We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those little extras make all the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Those little extras make all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were in Calgary for the Stampede and stayed here with family visiting from the UK. We arrived quite a few hours prior to check-in (as we needed to be at the Stampede Ground ready for a 1:15 p.m. start) but the gentleman on reception was extremely accommodating and we were able to check-in to one of our two booked rooms immediately. Our rooms were king size superior rooms and had welcome little extras, such as robes, fridge and larger than average bottles of shampoo, conditioner etc. (with smaller samples also available). We just missed the breakfast buffet next morning, so ordered from the menu and the food was superb, keeping us satisfied until we arrived back at home later that night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that the Front Desk was able to accommodate your early check-in. We hope you will consider the Coast Plaza Hotel again whenever in Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    67
    25
    24
See reviews for
50
35
22
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room (double queens) was fine, cleanliness fine. Major complaints were with reliability of the airport shuttle and food/location.
When we checked in last Friday at 4:30 PM we asked about getting shuttle from airport after dropping our rental car off that night. We were told shuttle is at airport on regular schedule and my husband could be picked up at 5:30. When he called hotel at 5:10 from car rental at airport, he was told no, we've canceled the 5:30 shuttle, nothing until 6:30. They eventually sent a shuttle to pick him up but not until close to 6:00. Same thing next morning -- we reserved the 5:00 AM shuttle; came downstairs at 4:55 only to be told no, no, shuttle isn't until 5:15. Very frustrating that you can't rely on whatever they tell you! Again, they eventually found a driver and got us there but who needs the aggravation at 5 AM?

Hotel restaurant is extremely limited and expensive and front desk staff were unable to provide alternate suggestions -- no menus or take-out suggestions - hotel is located in a wasteland of parking lots, big highways, fast-food. We eventually found a fantastic Chinese restaurant in a strip mall across the road, 5-7 min. walk, but hotel staff I'm sure has no idea it's there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the poor service you experienced and have alerted the Front Desk of your concerns. I hope whenever in Calgary again you will give us the opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had our worst stay of any hotel ever! The location was great and front lobby looked fancy and at first we were very impressed. We had spent a lot of money (for us) on this hotel. It was a gift to my daughter so we could spend our last night together before she flew out the next morning for a 7 week mission trip.
The first room we were in had a leaking roof. then they found another room for us and when we went in we found a monster airconditioner in the corner. Obviously the room one did not work. the thing was so loud we couldn't sleep through it. we decided to run it for a few minutes to see if it would cool down the room enough we could sleep. It ran for a few minutes then blew a breaker turning it off and the light in the room. My husband went to complain again and told them we had been very patient but we did expect a discount for our trouble. They informed us that because we booked with an internet booking agency they would not return any money to us. They moved us again - ACROSS THE HALL - to a room with no leaking roof and broken airconditioner. Obviously this hotel reserves its worst rooms for customers that do not book directly through them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not comfortable and have brought in a professional electrician to look into the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

When our plans changed at the last minute, we had to find a hotel for one night at the last minute...at the beginning of the Stampede. Booked on line at hotels.com, $200 for 2 queens. Everything went smoothly. Spotless room, lots of free parking, one elevator out of order. Lots of people milling around in lobby in afternoon, not sure why. Would recommend and would stay again. Did not eat here or use pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and that we were able to accommodate your sudden change of plans. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 days at the end of June 2013, in town on business. Check-in was very quick and our clerk was very helpful. This is a non-smoking hotel; however, our room at one time was a smoking room and you were hit with this smell as soon as you entered the room and there were cigarette burns in a couple places. This room had 3 small drawers for clothing and the closet - not near good enough for a couple travelling together. There was a small table in the corner that had a microwave, coffee maker and kettle on it...this was very nice to have BUT there was only 1 vacant plug for these 3 items. The room did have a desk with lamp and 2 queen beds....beds were very comfortable along with a small round table with 2 chairs. The majority of rooms have an extra counter area outside of the bathroom (ours did not and our attempt to get moved did not work out) hence, our reason for leaving the hotel as we are still in Calgary. Buffet breakfast was included with our reservation and the buffet was plentiful and fine with a couple of healthy options. The waitresses in the restaurant area are so friendly...nice to see smiling faces early in the morning! There is a lounge, Barringtons, which we we visited several times. We chose to eat dinner several times at Barringtons as the atmosphere was relaxing. The food was very good, very surprised to actually get real vegetables with the meal, prices were appropriate. Barringtons also has VLT machines but this did not make the lounge rowdy. Nearby (within walking distance) is Pacific Place Mall and Marlborough Mall. You are also a short walk to the CTrain. I would stay at this hotel again if it were only for a day or two and be prepared to live out of your suitcase.

Room Tip: Be sure your room has that extra counter space outside the bathroom, which would house the microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed meals in both Horizon's Bistro and Barrington's Lounge and that our staff were friendly and accommodating. I apologize for the smell of cigarette smoke you encountered in your room. We have recently become a 100% non-smoking property and have employed a professional cleaning company to assist in transitioning the rooms from smoking to non-smoking. Step 1 of a chemical deep cleaning process has been completed in all smoking rooms and step 2 of this process is to begin in the next few weeks. Additionally all of the rooms have been completely refreshed to include new mattresses, bedding and linens. I also apologize that the space in the guestroom was not suitable for your needs and that you were unable to continue your stay with us during your time in Calgary. If ever returning to Calgary I hope you choose to stay with the Coast Plaza again to give us the opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is my second time coming to the Coast Plaza Hotel in Calgary for a convention. The hotel is a bit worn and tired and needs a major facelift. I was placed in a room with two queens on the fifth floor and the AC didn't work (while it was 88 degrees outside). After requesting another room they gave me another room on the fifth floor that smelled of mildew and mold. I refused. FInally the front desk manager reluctantly moved me to an upper floor on the 10th floor, where it was one of the upgraded rooms. It was lovely. The AC worked, king bed, had a bathrobe that the others didn't, upgraded toiletries. I asked for an upgrade when I checked in and told that they didn't have them. But yet they did. So the moral of the story, ask to stay on a room on the 8-11 floors, otherwise the rooms are really marginal. The food is good at the hotel and the staff are very nice. They do have shuttle service to the airport and that saves the price of a rental car. The hotel also has a very nice breakfast buffet for $13.

Room Tip: choose a floor 8 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. We are in the process of redecorating our guestrooms and hope that you stay with us again to see the changes! I am glad that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the room moves but am happy to hear that our staff were able to find a suitable room for you in the end. This is not the level of service we are accustomed to and hope that we have the opportunity to make this up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Cant believe this is a very nice place the ladies that work here are very polite and helpuf the foid is tremendous i had to talk aboutthe cuisine they doing,dogs are allowed so i got to give it a big 5

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm happy you had a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.