We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to a very long trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful end to a very long trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Radisson was booked as my overnight, returning from Europe, before I headed on to my hometown from Calgary. I'd been in transit for 27 hours with no sleep. All I wanted was to get to the hotel, have no hassles and get some sleep. My plane was late, so my arrival at the hotel wasn't until 12:30 am. I was signed in with absolutely no hassle whatsoever and was in my room about 15 minutes later.

The rooms were clean, spacious and looked pretty darned good after a long trip back to Canada. The beds were sleep number beds, although I couldn't seem to get mine to work. No worries as the bed was comfortable without changing any settings.

The next morning, I had to take the shuttle back to the airport early. Because of road construction the complimentary shuttle was delayed. The hotel sent me to the airport by taxi at their expense so that I wouldn't miss my flight. This was very much appreciated.

I stayed at this hotel at the tail end of Stampede Week and despite what must have been a crazy busy time, my stay was very comfortable, friendly and relaxing.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank for sharing your experience! It is always great to hear from our guests and being able to share your feedback with our team members here at the hotel.
Hope you make it back soon, and looking forward to welcome you again.

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    72
    38
    47
See reviews for
70
82
34
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I can't say enough about the staff and service.
Very clean rooms, wonderful personal attention .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your response. We are committed to providing 100% Guest Satisfaction, and I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Multiple phone calls and the shuttle was supposed to pick us up, we eventually took a cab and the shuttle had never left the hotel at all, we were lied to and there was no remorse about it. So if they are willing to lie about the shuttle what is stopping them lieing about everything else. Honesty is the best policy and this hotel doesn't have it! Bottom line, don't stay here, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments in regards to your experience with our Shuttle. As one of the only Hotels in the area that provide a Complimentary, 24-hour service, we know how important that is to some of our Guests. My apologies that we were unable to committ to this Service that we offer and somehow were not able to meet your expectations.
I look forward to the opportunity again to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a layover at Calgary airport. We called and were told that if we stayed at bay 11 the shuttle would be there in 20-30 minutes. We waited along with another couple who had called for over 35 minutes. We called back and were told that it would be there in 15 minutes, so we waited. After 15 minutes we finally decided to share a cab. The cab then charged us $40 for a 10 minute ride to this hotel. When we pulled up to the hotel we saw the shuttle that should have been on its way to pick us up. Instead, nothing. there was a single front desk attendant on duty and he said he had talked to him when we called, and just kinda stopped at that now our 6 hours of sleep after 9 hours of flying had turned into 4.5. The front desk attend said sorry, and that was that.
I was shocked to get a queen bed and not a king, and it was a choose a number bed which means it is like an air mattress. The rooms were clean but very small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. As one of the only Hotels in the area that provide a Complimentary, 24-hour Airport Shuttle Service for our Guests, we know that that is sometimes the deciding factor when making the choice of where to stay. I apologize that you and your party were mis-communicated to and left so long at the Airport awaiting pick-up, especially after such a long travle day! Your comments have been reveiwed and used as ongoing coaching and training tools for our Associates.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Good hotel very good beds. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Late check out was no problem. We asked how to get to the nearest mall and they offered to drive us. We had a late flight that day so they drove us to the movie theatre and picked us up after. They were more than helpful except for one. Sarah who felt the need to lecture us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roomsman, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is our Goal to search for ways that we can go Above and Beyond what our Guests expect from us and I am pleased to see that (save one experience) we were able to do that for you.

Amy Welder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Everything was good, clean, nice room, good location, helpfull stuff and good rate.
the only disadvantage if the noice from the road. however, overall it was good weekend stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. As full service hotel located along a major intersection of the Trans Canada Highway, we are indeed faced with heavier traffic flows. With this in mind, we can easily accommodate our guests on the North side upon specific request, where there is a significant reduction in traffic. A fun fact however, that many guests prefer some traffic noise, as it helps them fall asleep while away from home...

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was a bit surprised with the lobby that needs a serious update! Otherwise the room was pretty much what you would expect. Clean, tidy, boring. Had to take a shuttle from airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRadissonCalgary, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for bringing up your feelings in regards to our lobby, as we are currently working towards completing a redesign of the current furnishing, and look forward to completing this project by the end of November. I am pleased to hear that your experience otherwise was satisfactory and found our service 5/5.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Marcel Berube
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 2120-16th Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.