just a nice hotel over all... The area on first glance will seem to be a little sketchy.... but we had no problems. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear dixiebelle,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Your review is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This is the third place I have stayed in Calgary, one other downtown and one more in the airport area and this is the only one I would stay at again. It looks a little cheesy outside, but don't let that fool you. Inside it is very lovely with a nice staff, bar, and restaurant. The location is very easy to find from the Deerfoot and easy access to downtown for you Expo fans. Also, Denny's is right next door for those who don't want to eat in the restaurant.

We had a suite on the 10th floor and it was enormous! Especially for the reasonable price. Clean and comfortable with a huge dressing area, bar, and living room.

I was here for the weekend of Horror Con hosted in the Clarion and it was so nice to be able to stay in a decent place and have the con going on right downstairs. The staff was very friendly to us and didn't act funny about us parking our hearses out in the parking lot or anything like that. I hope that we can return in the future. I will definitely be looking here come Calgary Expo time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear AprilinAlberta,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review on your most recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that your event went well and you enjoyed your stay.

The Calgary Horror Con was one of the awesome events we had in the hotel. There were lots of stuff that surprised other guests like hearses parked outside and the giant monster on Saturday coming behind the guests. It was a great event and we hope to have you guys again! :)


Thank you again and see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ashley Lee
Guest Services Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

There were burns in the carpet from cigarettes however, our room was very clean. Someone left water in our room but we did not drink it because we were not sure of the cost of the water. The heating & cooling system only had cool air coming from it and some nights were a little chilly. Denny's restraunt is within walking distance from the hotel, so we ate breakfast there almost everyday. They have a senior menu that is affordable and healthy. Lots of stores and attractions within driving distance from this hotel. We visited the Calgary Zoo, The Royal Tyrrell Dinosaur Museum in Drumheller AB, Canada and The Drumheller HooDoos which was alot of fun for our 3 grandsons. We also visited Mio Sushi Stone Grill in Airdrie, AB for a Japanese dinner. The food was wonderful and our time with family was enjoyed. July 19 - 26th, 2014

Room Tip: If you are alergic to animals just let the hotel staff know about this. The hotel has rooms availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley Y L, Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Janiemae195,

Thank you so much for taking your time to provide a feed back on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you stay again soon!

Sincerely,

Ashley Lee
Guest Service Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.