We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Calgary University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Calgary University to your Saves list
Aloft Calgary University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2359 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn University) (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Terryville, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The front desk staff provided the best service a hotel guest could ask for. The hotel staff knows exactly where all the close restaurants are and where to go for sight-seeing. I was greeted by my first name every morning and every evening when I returned. Near a train station, the hotel is very close to downtown Calgary and local colleges.

My favorite part? Getting a $5 hotel credit for every night I declined housekeeping services (they did continue to replenish my coffee which was great). That $5 credit fed me a delicious breakfast every morning and a candy bar for a late night snack. I wish all hotels would offer this. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
8
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have had a couple of stays here now. Good access to downtown. Service has always been A1. Aloft style is very "IKEA". Not for all but the beds are comfortable. A little bit more firm than those found at Sheraton or Westin.
Complimentary breakfast kind of underwhelming. I believe it is only free for the month of December for platinum guests.
Unique bar/lounge area with board games, pool table and many couches separated into living room style arrangements. Would be nice if travelling with a group.
On site Indian restaurant Swirl was very good and reasonable value.
Pool and fitness facilities are standard. The pool is surrounded by many lounge chairs and could be a good place to relax.
All in all very good and certainly a great alternative to $300 plus rooms found in downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just an old motel refitted!! Excited to try this new place but disappointed at start when they asked for 10.00 extra to park inside and told if i was downtown i would pay more!! Well I'm not downtown and a few doors down its Free. The room was small with the king bed, Bathroom and entry floor very cold not good to wakeup too. HVAC very poor set at 74 and blowing straight at left side of bed had to switch sides with wife cause she was cold. Next time i will pay less an stay in a New Motel!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay!
Right by c-train station.
Clean, funky rooms.
Excellent fitness facilities that even include spin/TRX classes if you want them.

Amazing breakfast free for Starwood members. Staff even gave us a free chocolate bar :)

Marisa in housekeeping was a gem, stopped to chat with us, super friendly!

The ONLY issue was the in-room AC/heating unit (room 348) - couldn't change the angle so it was blowing directly on us the whole time, and it didn't seal to the exterior, so we were getting a -20°C draft if we were too close to it!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team was able to make you feel comfortable and welcome throughout your stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the New Year! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As part of the SPG hotels, Aloft Calgary is a good option to accumulate points by staying at a hotel that is well connected to downtown Calgary through the rail system and well as taxi. Expect to pay about $15 for a cab ride or $3 for the train ride. Other SPG hotels tend to be more expensive so if you are in a budget this may be a good option. It has a small swimming pool, a good exercise room, a nice bar and dining room. Breakfast is not that great, it's more like a grab and go type of deal, although this may be really convenient when you are in a rush. Accommodations are in like new condition.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This hotel is a great location with the Ctrain about a minute away. For cold nights like tonight, it's great that they offer underground parking for an additional price too. The room and hotel décor is lovely, with a modern and sleek feel. I was here only for two nights for business and did not get to try the pool and workout room, but they looked great. The pool changes colours too, which is neat!
If you like spin classes, there's also a spin studio located right in the hotel and offered to hotel guests, for their first time, at a discount price.
The management is friendly and fantastic. Dealt with an elephant above me the first night and decided to let it slide. The next night, yup, you guessed, the elephant returned, sounding like he was stomping back and forth in his room. Deciding I could not take one more night of this, I called the front desk just to ask them to ask said elephant to tone it down.e Of course after I called the frickin' stomping stopped!! Haha. But it was very courteous of the front desk to call me to let me know he did not hear anything on the third floor and apologized once again and offered complimentary breakfast. This is just great customer service. A definite return for me.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the Aloft and have been at this property before. I travel frequently and try to stay with Starwood Hotels whenever possible. The staff are always very welcoming and I like how they recognize me and remember me when I check in. I am an SPG loyalty member as I love collecting the points and redeeming for free nights. I don’t typically eat at the restaurant but will stop by the bar for a drink which the bartenders have already waiting for me.

This trip was a bit different as there were events in the hotel, causing the hotel to be very busy. The first night the hotel bar was so busy, I think the local football team was playing… The bar had a live DJ and unfortunately as the night went on the noise seemed to only get louder. I feel the DJ should have stopped earlier in the night for those who were not at the bar and wanted to get some rest. Unfortunately there was a fire alarm very early in the morning which ended up being a mechanical device that was smoking. It was a nuisance but better to be safe than sorry and know the hotel takes this seriously. The manager of the hotel spoke with the hotel guests and I appreciated the situation being explained to me.

I enjoyed the Halloween event that was held during the second night. It was much more organized even though there seemed to be more people as the event quieted down earlier than the night before. I usually feel like I have to go downtown to a bar for a fun night out but it was nice to have the hotel host an event.

I plan on staying with this hotel again, as I love the location and the staff are welcoming. Overall I had a great stay despite the noise. Just hoping that the hotel turns the music down earlier but still continues to hold events with live music as that is what brings me to stay at the Aloft.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Calgary University

Address: 2359 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
#27 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Calgary University 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Calgary Universityis the newest and hippest addition to the Calgary area. Located just steps from the University of Calgary, we're a convenient choice when you're looking for Calgary University hotels. Aloft Calgary University perfectly blends design, style, technology and comfort offering a forward-thinking alternative for the savvy traveler. Check out our list of things to do in Calgary including shopping, dining and sightseeing, all just a few short miles from our door. Aloft is the perfect choice for your next trip to Calgary!Far from ordinary, Aloft Calgary University offers guests a new experience with a fun scene. Enjoy a glass of vino or a signature cocktail at the W XYZ Bar, play a game of pool in our Re:mix lounge or just surf the internet with free WiFi throughout the hotel. If cravings start to kick in, explore Re:fuel by Aloft℠, our 24/7 grab and go pantry.Once you've had a fill of our Re:mix lounge area, head up to our loft inspired guest rooms where you can recline and relax. Our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead and custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, will help our Calgary accommodations make you feel at home. In case you need to get some work done or watch all the latest videos you've downloaded, our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42" LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Calgary
Quality Inn Calgary
Calgary Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Calgary University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.