We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calgary Zoo Package
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“In Need of TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October and other than the breakfast buffett this hotel could certainly use some restoration. The rooms seem "old", the bathroom is dated and shows it. There was no shampoo in the room and no bag for the ice bucket. I'm pretty sure this was a nice hotel in it's time, just hard to say how long ago that was. The TV had poor reception in the lower channels, the internet was down for a period of time one of the nights. This being said, the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am happy to see you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the beds, but I am disappointed we did not meet your expectations if other areas of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to all departments.

We hope that you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    63
    24
    24
See reviews for
45
35
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here in Sept and was dissapointed. They really need to upgrade the windows.Staff arent friendly either.This place looked old five years ago and looks even older now.The pool area is terrible. The water was very dirty so my wife and I decided not to go for a swim.For the money we spent, we could have got better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback during your recent stay at the Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. I have advised the appropriate departments regarding the cleanliness of pool and your experience with the Front Desk.

We hope that we will have an opportunity to make this up to you and hope that you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was here for meetings, and the room I was given, was nice. Very clean! There was nothing wrong with the decor, perhaps slightly dated. The breakfast buffet had enough selection, but again good. Service at the front desk was warm and helpful. There was nothing that stood out as over the top wow. It was a ...good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I'm happy you had an enjoyable stay and will forward your comments to our Front Desk and Restaurant. We appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a conference at the hotel. Front desk staff was not terribly friendly nor efficient. Just OK.
Room was fine. When I opened the windows, I realized I was staying over the vents to the restaurant, so my room quickly filled with the aroma of hamburgers. Not a bad smell, but not sure its a smell I want in my room.
Internet service was good. Location is not the best, but I was here for a conference and rather stuck there.
Again, just OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I have advised the front desk and the maintenance departments regarding the issues you had experienced during your stay.

We hope that you would consider staying with us again if travelling to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Coast Plaza before, a few times actually, and have never had a bad experience. Although I must agree the place was somewhat dated even back then. The last time we stayed was about three years ago. The first time we had a jaccuzzi suite, it was terrific then the next time it was just a regular room and rather dull...oh hum, old and worn, we were somewhat disappointed. Now after spending a nice vacation on the Oregon coast we are on our way home to Medicine Hat and will likely stay at the Coast Plaza for one night but only because we are familiar and it's on the way. I hope they have the bugs worked out of the air conditioning problem before we arrive :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your past stays. We would love to see you again when you are going through Calgary. We have corrected the air conditioning issue and have also updated our guestroom bathrooms. We have also renovated our restaurant and updated our lobby and lounge.

I hope you had a great vacation and have a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Although it is a bit further (25 min) further form the airport than I generally like, it was very comfortable. Good bed, decent internet speed, nice bar/lounge with good food. I found a nice price online that made it "affordable". The rack rate would also put this out of range, for a hotel that I was just sleeping at while waiting for a 6am departure.

The first shuttle is at 5am. This is not early enough for international departures.

They did not give me my requested wak-up call.

You have to call them from the phone at the curb in the designated pick up spot at the airport. While it may be on their website there is no sign about how this works at the airport.

Room Tip: Make reservations for shuttle pickup, it should speed up the process.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I'm happy to see you had an enjoyable stay. I apologize that you did not receive your wake-up call. I have forwarded your comments regarding the shuttle and the phone at the airport to the appropriate departments.

We look forward to the possibility of seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is an interesting characteristic of the TripAdvisor ranking system that if a property deviates from its usual quality standards for a significant period of time its ranking will be affected for months (or years?) to come - maybe long after the problem has been resolved. This Coast hotel is really paying the price for its prolonged A/C problem earlier this year with a ranking currently sitting at a lowly 63/97 amongst Calgary hotels.

There were no A/C problems in tower 2 when we stayed in mid-Aug. '12 and we had an excellent stay. Large, comfortable, well-appointed rooms with good sound-proofing.

As advertised, this is a conference centre, so it is big, and with size comes pros and cons. If you want small, homey, and intimate, don't expect to find it at any conference centre. If you want a lot of extra features, such as a full service restaurant, then you are at the right place.

We encountered attractive pricing for a Sunday night stay and would not hesitate to return under similar circumstances. The Coast may have to buy its way back (via great room prices) to a ranking more representative of its normal standards. I expect that they should consistently be in the top 10%.

Finally - a question for the folks at TripAdvisor: Have you considered also posting a rolling average of rankings for, say, the most recent 10 reviews for each property? It may be more meaningful for us to be dealing with the most current information (but history is also interesting).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKippen, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.

We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.