We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Calgary South Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delta Calgary South Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Calgary South Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #41 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Lacombe, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on it's location and price. We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to stay a little up-scale but not break our pocket book.

Check in was very quick and the lady at the front desk was very pleasant. When we walked into our room, a king size Delta room on the 8th floor of the tower, I was very happy with the size, the look and the freshness.

We found the bed very comfortable and enjoyed having so much room to move around and not feel like we were tripping over each other or the furniture.

One thing that's important to us is the cleanliness of the bathroom and this one was spotless! The bathroom was large and had a great shower.

A couple minor things though - the picture on the website of this room was not what our room looked like. I've read other comments about some rooms being outdated and while we didn't feel that way, it certainly is not as nice looking as what the website shows. The website site also says this room comes with a tub but ours only had a shower and a soak in a tub would have been nice. Also, we could find no way to shut the fan off in the heating/cooling system and I found that rather noisy at night.

BUT, I would stay here again and maybe even pay a few extra dollars to move over to the Atrium building and try a modedeluxe room.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room in the Atrium building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip advisor Cindy E. We appreciated the chance to have you with for your special celebration. We are going to review our website descriptions to ensure they are accurate, please accept our apologies for that. Thank you again for sharing, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
75
31
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I live in Calgary, yet I visit this restaurant regularly for dinner, Sunday brunches, and (as was the case tonight) a four course Thanksgiving Dinner, managed by a very talented Holly. She made my family and I feel welcome and has a delightful personality. The chef, Dana Rogers, planned the menu very carefully. I enjoy the Apple Jack, a before dinner drink made with three kinds of apples! On top of the glass was a wee apple chip. What a fresh start to a Fall meal. The carrot and grilled zucchini ribbon salad was light and crisp and the roasted turkey roulade was moist and plentiful. It was lovely to have a light dessert, rather than a heavy one - a pumpkin pie brulee. The highlight, however, was Holly (the manager). She made my elderly parents and I feel like we were the only family there. She is to be commended. We are looking forward to returning to the Atrium Café in two weeks for Sunday brunch. Thanks, again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your review, we're proud of Holly and Chef Dana's efforts and the impact they had on your family's Thanksgiving Celebration. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back for Sunday Brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here 1 night last week for a business trip. Downtown Calgary was mostly sold out. What was left was tired old places that didn't look very nice.

Delta was very comfortable and great value. The service was good and while the hotel itself has aspects that seem dated, the room I was in was updated and modern, very spacious and good internet speed.

In the morning the staff was serving coffee in the lobby which was a nice touch!

It's about a $25 ride downtown but about $60 from the airport.

I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review princessS, we're glad to hear the room and especially the Internet access met your needs. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the Complimentary Starbucks Coffee in our Lobby. We hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to South Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

One night spent at the hotel in preparation for a meeting in the immediate area.
Pretty good overall and nothing significantly negative that I might now remember - that's a good sign. Staff at the restaurant in the Atrium section were particularly accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review, we're glad to hear we met you expectations and that our location was a good fit for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very dated, mattresses seem to be 100 years old, and the controller for the A/C does not seem to respond to the settings (I could not turn the a/c off!, the fan kept going throughout the night). Internet connection was really bad, I could barely send and receive a few emails, not to mention not being able to do Skype or Facetime.

Bathroom was very clean and the gentleman at the front desk very courteous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review, please accept our apolgies for the Internet and Bed not meeting your needs. We have shared your feedback with our IT and Housekeeping departments in an effort to pin point and remedy both issues. (We will do our best to identify which room you occupied) Thank you again for sharing your review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Selected the Delta Calgary South due to proximity of work (visiting corporate office from another city).

I was greeted warmly both at the front entrance and by the front desk clerk. Check-in was quick; directions to room in the Atrium building were accurate. After walking into the room I get now why so many of our company employees stay here on business - not only for the proximity to our corporate office but for the room amenities.

The room was spacious and well appointed from the clean, bright bathroom (light over the bathtub; light over the open shelving housing shampoo, etc.) to the chair/ottoman with great reading light and chair side table. The iHome clock with iPod docking station and option for soothing night-time sounds to help get you to sleep was a nice treat. I appreciated the smart desk - lots of room to spread out files. Lots of room to hang clothes and the full-length mirror helped to ensure I looked my best before leaving for work.

I requested a bowl and spoon from the front desk so I could enjoy a bowl of cereal in the morning and this was delivered promptly by a lovely man to asked if I needed anything else; he asked if I was enjoying my stay; and he made sure to let "us" know if there was anything else the staff could do to help me enjoy my stay.

Bed and linens and pillows - so fabulous and comfortable!

The location can't be beat - so close to many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we're glad to hear you enjoyed our location and our team members were able to make a difference during your stay. We hope to welcome yourself and your colleagues back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

worst hotel experience ever. first time i stayed here a couple weeks ago, the elevator broke and i was stuck until a 3rd party company could make it there and get me out. when the doors opened, there wasn't even a hotel representative there to be hospitable in the least bit. even the guy getting the doors open was on the roof of the elevator. I had an event going on in one of their ballrooms that i was headed down to with the A/V equipment for the presentation so the other staff couldn't even do anything without me there.

unfortunately we had already booked another event for this same hotel and on our arrival tonight, the front desk guy was a very rude which is a whole other story. oh, and the rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaCalgarySouth135, Director of Sales at Delta Calgary South Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor Chris C. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of hotel staff representation and follow up when you were let out of the elevator as well as the experience on check-in during your subsequent stay. What you experienced is unacceptable and we would more than welcome the chance to discuss what we are able to do to make things right for you, and also your colleagues that may have had to wait for your arrival and set up prior to your event. Please contact me directly at gerickson@deltacalgarysouth.com. In addition, we have shared your feedback with our team in an effort to minimze the probability of a guest having a similar experience to yourself. Thank you again for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Calgary South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Calgary South Hotel

Address: 135 Southland Dr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 5X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Calgary South Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Calgary's largest hotel, located in the Macleod Trail entertainment and business district steps away from some of Calgary's best shopping and dining experiences. Explore the best Calgary has to offer including the Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park Historical Village only a short drive from the hotel. Make a Splash on our 160' Big gusher Waterslide, take a swim in our Atrium pool, get energized in our Fitness Facility then enjoy an array of dining and beverage options in our Atrium Cafe & Skylight Lounge, Boomtown Pub & Patio or Bonaventure Lounge and Gaming Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Delta Calgary South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Calgary South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.