We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk staff, good overall hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blackfoot to your Saves list
Hotel Blackfoot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada (Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast for a Buck!
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff, good overall hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

When I checked in, I was told I was put into a smoking room, since they were fully booked. I was then asked if this was Okay. For whatever reason, I said no, actually I would prefer non-smoking. The person at the front desk actually went the extra mile in my mind. She immediately got on the phone to talk to her manager. I could hear what he was saying, which essentially was "too bad, he booked with a third party, so he'll have to make do with the smoking room. Well the front desk person continued to push for something, and eventually I got my non-smoking room, with the explanation that someone else had actually requested a smoking room...and so it all worked out.

As a thank-you, I decided to have my dinner at the hotel, rather than spend my money elsewhere. Overall the food was good, the service in the restaurant was also good, and all was going well. The internet was free (WiFi) throughout the hotel, the bed was comfortable, linens were good quality, toiletries were good, and pillows were also good.

As stated elsewhere the hotel is a bit dated. The value and comfort for the money was pretty high, and I was left with a pretty positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    118
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
62
76
14
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Wow it's like a trip back to the 70s

The rooms, the colors, the elevators, the restaurant, the bar, the lounge ... Amazing

Its clean, it's perfect for business travel. That's it

Food at the restaurant is very average. At least the staff is very nice.

A sure value, with that 70s look

Maybe one day they will freshen up a bit. But don't worry, it's clean and wifi is free. Ugh that didn't existed back then... :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackfootInn, Executive Assistant at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Firstly, thank you for choosing the Blackfoot Inn during your recent visit to Calgary.

We also thank- you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It is through our guest comments we are able to closely monitor our facilities and services, allowing us to address any concerns and initiate improvements accordingly. We are dedicated to making the changes and we do have a new look and feel in place that will soon be revealed. . It is our intent to meet and exceed the hospitality expectations of our guests, which we at the Blackfoot Inn are generally renowned for. We regret your recent stay was less than satisfactory. We extend our sincere apologies.

Please stay tuned for our new and exciting changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

our family of six stayed here 3 nights in adjoining rooms. the front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. needed extra towels they were upstairs in 2 minutes. rooms were very clean and compfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is amazing! We had our wedding & reception here and have nothing but praise. The bride (me!) & MOH spent the night before and we - like the family members who also stayed a few nights - had the BEST sleeps on these amazing beds, and the rooms were quiet and cool (the way I like it!). And so clean. And let me mention the FOOD! Oh my gosh this place has the BEST CHEFS! If you are travelling through Calgary you've got to give this wonderful place a stay. So much more on the inside than it looks like on the outside. And if you LIVE in Calgary, this place has the best weekend Buffets. Absolutely delicious. AND if you are getting married.... you have to contact Scott in catering. These people will take great care of you! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We loved those beds! So comfy with really nice pillows and bedding. In spite of the accessible locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at this 'hotel' for 4 nights as part of a business trip. Hotel choice was based primarily on locale. I use the term Hotel lightly as this is more of a Motel with 7 floors. The rooms are tired & worn out. The sofa and chair upholstrey have faded, the carpet has old burn holes and is sticky to bare feet.The TV remote doesn't work unless you are 2 inches from the TV. The bathroom tiny and hard to move in. There are simply no amenities for the female traveller. No vanity mirror, no vanity stool, the hair dryer stops after 90 seconds and the lighting is circa 1977. There is no bell service or concierge here either. We couldn't even get a restaurant recommendation. I have never been to a hotel that wouldn't lend me an umbrella until now.The food on our first night was a disaster, reheated frozen what ever they were and we were out $$. I did however, appreciate the housekeeping staff, they did a fantastic job at keeping our room stocked and tidy. That's where it ended, the rest of the staff were pretty much indifferent. No one spoke to us the entire stay, let alone any sort of eye contact. At a rack rate of over $200 a night, I'd spend a bit more and stay downtown where the real Hotels are.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula D, Executive Assistant at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Firstly, thank you for choosing the Blackfoot Inn during your recent visit to Calgary.

We also thank- you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. It is through our guest comments we are able to closely monitor our facilities and services, allowing us to address any concerns and initiate improvements accordingly. It is our intent to meet and exceed the hospitality expectations of our guests, which we at the Blackfoot Inn are generally renowned for. We regret your recent stay was less than satisfactory. We extend our sincere apologies. Your comments will be thoroughly reviewed with Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Booked this hotel through Expedia "Unpublished Hotel" so wasn't sure where I was booking until after it was booked. We got a great deal! The hotel looks old and crusty on the outside but it is a lot nicer on the inside! Rooms were average size, some upgrades had been done to our room, some items still a bit dated, but nothing terrible. The room was clean, lots of towels and toiletries. Bed was comfy. Housekeeping was friendly and never seemed annoyed that we did not leave our room until after lunch time on most days. Never tried to disturb us. Good selection of room service and room service has extended hours. Yay!There are a lot of ammenities in this hotel, so if you are looking to hang around the hotel, this would be a good choice. Outdoor pool was lovely, and on the weekend they had poolside bar/food service which was a nice surprise. The onsite resteraunt was good, big selection of food. The comedy club is onsite, and we had no problem getting last minute tickets for the Saturday show. Hot tub and workout room are both a good size, always clean and stocked with towels. Did not get to try the sports bar our the lobby bar (which has an outside patio), but would imagine similar service/product to the other places. All in all we had a great time here and would stay again. The location is a little industrial, so wouldn't be a treat to go for a stroll around it or anything, but a quick drive to everything we needed, including the Chinook Center and downtown. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in the Blackfoot for 3 nights recently, to attend a wedding in Calgary. Our family booked 2 rooms which joined through an inside door. The hotel does not look like much from the outside, but the inside is completely fine. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful (even looking up our questions on their personal iphones when the internet was down!), and the rooms were basic but comfortable. While this hotel is not a 5* or a "romantic" place to stay - it certainly was enough and did the trick for us! It's also very close to the Chinook Center (a very nice mall!) for any shoppers out there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester , Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blackfoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.