We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I arrived here pretty jaded after a road trip from Vancouver, do this was just what the doctor ordered.

Room was big and clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern and the travel hair dryer excellent.

The bar food was also excellent, although the service a little slow, but it suited our needs.

Wine list poor, but I have been spoilt with fine Canadian wines during our road trip, so it wasn't the end of the world.

We didn't have time to use the pool, so can't comment on that.

Room with two Queen sized beds, dinner, wines, night caps and b/f for a little over $200 for one night.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write in regards to your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our team members provided great service and value for your visit. We are currently reviewing our wine list, and look forward to launching a new selection shortly.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    103
    74
    39
    52
See reviews for
72
86
34
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked the Radisson through Hotwire and when I saw the hotel name my jaw dropped. Based on the TripAdvisor reviews I was terrified to stay there - thinking the worst.
When I checked in I let the front desk clerk (Karan) know my hesitation to stay. I did almost eat the room and stay elsewhere. The Radisson in it's day was a great hotel. It is an older hotel but from my experience they are trying to provide a decent stay for the price. No it is not the Hyatt or Marriott downtown but it is a decent hotel. No bugs, furniture in fair shape, number bed interesting. Yes the room doors do not go to the floor and you can hear all the comings and goings in the hall. And if someone above you chooses to move furniture, you hear that too.
Would I stay again - possibly for an overnight. Not for an extended period of time. I have a favourite in the area and they are less than the Radisson.
As I mentioned, Karan did his best to make sure I had a good room and was comfortable. The cafe clerk did her best to make me a nice latte when I left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing. We are happy to see that we were able to provide you with great service and value, and have left you with a positive impression of our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you look at downtown and the costs associated with the parking you would surely want something cheap. Radisson doesnt weigh heavy on your pockets. I booked for a single King size bed with a sofa-bed option. The room was good but the beds had a bad odour. We did not use the hotel shuttle nor their restaurant so wont be able to comment. Its not too far from downtown. I would prefer a place as such as downtown is too crowded.There is a Shell petrol station next to the Radisson airport hotel and there are also some options for food - in addition to those provided in house. Only a few minutes walk from the hotel there is a local bus which takes you to a train/ tram station if you like to go downtown without car or taxi. about 2.75$ i gues for a one way. Internet is not the best. There are some restaurants around. Some of the other reviewers have explained it much better See Reisekurre. Overall a 4

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing, and we are happy to see that you found value in our location and facilities/services. We will review the comments in regards to the bed and internet, ensuring everything is appropriate and appreciate hearing it from you.
Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards,
Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here once and it was good. But since then the hotel check in has been just awful. From upping the price of room from booking amount to relagating people with pets to ground floor only...like we are undesirables or something. This place pretends to be better than it actually is. Now perhaps it is different management or just terrible clerks but things sure used to be different when we stay near top floor with dog and were charged what was agreed on. So BEWARE!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing, as it is very important for us to know if we have not met your needs, and apologize that we were not able to do so with your last visit. As you mentioned, you have enjoyed our hotel before, and know we can regain your trust.
It is important to note that we try to assign rooms on the ground floor for pets, due to the fact that you can walk-out of the rooms from the patios, making it easier to walk pets if needed outside. Should this not be a preference, arrangements can always be made in advance.
Unfortunately, I am not familiar with your room pricing comment, however, would be happy to discuss. Please feel free to contact me directly, mberube@silverbirchhotels.com, or by telephone, 403-250-6050.
I thank you again for sharing, and look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here before but this time we had folks partying close by our room. Fiday night was a bit rowdy but Saturday was very loud. After almost 3 hours and 3 calls to the front desk, we were told the police had been called. By this time it was 4 am and we were there on business & had to be up early. It should NOT take 3 hours to shut down rowdy guests. Obviously poor management. We did get the Saturday night taken off of our bill. But as far as we are concerned, we will be finding another hotel to stay at on our next trip to Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share. It is dissapointing to hear that noise from other guests have impacted your overall feeling, and for that we are truly sorry.
Overall, we work hard on policies focused to deter issues as you suggested, but we are sometimes the victim of guests who return from a great evening out, etc... Depending on the time of night and employee safety, we may rely on police support, and can be a lenghty delay in arriving at the hotel.
Hopefully, you can see from our other contributors, this is not common for us, and would really appreciate another opportunity, as you have enjoyed us before.
Please feel free to contact me directly, and would be happy to assist.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location:
The hotel is located approx 15-20 min drive from the city centre and approx 10-15 min drive from the airport. It is not what we would call the close vicinity of the airport main terminals. The hotel has a shuttle to and from the hotel so easy transport is possible. We did not arrive by plane so we have not tested the shuttle service. The Radisson airport hotel is easy accessible from the highway.

Service:
Our check in went smooth. We got the information we requested.

Rooms:
The room is of good size and it has balcony. The room was clean and has a big flatscreen tv. It has ordinary hotel amenities, but no fridge nor microwave. The lobby and entrance of the Radisson Airport hotel gave a fairly good impression. We were however a bit disappointed over the rooms and other parts of the hotel. Our impression is that the hotel is a bit worn down. The hallways seem a little old and the rooms - particularly the bathroom in our room - could need a refurbishment.

Surrounding areas:
There is a Shell petrol station next to the Radisson airport hotel and there are also some options for food - in addition to those provided in house. Only a few minutes walk from the hotel there is a local bus which takes you to a train/ tram station if you like to go downtown without car or taxi. The ride fare is now in July 2.75 $ for one way ticket and a little over 8 $ for a one day card. For more infor about public transport use www.calgarytransit.ca.

Comments:
#1 - Noise: we recommend you to ask for a room NOT facing the road in front of the hotel. We got a room with a very nice view (if standing on the balcony) towards downtown Calgary, but the noise from the most of the time heavy trafficked road was a annoying if we wanted to keep the balcony door open. We wanted to do so in order to have fresh air and no noisy aircondition. However we had to close the door because of traffic evening and morning. In addition we were "unlucky" because some times the aircraft flew in or took off in a direction which created extra noise.

#2 - internet: Wifi in our room did not work to our satisfaction. It could be that our room has bad coverage because it was in the end of the hallway. However we expect that hotels which provide say they have Internet provide a fully functional one. We experiences several times that internet "threw us out" and we had to log on again. It as also unusually slow most of the time. Maybe we just had bad luck with Internet, but please be aware that you could in a worst case scenario experience some fuss. If you have a regular machine use the internet cable on the Internet cable on the table. That is much better and faster.

#3 - attention to details: We noticed that dirty dishes placed in the hallways after room service remained there for a longer period of time. We also noticed that the vending machine on our floor showed empty for several days. We called guest service to make them aware, but they knew but could not tell when that would be replenished. They asked us to use one of the other on other floors. Fair enough, but this unfortunately contributes to our impression of a certain lack of attention for details.

We have stayed a several Radisson hotels before, but unfortunately this one did not live up to our expectations of the brand. We do question the value and we think the price was not worth it. If you get a good price it might feel different.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you taking the share your comments in regards to your stay with us. Your time is very much appreciated for the details provided.
We are conveniently located at mid-point between the airport and the city center as described, with easy acces to many nearby services and local transportation. As such, when originally opened, the number of airport hotels were limited and have since grown exponentially. We continue to maintain complimentary shuttle service, providing one of the more shorter routes, along with very competitive rates.
In striving for operational excellence, our team work very hard to exceed all of our guest's expectations, and thank once again for your feedback. We look forward to being able to welcome you again.

Regards,
Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had an excellent check in experience. The room was great. The best was the food and beverage......had beverages, dinner and breakfast every day, not your typical fare. Very much enjoyed my stay. I booked online and was given the option of an upgrade.....that included breakfast and welcome drink. The breakfast was amazing. It is well worth the upgrade fee.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an upgraded room with breakfast......major value for the minor upgrade charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and a great visit to our city during the Stampede!
We look forward to seeing you again, during your next holiday through Calgary.

Regards,

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.