We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Calgary
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way home from Mexico. When we arrived at the airport we called the hotel to request their shuttle service. We were told that the shuttle would be at the airport in 15-20 minutes. After 30 minutes we called again and were told that the driver was in traffic and should be there in 5-10 minutes. After 15 more minutes we called again and were told that there must have been a mix-up and that the driver would be there shortly. So finally after 50 minutes the shuttle arrived. He tried to give us a song and dance about the construction around the airport and how he had to go the long way around. It took us less than 20 minutes to get to the Clarion and the next morning it also took less than 20 minutes to get back to the airport. The hotel itself was less than average and the heating system in the room was very noisy. Since it took so long to get to the hotel and we had to get up early to get back to the airport, the noise didn't allow for us to get much sleep.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

My sincere apologizes that your stay was not a comfortable one. Airport shuttle times can very from time to time, all depending on traffic, time of day, time of call and weather. We do try our best to be at the airport within 20 - 30 minutes and I realize this day we failed. I have passed your comments on to our shuttle drivers and we have used this as a training tool. We certainly appreciate your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    114
    84
    50
    54
See reviews for
80
96
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is discusting it has an odour that is unbelievable. I could not sleep because of it. I ordered a jacuzzi suite. I had to move twice since the staff didnt no what room that was. The refrigerator must have not been cleaned in years the stench made me gag. Honestly would have been better off in a tent . Nastyyyyyyyy

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, making it a less than perfect experience. We take your comments seriously and we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel came up on hotwire as equal to the holiday inn across the street. This hotel is far inferior, we stayed in both to and from our Mexican vacation. In the Clarion the wall paper was peeling, the carpets old, stained and outdated. And the beds should have been replaced a long time ago. There are impressions in the mattress were bodies have compressed the mattress. The airport shuttle was a 20min wait and then took us on a tour to the private airport. The driver was texting while driving! The front lobby is nice but the receptionist was a little confused and we took at least 15 min to check in. If you are on a budget cross the street and stay at the holiday inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very sorry that this was the experience you had while staying with us. This is not our usual standard and I can assure you that I have reviewed your feedback with our team so that we may improve. Once again my sincere apologies and we hope that you will try us again and give us an opportunity to provide you and your family with a better experience. Our hotel is also under new ownership and they have plans to have our hotel fully renovated within the next 18 months. We are looking forward to this and hope that you will come back to see us after these changes have taken place.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The front staff were excellent but it went down hill from there. As soon as I stepped off the elevator on my floor, there was a dusty, or some kind of odor. Walls were banged in. When I entered my room, it smelled like old fabric that hasn't been washed or dry cleaned in years. Décor is dated to be kind, like 70's or 80's, wallpaper peeling in the bathroom, tub surface is peeling, lots of grunge between the tiles in corners and in the tub area. What else can be said? Oh, the dial a bed mattress is horrible. It's either so hard or it feels like you're sleeping in a trough. The highway traffic is non-stop, nothing can be done about the location but if the interior was better, that could be overlooked. They do have decent flat screens and channel selections though.
In the two nights there, a fridge and microwave were parked in the hall. No one bothered to move them. The hotel needs a complete overhaul. I don't know if they run the attached restaurant but it was less than stellar. Grumpy waitress for breakfast service, way to much money for what they served. Went to Denny's next morning.
Definitely a no to a second stay. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.
Our establishment is currently under new ownership and they have planned to have fully renovated within the next 18 months. We want to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however should you change your mind and decide to stay with us after the upgrade and renovations we would appreciate your business and any critisim you may have at that time and we will strive to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel faces the airport and a busy highway so both sides are very noisy. Average rooms, average shower, horrible beds! We were told they were replacing these beds last year when they were the Radisson, but they still have these dial-a-number beds that leak. When we checked in, there were dishes left on trays in the hallway (3 pm Friday). At 1 pm Saturday, same dishes still sitting there Convention facilities are nice, need more frequent checks of the restrooms - yuck! Front desk staff is understanding, but needs more cooperation from other staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel is currently under new ownership and they have plans to have the hotel fully renovated within the next 18 months which will definitely make a difference to the comfort and quality of our hotel. I apologize that you did not enjoy the bed in your room. A lot of our rooms have the Sleep Number beds however we have a large number of rooms without them. Should you decide to stay with us again please request that you do not have a Sleep Number bed to see if that suits your comfort level. We appreciate your business here at The Clarion and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked a family room. I was a very good size. Had plenty of room for everyone. We faced 16 Ave. It is really very noisy from traffic on the sixth floor. The do not offer a breakfast with the room. There is a restaurant on site. The check out is noon, which is nice if you wish to sleep in. I would just like to say when you are booked for 4 people, please leave coffee and all else for 4 people. We hate having to ask for extra to be delivered, or chasing down housekeeping for more.
Would we stay again.......yes probably.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our family suite. Having sufficient supplies in your room based on the number of people per room is something that can definitely make your stay more accommodating and it is a suggestion that we will pass on to our Housekeeping staff, we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you for deciding to stay with us here at The Clarion and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Formerly the Crossroads, this Inn is billed as an airport hotel, but it is a good distance from the airport. In the days when Barlow Trail was a route to the airport it was relatively convenient; however with that access route now closed it is hard to see how it can be billed as an airport hotel (except for the much appreciated free shuttle). With a car one could get around Calgary but on foot there was nowhere to go but the Denny's across the road.

Although the lobby looks pleasant the rooms are disappointing. The surface was patchy in the bath, and the general decor was tired and in need of refreshing. There was no fridge etc as advertised ("in some rooms", I noticed later). I had a good view but the hotel is right by a major route and the traffic noise started very early.

A pleasant surprise was the dining room, where the breakfast and lunch options were wholesome and very tasty. The staff in general were efficient and friendly.

The main convention room we used was above the dining room, and there appeared to be no access other than by climbing two flights of stairs. I didn't inquire but one wonders about accessibility for those with mobility problems. The dining room itself was up a short flight of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We want to apologize for the inconvenience that our loacation in the city may have caused during your stay. Our hotel was formerly billed as an Airport hotel however with recent rebranding and new ownership we have taken that bill off of our name due to this fact. The online sites however have not updated fully which is deceiving for first time guests as well so again we would like to apologize.
The Skyline room, the room in which you attended your meeting does in fact have other means of access other than the stairs which is via a staff elevator that is used in the case of persons that have difficulties with mobility. We want to apologize for any information that was not relayed to you during your stay and should you decide to stay with us again we will be more than happy to answer any additional questions or address any other concerns you may have.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
BEST WESTERN Airport Inn
#50 of 103 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Airport
Days Inn Calgary Airport
#28 of 103 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.