We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending a wedding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“Attending a wedding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Found the services and the accommodations to be excellent and the location worked well for us. The front desk worked hard to put ourselves and our friends adjacent to one another. The next time we are going to stay in this hotel we will be prepared to have a room by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    143
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
177
68
20
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dalmeny, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked using the last minute deals and got a very good price for the 3 nights we used it. The rooms were a very nice size, with a comfortable bed. The kiddie area in the pool made it so nice to allow our 2 year old to play without needing to be holding on to her. On our first night the hotel was packed with kids, yet it remained very quiet. We also loved the location as it took no more then 15 minutes to get to the zoo, mall and any other destination we were headed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Easter Sunday and our first ever stay at this hotel. The wedding was scheduled for 1pm and our room was available hours before normal check in time. Thank you so much reception staff!
Our room was equipped with a very comfortable king size bed and a fold out couch/bed. After the wedding and reception our grand children came to use the attached water park. What a treat! Plenty of clean towels, and everything worked as it should. This water park is very clean and well maintained.
From what we could see, the whole hotel is in great order. The staff were pleasant and especially the buffet staff when dealing with the grandchildren. Food was really well prepared and presented.

Summary...reasonable cost, staff that really want your stay to be pleasant. Clean, modern rooms. Good bed and very quiet in the rooms and hallways. Not a single complaint and we will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Flying into Calgary for a conference, this hotel was easy to find late at night. They have spacious rooms, very clean and well appointed, and courteous staff. I loved the pools! In enjoyed swimming in the cool pool, and relaxing in the hot one. There's a waterslide as well, for families. There are alternative routes to ensure a quick commute to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is an upscale hotel from most Best Western Plus hotels we have stayed at. The service is impeccale. The food is great and the overall stay is exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. However, we believe the price is a bit steep for the average person. I think if they were to keep their prices between 130.00 to 150.00 per night they would be booked solid every night. It was quite quiet the evening we checked in. That should tell you something?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

its a very nice hotel the rooms are spacious and cleaned, the tub is very nice and spacious although it would be nice if the shower curtain was bowed your up against the curtain all the time while showering the room temperature was very good all night. the restaurant was very nice the morning buffet was very tasty. the bar is probably good if you could get service. I waited for 15 minutes no service I thought maybe you had to go get your own food and drinks. I started to leave then I got some service to late. she said go to the lounge so I did it was empty I waited no one came. I decide to check the expresso bar no one there. kids every where its great if you have a family. finally I decide I would just go set in the lounge and wait I didn't care if I got service. I finally did get service the waitress was nice. she advised me to have wings they are very good. don't expect to escape kids their in the lounge too. The bar is the best bet for that. it is very nice. I found all the staff right down to the maintenance people to be very friendly. you do get hallway noise, but that's to be expected with all the kids.

Room Tip: the room we had was very nice . I would take a higher floor. If your not into children all over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My family and I stayed here for two nights during Spring Break. The water park is fantastic for kids. There are two slides (one is very dark inside) that were fun. My only complaint would be that the landings on the stairs are a bit slippery. My very cautious child slipped and fell at a walking pace. Adults might not be aware that there is another much quieter pool and hot tub one floor down.

The rooms were what I've come to expect from a Best Western property. They were clean, quiet and comfortable. The Wifi seemed strong. I was a little disappointed that there was no included breakfast for the price. The workout room had a nice selection of cardio equipment, some of which has seen better days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location halfways between Calgary Downtown and the YYC . Close to the CrossIron Mills, Sunridge Mall, easy access via Deerfoot Trail and TransCanada Highway. A Corporate Hotel on Weekdays and Leisure on Weekends, 8000 Sq. Ft Waterpark . Full Service Best Western Plus with upper tier service and offerings. Complimentary shuttle service for registered guests to and from YYC (Airport) as well as underground heated parking available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.