We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blackfoot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for a Buck!
Ranked #23 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Huge improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Well it is easy to find and also the staff was outside. A tip of the hat to the doorman who to me was the first impression manager and set the what I was expecting. The room was very nice and only was one thing and that was their tv system is not user friendly.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    82
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
48
51
11
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very large and pleasant enough room; modern and quiet. Loved the buffet breakfast - large selection and very tasty. All in all the rooms are a lot better than the exterior of the hotel would suggest at first (i.e. from the outside it looks like a nasty 2 star motel; once inside it's a very good 3-star). The real drawback was the location - you need a car to do anything; it's in a weird industrial-like area with not even a coffee shop or restaurant nearby. The only sort-of-accessible place (20-25 min walk along a not very nice main road) is the Chinook Mall. Service was good and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback, Alpha333. I definitely agree that we're in a bit of a "weird location", but here at Hotel Blackfoot we don't look at it as a drawback. It is true, indeed, that you need a car to get most places, but as a native Calgarian, that is true of the entire city - it has such a huge land area with a relatively small population. The benefit to our location is that we're at the intersection of 3 of the city's main thoroughfares and freeways, therefore making every quadrant of the city easily accessible, including downtown, that is, if you have a car.
Also, I would like to apologize for our front desk staff not directing you to the Tim Horton's coffee shop that is about a 3 minute walk from the front doors of the hotel. It is tucked in 58th Ave and I can see how it could be missed.
Aside from that, we're glad you enjoyed the hotel and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our weekly networking meeting is at Hotel Blackfoot. They put on a breakfast buffet in a meeting room and the food is always very good, along with solid service. I'm not sure of the pricing but I'm sure it is reasonable or we wouldn't be there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the review, Poucher68! We'll see you again in two shakes of a lamb's tail!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here as part of a conference. The hotel was very nice on first entry and we had good room with lots of space. The furniture isn't what they show on the website but it was fine. The location was industrial park but since the trade show was there it didn't matter. Food in the lounge was pretty bad. No taste and not hot. Unfortunately some of the conference attendees experienced a broken pipe and water in their rooms. We were luckier and the conference rooms worked well for our event. I wouldn't pick this place if I wasn't attending a trade show or conference there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Amaranth1. I believe that a lot of the issues you had with your stay are related to the construction and renovations that are happening in and around the hotel. It is definitely true that we have been advertising our newly renovated rooms on our website and elsewhere and they are available for a small additional fee. This would explain the difference in furniture that you experienced. However, in no time at all, all of the rooms will be renovated.
As for the burst pipe in your co-workers' rooms, again, that was an unfortunate accident on the part of the workers who are remodelling our hotel. Surely your colleagues were given new rooms and we apologize for any inconvenience.
In regards to your restaurant experience, there's no excuse for poor quality food. In the future, we would be more than happy to remake your dish, or allow you to choose something more to your liking.
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for one week during a business trip to Calgary. I enjoyed the large room, quiet location and good food in the restaurant. Everyone was friendly and efficient and it was just a nice and easy place to stay. Enjoyed a jazz group one evening in the lounge that was first rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I did not set my expectations high when I booked a hotel through Expedia on the condition I would learn the name of the hotel after I paid a dicounted price. I was only there 1 night and only made it to the lounge and my room. The room was very adequate and lacked nothing. The food and drink prices are a little higher than normal but consistent with other hotels so not really a surprise. Lots of free parking. Would do it again if staying SE Calgary

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were delighted with the accommodations which featured soft
beds and plenty of pillows plus a choice of hot beverage in our
room to wake up to each morning.

The friendly staff went beyond their job duties to draw maps for
each adventure and described points of interest in Calgary.
They explained the handmade wooden chairs décor on our fourth
floor hallway with enthusiasm.

We did experience the excellent cuisine from your restaurant
at a reasonable price.
Your servers were exceptional and my daughter-in-law would like
to hire your chef.

The well designed business centre was exactly what was needed
and the comedy club jokes are still being repeated to our many
friends to help brighten their day.

Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers classy and modern contemporary suites and executive floors with the most comfortable beds in town. With a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio, Hotel Blackfoot has everything you need to relax and live in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blackfoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.