We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Airport Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Airport Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1947 18th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Better than average Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight (if you can call it that) after a very late arriving flight and they sent a shuttle to pick us up and bring us back - very polite and helpful driver. The room was comfortable (your typical Best Western) and the stay included a lovely buffet breakfast which we took advantage of before taking the shuttle back to the airport to catch our Brewster bus to Jasper. Great value for the money and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    73
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
57
78
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has a tiny parking lot, a hot lobby and hallways, one slow elevator, and small, dated rooms. The A/C is our room was not working properly - it cooled it off just enough to sleep. The hotel is actually located quite far from the airport - about 15 minutes. They charged us an extra fee to pick us up at the airport after we dropped off our rental car. No extra fee to take us to our flight.
Complimentary breakfast was very basic.
Pool is quite small.
Not much value for your money.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the day after the global energy career expo 2012. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The staff was friendly and we were especially impressed with the manager (can't remember his name but he held a chemical engineer technologist degree). The breakfast was even better than what I usually see at a best western - very impressed! The manager gave us a manager discount because of a small screw up with our booking (very appreciated) which made the stay great value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's a bit dated and you can definitely feel it. They had a status room upgrade for us, which really made the stay pleasant. It's not really an "airport" hotel as indicated by the name, there are MANY closer, even another BW. That could be confusing if it was important, they do have a shuttle though. The staff was nice. The pool area was decent, but the hot tub was not hot at all (good thing we had one in the room). Lots of stuff within a short car ride. I would probably stay here again if I needed to, especially if I got the upgrade. Oh, the breakfast was mediocre at best, hit and miss daily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
265 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Don't judge a book by it's cover.. this hotel looks dingy and suspect from the outside, and the lobby and elevator don't do much to improve appearances. The rooms are actually decent, the Wi-Fi works well, the beds are comfortable, and the free breakfast is a bit better than what you'd expect from a BW. Water temperature fluctuates badly in the shower. 6/10

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

First of all, it is not near the airport. But that made it very convenient. It may be closer to downtown than the airport. It's the closest hotel to where Canada's Hwys 1 and 2 intersect so great for North-South or East-West journeys. Went to the stampede, returned to the hotel for a nap and swim, and returned to the stampede. (Only problem was the re-enter stamp fades when you swim.)
Nice hot breakfast was a bonus. Staff was friendly and very helpful when asked.
Many great eating places a short drive away on Hwy 1.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel and got the zoo package. 2 pairs of penguin slippers, two zoo cups, 2 adult zoo passes, 2 child/youth zoo passes, and 2 free fountain drink coupons for the zoo in your new cups.

Room was on the first floor. Found it to be quite noisy, and could hear the people in the next room in the washroom. The beds and room furniture were nice. Crawled into bed only scrape my leg on something inside the tightly tucked sheets... a toenail!

Bathtub was dull, and not shiny, so it was hard for me to imagine when it was last cleaned. The bathroom taps were shiny and clean, as was the sink.

Breakfast was pretty good - quite a good selection... just make sure you get there at least a half hour before it closes as they seemed to stop putting out food half hour or so before close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Airport Inn

Address: 1947 18th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 7T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 76 well-appointed rooms, five with Roman Hot Tubs, minutes away from the airport and conveniently located close to highway #1 (16th Avenue) and highway #2 (Deerfoot Trail), with easy access to the Calgary Zoo, Calgary Tower, Calgary Stampede grounds, Spark - Telus Science Center and downtown. Enjoy the indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, vending and ice machines, HSIA, plus many more amenities. Free Airport courtesy vehicle and Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.