We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Airport Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Airport Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1947 18th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Barely average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The beds were comfortable enough and there was wireless Internet. Other than that everything is a bit worn. Also the location is not the best. The staff were friendly and they have a decent treadmill. Breakfast was pretty good. Eggs and bacon and some other hot items that you don't always get with a continental breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
55
77
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel was perfect for us. Good location after a late arrival into Calgary airport and hire car collection next day. Efficient check-in by pleasant staff. The hotel had an elevator. Our large,ground floor room was good and window overlooked indoor pool which was very popular due to high temperatures, but no noise problems and pool closure time strictly observed. Our room had air-conditioning (necessary) mini-frig, comfy large bed, good TV on desk area, large settee and coffee table. Comfortable bathroom including vanity/sink inside and second sink and bench outside bathroom which would have worked well with a microwave, but there wasn't one. A Denny's restaurant was an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel and we ate dinner there. Our meal and staff were excellent. Our stay coincided with busy vacation period and hotel full of happy families. Breakfast room busy but staff extremely attentive to food levels and clearing tables immediately. Choice and supply of food excellent.

Room Tip: Families would probably prefer ground floor rooms near pool in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had pretty good service at this Best Western, and an upgraded clean room too, but the view was of the roof and air conditioning unit. It's alright for one night. Breakfast the next day was also very decent. But my husband and I thought it was pricey for an airport location. $143 CDN was too much for this basic hotel. I did think though that the hotel would be closer to the airport given the name.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

At the end of the vacation just needed a place to stay for the night and because of the Rodeo all places were very expensive. I was expecting a step up from Motel 6, but this was a good as the Hampton that I stayed in Calagary the week before. Huge modern rooms, really good full breakfest in a nice setting. Have stayed at other Best Western and this was by far the best. I just want to warn drivers do not exceed the speed limit for a traffic camera will get you for even a few miles and the fine is big.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

No undercover parking - there was a hail storm when we were there.
Not as close to the airport as you think - none of the "airport hotels" in Calgary are. 15- 20 minutes drive in good traffic.
Not much else around the hotels in the area if you don't have a car.
Good sized room, clean, friendly and with buffet breakfast in the morning. Hapy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for just one night as part of the Visit Calgary Zoo promo. The kids got penguin slippers, a cool Calgary Zoo Penguin Plunge water bottle, with a free drink and passes to the zoo for everyone was included. The rooms are fine. Average but clean with 2 queen beds and a flat screen TV. We used the pool which can be crowded with just a few people as it's not overly big. It is clean though and that matters most. There is a hot breakfast included which was great. The breakfast room staff were super friendly. Overall it was a good stay and less than 10 mins from the Zoo. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor. No waiting for elevators and close to the pool if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Fist time in Calgary in almost 20 years, I was a little startled to see this hotel is next to a fire station. The parking lot is sideways to the station and a little cramped, where is says 'small cars' anyone will park (including welding trucks); makes it hard to get in and out of your own vehicle.
The room seemed to be missing a table, there was room for one and an additional chair, they just weren't there so one of us had to sit on the office chair and use a night stand to put a drink on. The air conditioner was very noisy till we figured out how to turn it off at night and there wasn't a screen on the window - you could open it for fresh air but the bugs could come in. The elevator smelled of hot electrical wiring from the day we arrived and the third day it didn't work at all. It was apparantly fixed but still smelled bad. The staff were wonderful, the breakfast excellent and the hotel easy to find, even without GPS. Not far from 3 malls, including the big new one, Cross Iron Mills. Might go back, we were sightseeing a lot so only in the room in the evening and to sleep.

Room Tip: Excellent discount for Walmart associates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Airport Inn

Address: 1947 18th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 76 well-appointed rooms, five with Roman Hot Tubs, minutes away from the airport and conveniently located close to highway #1 (16th Avenue) and highway #2 (Deerfoot Trail), with easy access to the Calgary Zoo, Calgary Tower, Calgary Stampede grounds, Spark - Telus Science Center and downtown. Enjoy the indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, vending and ice machines, HSIA, plus many more amenities. Free Airport courtesy vehicle and Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.