We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Room was very large and clean! No noise thus excellent sleep.Staff were very friendly and informative. Great location just off the Trans Canada. Near restaurants and Sunridge Mall for Purdy's chocolates! Lots of parking..Easy access to the zoo.Quiet area so we went walking in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    120
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
134
56
19
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

On our return trip on the 17th of feb.we experiencend the worst shuttle SEVICE ever.
In freezing cold it took almost an hour to ferry six other passengers and us to the hotel.
When I confronted the clerk, in charge of the shuttle service, he handed me a cock and bull story about how construction and the like were reason for this delay.
This was sunday near midnight and no one was working anywhere near the shuttle route.
O top of that ,he the clerk, displayed an unseemling attitude.
Unhappy camper William Coblenz

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKYoung1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank You Mr. Coblenz for sharing your point of view regarding our hotel shuttle service and our team member's handling of such . Firstly , please allow me to apologize to you and your friends for the unfortunate occurrence, as it is always our guidance to our team members to do the "right thing " as an advocate on behalf of our valued guests. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to review and provide guidance to our team member in order for him to learn and grow.
We provide the complimentary shuttle service to the airport to and from the hotel, while we do encourage incoming guests to coordinate and communicate all specifics in order to meet every guests' needs, we did not meet yours. I will be contacting you to review your experience personally . We do review this process on a continuous basis in order to benefit all as well as ensuring the efficiency of this service is met .
We do appreciate your feedback and kind support in order for us to improve and grow.

C.Young , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Flying out on holiday?? Stay here! Great service good food, excellent staff and very reliable shuttle to airport. We left our car in the heated garage at the hotel for a month at very reasonable cost. Just give them your itinerary and they will make sure you are at the airport on time then pick you up on return.. The staff are outstanding in all areas. Large clean quiet rooms. I noticed families there for a weekend of fun for the kids on waterslides. They also host BD parties for children in a special room. This hotel is always our choice when in Calgary for any reason.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here last week and had a great stay! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very clean and comfortable. The new restaurant is beautiful - disappointed that I wasn't able to try it out - it opened after I left. I ate in the lounge the first night and had breakfast and lunch the next day - the meals were great - everything was fresh and tasty! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have become a fan of Best Western Plus properties. This location is up to par. The front desk people are freindly and easy to talk with. As a fequent guest, they upgrade me to a king suite. And this is a really nice room. Large, spacious room. Big flat screen. Excellant bed!
Restaurant has a terrific breakfast buffet, not inexpensive, but great choices.
For the money, it is a worthy place to stay.

Room Tip: Become a Best Western member (free) and they will go out of their way to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great stay a few weeks ago at the Port o Call. We booked it solely because we'd heard the water park was excellent and it lived up to its reputation. There are two bigger water slides that our 6 and 8 year olds could go down by themselves (but the water was too deep if they didn't know how to swim or have water wings). The only knock is the water was COLD! The part they liked the best was the little rock waterslide that led to the kiddie pool - the water in that pool was the temp of a warm bathtub!

Other favorite part of this hotel is the underground FREE heated parking! No free breakfast but Denny's is about a 10 minute drive or close to Tim's, McDonald's etc - not a big deal.

Overall very nice stay - pretty nice gym in the basement with a second pool and 3rd hot tub (there's two in the main pool).

Recommend this place for sure but be ready - the pool is a little chilly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKYoung1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear robngaby,

Thank You for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We get many positive feedback from families regarding the Waterpark feature . I will be going over the water temperature with our Maintenance team in order to fine tune the appropriate temp in the large pool, in general we follow the guidance of the City of Calgary Facilities and up the temperature several degrees based the depth and bather load. As you had pointed out , we are located half ways from Downtown and the YYC with easy access to many of the amenities that suit individual traveler specific needs.
We look forward in being your choice hotel on your future travels!

Kind Regards

C.Young General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel

Address: 1935 McKnight Boulevard NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#6 Family Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O'Call Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.